We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, needs a few improvements though” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #78 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle/Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good hotel, needs a few improvements though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Stayed with wife and friends on a Friday. The area around the hotel is like a rubbish dump with empty bottles and litter everywhere..needs sorting it's an eyesore. Check-in was ok and the room clean except for some fluff and a few hairs on the bathroom floor. The bed was comfortable and the duvet fine. Next to the railway line, but the double glazing kept most of the noise out. Breakfast was good and plentiful but we weren't greeted when we entered and then went overlooked so we got no tea or coffee. The restaurant floor was filthy. The pool and leisure area looked inviting but we didn't have enough time to enjoy it. 7/10.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    895
    284
    87
    52
See reviews for
622
657
89
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed for the last weekend of the Easter holidays with our daughter (9) and son (6) and had absolutely no problems with the hotel - staff were all very friendly and helpful, food was plentiful and delicious (by far the best buffet breakfast out of all the large chain hotels). The hotel was clean and spacious as was our room, which although it didn't have a bath, it had a luxury shower with digital controls.
The pool was lovely although a large group of Euro teenagers were staying at the hotel and it eventually got a little boisterous and loud for our kids - so we returned to our room and got them a pay per view movie.
We were initially a little worried about the location at first, but the price was very good and it's just a 5 minute walk to the small but modern rail station, where a return ticket into Waverley bought from a machine costs just £5 (2Ad+2Ch) with a family railcard. Then within 12 minutes you're very close to the centre of town.
Very quiet while we stayed, although there appeared to be a road development going on close to th hotel, although it looks almost finished.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadey247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

Very happy with the hotel. Executive suite was superb. The breakfast was excellent. Very speedy service. Room service snacks was nice. Room nice and clean. Bed slightly below average. Upgrade very good value and worth doing. Warmly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hejall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is a good hotel with facilities - swimming pool, small gym, room service etc. but is out on a business park. There are 4 trains an hour into the city and the station is a short walk away but the hotel did feel a little away from it all.

I used this hotel as it was close to the office and had a very good spring break deal but probably wouldn't go back because of teh location which is a shame as the hotel itself was very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

The ONLY bad thing 1st, this place was a nightmare to find. the hotel is in a new area, and postcodes havent been assigned yet, so the postcode of the hotel takes you nowhere near it with a satnav, the alternative postcode given by the hotel also takes you nowhere near it. we rang twice to the hotel reception and were "guided in" via telling them where we were.
Once we got there the staff were friendly apologised straight away for us not being able to find it (!) and said everyone complains about it!
Room was clean and modern, bathroom was clean and nice, bed was clean and comfy.
Pool and steam room were lovely, changing rooms well laid out with loads of towels ready. Gym was small but ok. Ate dinner in the restaurant it was ok but the menu was limited. Breakfast was everything youd expect from decent quality buffet, left very full for the day.
The hotel is about 200 meters from Edinburgh park rail station, which has trains every 15 mins or so to Edinburgh Waverly, about 10 mins travel time or so. so we left the car in the hotel and got the train into the city. £2.50 return.

We paid £79 for B&B for one night. felt like good value from this mid-budget clean modern hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northpawblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

What a mistaka to maka, thought we wre booking the Novotel in town, where I had stayed before but no. However not such a mistake as fantastic value, lovely brand new hotel, very quiet and apart from a train strike (not hotel's fault) easily accessible)
Brand new hotel, right at end of tram line ideal when tram complete.
Hardly any other guests so very attentive staff.
THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED IN THE WORLD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Only toook five mins on train, cost about £20 in taxi. When trains on strike!
Nice breakfast, have I said, fab bed ......

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stay in Edinburgh fairly regularly for business and always seem to end up a dreary Hilton or Marriott. I hate those places because they're so dated, and if it weren't for business travellers on a relative budget, there's no way they'd exist, because you definitely wouldn't stay for pleasure. Anyway, the Novotel was such a breathe of fresh air. Lovely, friendly staff the moment you step in, nice big rooms with modern furniture, great big comfy king size bed, cleverly-designed bathroom pods with digital showers. The location was great for me because it was close to work, and the price was very reasonable. I will definitely choose that hotel again whenever I visit Edinburgh for work, and I'll also be considering Novotel in future should I need a reasonably-priced hotel for a city break elsewhere in the world.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeClay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing