We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't book again for Hogmany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't book again for Hogmany”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel from 31/12-02/01. The hotel was a bit out of the way and as it was over the Festive period we were charged £30 for a taxi to & from the city centre.
No complaints with the hotel just a bit out of the way.
Book if looking for a hotel out of the city centre & free parking. It is within walking distance to a regular rail route to the centre, just not over festive period.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    910
    290
    91
    54
See reviews for
640
667
90
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I had 2 overnight stays in this hotel on business trips to this hotel in February 2011. If you are flying into Edinburgh and working west of the City without time for sightseeing, then this place is ideal.

The first time I arrived my taxi arrived just behind a bus which disgorged a dozen people - I thought I might have a long wait to check-in, but the staff were very quick and efficient.

The hotel is clean and modern, and everything during my stays was done efficiently and professionally.

I used the train from the nearby Edinburgh Park station - the footpath to the station isn't finished yet so I had to walk in the road for a few yards.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsHIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel following your stay with us. I am glad you found the hotel and the location suitable for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Perfect location, Drove over and very easy to find. Secure carpark, 2 minutes walk from station which is 5 minutes to Haymarket. We went into the centre for dinner and drinks at night as was nice to go back to a peaceful hotel after the Choas of the Rugby. Shower is AMAZING! Clear Spacious rooms! Bed could be a little bit softer but still slept well. Breakfast was also good, plenty choice and always hot!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback which is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Great hotel with all the things you would come to expect from a Novotel for the traveller.

Particularly liked the pool

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyFattish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Comfortable room, tasty breakfast and a nice swimming pool (though it was unfortunately out of order for 2 days of our stay).

As a family with 2 children, a room with a double bed & a bunk bed would have made the stay more enjoyable.

With a car, the location was good, but if I was relying on the bus, I would choose somewhere closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

We booked here in preference to a motel in a big budget chain, as we only paid about £20 more and we figured it would be worth it to have a swimming pool and a full-service hotel. The location of the hotel is a bit odd - inbetween a railway, a bypass and a rather drab retail park. There is nowhere to walk if you want to eat other than in the hotel. The restaurant was expensive - £10 minimum for a basic dish but food was clearly freshly made and the service was very good. We didn't take breakfast as it was £13.50 per head for continental. The rooms were as expected and nice to have a queen bed plus a sofa bed for our children. All in all, can't really fault this hotel as staff were helpful and polite but just didn't feel that it was anything out of the ordinary and we would probably go for the budget motel next time to save the £20 (and have the convenience of a cheap pub attached for supper and a fast food chain for breakfast the next morning!), but if you wanted an airport hotel or a cheap hotel near Edinburgh and close to the train station, I would recommend it. Equally, we might stay here again if we got a cheap deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegarretys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing