We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brae Guest House

Brae Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brae Guest House
Ranked #211 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was a nice little neat B&B at a very good location in Edinburg! The owner Sandra was very helpful and made our stay very pleasant. The breakfast was also good. You could take a nice walk to the city through the park! Overall it was great value for money!! If we come back again, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheehan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Brae Guest House for two nights. Sandra is a great host and the guest house was clean and comfy. The breakfast is great, with plenty of choice. The location is about a twenty minute walk from the centre or there is a bus that runs regularly and the walk is lovely - right next to the park!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived very early at the beginning of our 3 night stay and Sandra already had our room ready for us. The double room with ensuite was very comfortable with a great supply of tea coffee etc little packets of cookies were replenished each day and a different type to boot!
Breakfast will set you up for the day, juice, choice of cereal, toast and a huge plate of beautifully cooked bacon eggs etc. each day something slightly different. Sadly I could not do justice to all that was on offer!
Sandra is a very homely person and despite obviously leading a very busy life she finds the time to chat and can offer loads of info on Edinburgh itself.
As mentioned previously the fact that there is a bus stop across the road from the Brae is another plus for this highly recommended guest house.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birthdayoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

No requst was a problem, from the minute we arrived made to feel very welcome. food,room,bed & shower top class. will book again without doubt.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at the Brae for one night at the end of January. The room felt slightly dated but was spotlessly clean, as was the en-suite bathroom, which had a good, powerful shower. Sandra, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. The breakfast was nice, but being from south of the border a bit of haggis with the would have made it more of a 'full Scottish'!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of England\ France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Sabdra is the kindest and most thoughtful person to stay with. We spent the christmas period at The Brea Guest House with her and were wonderfully well cherished in every way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrimdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed for one night during November in a double room with en-suite. Very comfortable and very clean and felt like a home away from home. In a great location, about a 20minute walk to the city or a short bus ride. The breakfast provided was delicious and there is plenty of it and a good choice. We will definitely use this guesthouse again and will recommend it to any friends wanting to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzypigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drumorne Guest House
#198 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Aynetree Guest House
#149 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brae Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Guest House

Property: Brae Guest House
Address: 119 Willowbrae Road, Edinburgh EH8 7HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brae Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing