We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay in Edinburgh”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Town apartment

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Sitting Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Gary S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved our stay at this lovely apartment. Very nicely equipped and you won't find a better location in Old Town Edinburgh, extremely convenient tor attractions and restaurants. Mary, the owner, is the best. We'd definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and the apartment. I would love to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikikim12...
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

If you are looking to stay right on the Royal Mile and near the castle, this is an excellent option. Of all 3 properties we rented on our Great Britain tour, we slept the best in this one. The beds are VERY comfortable. The master bed is large (American "Queen" size), and the room stays nice and dark and very quiet. The room with the 2 twin beds was perfect for my teen boys. They had plenty of space and found the room to be dark and very quiet as well. The living room is really large with 2 nice big leather sofas, plenty of lamps, modern TV, dining table and windows. The kitchen and baths are very small, but that's ok, they are completely modern and in excellent working order. My only wish was that that the washing machine also had a drying function. We ended up handing our laundry all around the heaters and one hanging rack. Note: you have to ascend 2 flights of stairs, and one is curvy and a bit tricky with luggage (no elevator option). But then again, you have to climb up and down steps to get around the Royal Mile and Old Town Ediburgh anyhow.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
I am glad that you found the apartment comfortable and enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh. I am sorry that we do not have a tumble dryer, I do appreciate that this would make guests stay easier when washing / drying clothes. The apartment simply does not have the space for one.I will add an extra clothes horse for drying clothes.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, the only way we can improve is if guests let us know what is important to them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebraS102...
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
“Perfect location & accomodation!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent 4 nites at this wonderful apartment located next to Edinburgh Castle and in walking distance to lots to see & do. Many restaurants are close-by and the apartment is clean, well-equipped & comfortable. There were 4 adults in our group and we had plenty of room & privacy. I highly recommend this very lovely apartment. If I ever return to Edinburgh, I will try to stay here again! Debra

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I would love to welcome you back sometime.Very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
“Wonderful location, great apartment”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely apartment, spacious, spotless and modern. Location beside Castle and Royal Mile was great. Near lots of other attractions also, Greyfriars, National Museum, Camera Obscure and the Edinburgh Whiskey Tours nearby. Lots of restaurants also in area. Mary left milk, juice and other supplies for our arrival which was really appreciated. We did not leave Edinburgh until the afternoon on the day we left and Mary kindly let us leave our bags at the apartment for a while. Would love to visit Edinburgh again and would definitely like to return here to stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Glad that you enjoyed the apartment and the location. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrid123...
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This apartment is nicely located to visit the important areas in Edinburgh. The owner is absolutely lovely and very helpful.
The linens are wonderful as are the towels.
Coffee, tea and cookies as well as milk and juice to get us started!
We would definitely recommend a stay!

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and that you found the apartment comfortable .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diverdoon
van bc
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Location Location”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We a family of 6 stayed at this lovely apt. it fit the bill of exploring The Royal mile. It was steps from the Castle and meters from a great little pub The Castle Arms with good food ,drinks and service. We were met upon arrival by Mary and all questions were answered and tips given. Thx Mary see you again

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad that you all enjoyed the location of the apartment and your time in Edinburgh.
I would love to welcome you back sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyM187
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This apartment is in a great location, close to the castle, and lots of restaurants. The apartment itself is spacious, bright, and tastefully decorated, and has a fully equipped kitchen.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their time in the apartment and found it comfortable. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing