We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
“Great value and location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I chose Novotel during a last-minute trip to Edinburgh, where most of the hotels in the city center were booked. We were concerned about the distance away from the main area of town, but it turned out to be no problem at all. The train station is a 2-3 min walk from the hotel and trains run directly to Edinburgh center every 20 min. or so. The hotel was by far the most stylish and luxurious that we stayed in during our 2-week trip, yet fit into our modest price range (around $130 USD/night). The staff was accommodating and we enjoyed a great breakfast buffet for about 12 euros apiece.
The only trouble we had at all was that our cab driver had difficulty finding the hotel when we arrived (apparently there was recent road construction/changes). I'd recommend taking the train to avoid this, as it's a cheaper and quicker alternative to taxi or car.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    910
    290
    91
    54
See reviews for
640
668
91
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

As our first expereinec of the Hogmanay we were apprehensive that this hotel was too far out from the city centre. The train station is right next door!!! 10 minutes, 2 stops straight into the city centre and so quiet you could hear a pin drop...perfect! Our hotel ratings are as follows:
Highs - Our room was spotlessly clean, plenty of towels, tea, coffee and toiletries. Most of the hotel staff were helpful and friendly and there was a nice small swimming pool for the kids. Good location without paying city centre premium prices!
Lows: Incorrect items biled to my account several times! Breakfast area was messy, food on floor, dirty cups and hair in food and very over priced!. Tourist information from Reception staff was not accurate and this area was definatly under staffed.

Overall we would recommend this hotel as excellent value for money, good location and first class cleanliness....dont book a hotel taxi back to the airport (they rip you off!) check out the prices of mini cabs first!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzytHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Same good quality as average Novotel in the UK; good value for money. Gym is terrible though; machines seem not to have been serviced in years (e.g. treadmill displaying announcements of repair this and that); only one treadmill in the gym and no free weights at all

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington,uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Arrived quite earlt (midday) unable to check in,but we did want 2 rooms,although onlt 10 cars in carpark,anyway,parked the car in their free carpark,walked the 2 minutes to the rail station and caught a train into edinburgh centre,(2 stns)aprox 12 mins,by the way they say trains every 15mins,but when you check the timetable two come within 6 mins of each other,miss them & your could wait nearly 30mins,try and get to stn about 20mins to the hour! (£2.50 return.)
We had a nice, if expensive pm in edinburgh.Returned at 6pm for a siesta,nice quite room,very large comfy bed,best shower in a uk hotel ever! nice size lcd tv.DONT USE THE MINIBAR UNLESS YOUR A LOTTERY WINNER!!
Room service was good,food v.good,although £3 just to have your dinner delivered a bit steep.
Never used pool/gym,but looked nice and quiet.
All in all a nice hotel easy accessible from the A702 ring road.
We went with Superbreaks,very cheap and breakfast thrown in,breakfast good lots of choice.
For a laugh I phoned the hotel direct to get a price,they quoted £99 NO breakfast,I paid£88.some sites slightly cheaper but NOT reliable,Superbreaks conformation arrived the next morning ofter booking,which I used as proof upon arrival,very well done Superbreaks.
If you dont mind a little commuting use this hotel its twice as any in the citycentre,you car park free and get more facilities,UNLESS you want to pay 3 times the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonjonWashington_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the hotel was immaculate and quiet, we were the only ones using the gym, food was good the couple of evenings we stayed in. Would definitely return, and yes it is worth putting up with a view of B&Q rather than the castle for less than half the price of a 3 star in the centre!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlwindwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

After having spent the best part of the day travelling back to Scotland from Barcelona to spend a night in Edinburgh with a friend we got off to a bad start since we couldn't find the hotel from the directions given. Lochside Ave is split in two by a railway line and we ended up in a dead end on a foggy evening when all we wanted to do was get checked in and make our way into Edinburgh city center for a pleasant night out. No such luck! On checking in we discovered that instead of a twin bedded room as booked we had been allocated a double bedded room which athough very clean and tidy was not of any use to us since we did not wish to share a bed. On raising the matter with reception they were not particulary helpful and said that it was not part of the Novotel brand to offer twin bedded rooms even although that was what was sold to us and indicated on the hotel confirmation........ very strange, would seem to me that working in the tourism industry they are missing out a large niche market ie girlie weekends.
We finally agreed to use the bed settee but we were not happy since had we been aware that there were no twin bedded rooms available we would have booked a hotel else where.
The service at breakfast was very slow and there was a number of people having to wait for th buffet to replenished. Some of the buffet had been lying around for a while which was not very appetising.
Upside was although the location was not the most attractive it was very convenient for taking the train into the city center and it was reasonably priced. I would rate it at the top end of 3 star rather than 4 star. Would I use the hotel again? Possibly but not for a girls weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connect2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
758 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 796 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

This is a stylish, modern hotel (opened 2008) on the outskirts of Edinburgh just off the by-pass, close to Edinburgh airport, South Gyle shopping centre, Edinburgh Business Park and Ingleston (Highland Show ground). It is surprisingly up for sale as at November 09.

There is a Scotrail train link within walking distance (Edinburgh Park) which takes you to the centre of Edinburgh in 15 minutes or so and the much-discussed Edinburgh tram is also under construction nearby although no work was actually taking place during our stay. The hotel is likely to be convenient for many reasons however it is not set in a picturesque location! If you dream of looking out over Edinburgh Castle from your bedroom window this is not the place for you. You can however access the city centre attractions quickly and benefit from a reasonably priced modern hotel.

There is a car park on site and this can be especially handy if your jetting off on holiday for a week because the parking is barrier-secured and free.

Reception is spacious and at the time of our visit many of the staff were young and foreign - all very courteous and helpful.

We asked for a room at the rear of the building and our sleep was not disturbed by noise so the place must be well sound-proofed. Our well-sized room was on one of the upper levels and looked out onto the tram construction area and the railway running past the hotel. Some of the rooms at the front will face the busy road by-pass. We also looked out on a lot of vacant ground in this area which is probably to accommodate expanding offices (when business picks up) and I understand a Premier Inn is also proposed.

We had a comfortable bed, a sofa, an expanding desk with computer links and a good flat screen TV with satellite channels. All the furnishings and decor were modern. The ensuite bathroom also had plenty of space with a large modern stylish washbasin and a walk-in, glass-screened shower. The shower was state-of-the-art with a remote control to operate - unfortunately in our case the battery for this control was flat and we couldn’t get any water! Thankfully a quick call to reception had that sorted out in a few minutes.

At breakfast we ordered porridge which although slow to arrive was delicious and we then helped ourselves to a reasonable selection of hot food from the buffet. There were also plenty of more healthy options. It was quite expensive but decent quality.

We tried out some of the hotel’s leisure facilities which included a steam room, sauna and swimming pool. These were all good but although the pool was large enough for a swim it was a bit cool for our liking. We didn’t try the gym but it looked well-equipped and compact.

All in all I’d recommend the hotel for everything with the exception of the view.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing