We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 1/1 Forrest Hill

Comfortable and cosy entire flat available to rent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable and cosy entire flat available to rent
elevated ground floor flat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Comfortable and cosy entire flat available to rent
elevated ground floor flat
Bedroom with comfortable king size bed (all linens supplied)
Spacious living room with stripped wood floors and double sofa bed
Spacious living room with double sofa bed, dining table for four
Spacious living room with double sofa bed, dining table for four
Spacious living room with double sofa bed, dining table for four
Entrance hall
Fully fitted, modern kitchen
Fully fitted, modern kitchen
Direct access from the bedroom to a private, shared courtyard at the rear of the property
Recently refurbished bathroom with constant hot water. Towels supplied.
Bedroom with king size bed
Walk in electric shower.
8 external, wide steps up into the building. The flat is on the ground floor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Pep D
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great apartment great location ”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

First thing first a big thank you to Val who from the moment we booked was superb and a great advert for customers service ,my wife and I couldn't of wished for anyone better . The apartment had everything you could of wished for, home from home . The location was just what we wanted ,in the old town easy walking distance to all the attractions
In the evening we went to Grassmarket just 2 min walk where you are spoilt for choice of pubs and restaurants and most of all the ambience
We Will definitely be staying again the apartment is great for couples and families .. Loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue N
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great apartment with everything you could need plus a bus stop right outside. Val was really welcoming and accommodating including arranging for our luggage on an early arrival and late departure. Thoroughly recommend for an enjoyable stay in Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No view from rooms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley H
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Central location”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apartment is in an ideal location to explore both the centre and surrounding area of Edinburgh. It had everything we could need - and more besides - and we loved the comfortable bed overlooking the stone courtyard outside.
Edinburgh itself is a delightful city to visit with cheap, regular public transport links to the Forth Bridge and Airport as well as all the suburbs. We walked along various riverside and canal paths from the city centre to the rural outskirts and used the bus to get back.
We can thoroughly recommend both 1/1 Forrest Hill and Edinburgh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality furnishings
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawafam...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful time staying at Valerie's flat in Edinburgh! Clean, and well stocked with an easy walk to get groceries, to a great park, and to all of Edinburgh's main attractions. Husband and I stayed with our 7 year old and was enough space for all of us with the pull out bed. Valerie's communication was great before and during our stay. We had a wee issue with the front windows (they had just been painted and couldn't be opened), but Valerie responded and tried to have the issue resolved. We left having had a great stay in Edinburgh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gail W
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Ideally situated and perfectly comfortable.”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just enjoyed 3 nights at Forrest hill.and found it cosy and comfortable,and so quiet.it had everything we could possibly need.My grown-up daughter slept very well on the sofa bed ,the bedding as luxurious as in the bedroom.hot water plentiful.
We were lucky to have beautiful weather but even without it the location was ideal for all the sights,we really enjoyed the atmosphere of Grassmarket in the evenings.
Had a fantastic meal at The Outsider a few mins walk from the flat-seemed to be frequented by locals and was buzzing.
We were blown away by how beautiful Edinburgh is,the buildings,wide streets and green spaces,modern eateries mixed in with the traditions you‘d expect.service was Good and friendly everywhere.a 21 yr old and a 51 yr old both loved it.want to come back very soon.and would stay at 1/1 everytime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Liked least: Rather loud extractor fan in bathroom.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
East Haven Essex County, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely faultless!”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From day 1 the service we received from Val was beyond anything we ever expected. After booking she sent us details about the location of the apartment and how to get there which was extremely useful.

We arrived in Edinburgh before the check in time but Val met us at the apartment so that we could store our luggage allowing us to explore the city freely.

The apartment was a perfect size, it was well maintained and had all the basics you would need. It is perfectly located for all the tourist sites in old town and not too far from more modern conveniences either.

We can not rave enough about how amazing this apartment is and will definitely stay again when we visit Edinburgh again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie_an...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Edinburgh Base”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We wanted a convenient base for exploring the attractions and taking part in the Edinburgh Marathon. Also important to us was the ability to conveniently self cater (near to shops) for pre-marathon carb loading and get to from Airport without much hassle.

This property delivered on all fronts and can be recommended for anyone with similar plans.

Recommend the real ale (post marathon) in the Grey Friars Bobby pub round the corner and Edinburgh castle, visited on the previous day.

Rod

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing of significance
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing