We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel at a good price”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent one night at this hotel whilst in Edinburgh shopping and going out for dinner. Good parking facilities and close to all major roads in and out of Edinburgh. Room was a good size for two adults and clean and tidy. Close to railway line but not didn't bother us at all. Train station a 5 minute walk at a slow speed. 8 minutes on train to Waverly Station and not having to pay Edinburgh city parking fees which are a rip off was a pleasure!
Breakfast - what can I say - brilliant. Everything from fruit juice, cereal, porridge and waffles. Also full self service cooked breakfast as well and all nice quality. Hotel staff friendly and attentive.
Oh and did I say - go out the front door and there is a Krispy Creme Doughnuts + coffee across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the front away from railway line - its not noisy but it can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazer182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay especially the breakfast which has over 50 items available to suit all our guests needs. We do hope you will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    950
    311
    100
    56
See reviews for
674
711
98
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend went away for the weekend 21-23rd February to go to the dungeons. Hotel was clean, tidy and alot better than i expected. Bed was very comfy only down side was the cover was way too warm and we had to kick it off. Hotel swimming pool and gym also decent for a wee work out. Check in was smooth and easy, internet access and approximately 5 minutes by train to the centre of edinburgh with trains running till past midnight.

The only down point was the cleaner came into our room at 8.45am on the Saturday and woke us up :( i guess its our fault forgetting to put the do not disturb sign on the door. She left promptly but that was us awake and couldn't sleep again.

Used the tesco to get some drink for the bedroom, popped it into the fridge to chill and also had breakfast at tesco which was cheap and cheerful.

Overall a great weekend, comfortable and clean room. If i return id use hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krfc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do apologise for our over eager Housekeeping member who woke you up on the Saturday morning, I will pass your comment to the Housekeeping Manager. We do hope you will return in the very near future to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A good hotel that is perfectly suitable for a short business stay (not sure I would stay for pleasure). Reception staff were helpful, even provided me with a toothbrush as I forgot mine, and breakfast was good (Porridge to order). Rooms as fairly basic but nothing to complain about. Hotel is a tad difficult to find at night but I think I have it sussed now that I have been lost twice. I used the Gym, pretty basic but serves a purpose, and the Pool which I had to myself at 7am!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inverclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Followed post code provided in booking confirmation. Like previous Tripadvisor comments this takes you to a restricted area. Phoned hotel who advised to use a completely different post code.

Some 25 minutes of driving round a very complex area - finally arrived at hotel.

Checked in and immediately asked to speak to duty manager - Rob Oijk. What I can only describe as an argument ensued. I was extremely stressed after our problem - and anticipated the management would take a conciliatory tone. How wrong I was! Rob and his colleague confirmed that numerous previous customers had experienced the same problem - 'but what could they do!' I showed them the detail and directions on Google for the hotel. They agreed they are wrong.
I explained I have a further booking in place for a business trip to Novotel Edinburgh - but will cancel on the basis of this dreadful experience.
With little opportunity of finding alternative accommodation at this time of the day - we very reluctantly decided to stay.
The room itself is very tired - of the standard of a much used Travelodge. Not at all in keeping of my previous experience of other Novotel hotels.
I then read the hotel mission statement: 'wherever you are staying in the world, your Novotel team is here to ensure your stay is a happy one!' I assume Edinburgh Park are exempt from this promise.
I dialled 888 as advised where they would 'resolve your issue as quickly as possible with the minimum fuss.' Unfortunately I was directed again to Rob. This time he adopted a less confrontational stance and offered my sister and I free breakfast for our 2 day stay. We accepted that but will check out first thing tomorrow and find acceptable accommodation with professional and friendly staff.
The difference between this hotel and the small independent family hotel we stayed in last night (Warkworth House Hotel) could not be more stark.
I just hope we get a decent night's sleep!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. All issues you highlighted have now been resolved satisfactory between yourself and the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from a lovely 4 night stay in th Edinburgh Park Novotel.
This is a typical Novotel, well run, fairly modern and quiet, and it has a large free car park. It as, others have stated, close to the train station and is only 2 stops from Edinburgh Waverley. From the time the train leaves the station to getting into your hotel room is about 16 minutes, including the lift to the 4th floor where we stayed in room 455. The tip is that if you are staying for 2 or more days and intend to travel into Edinburgh during the day and then come back for a swim or to get changed for the evening, then travelling back into Edinburgh for a night out, it works out better to get a weekly ticket as it costs £16.30 and can be used as many times a day as you like during peak and off peak times. A peak return is £3.90 and an off peak is £3.00 so you can work it out yourself. You need to buy the tickets from Waverly Station ticket office and you will need a photo, print your own and save more money.
Anyway, back to the hotel, the room, a superior in this case, was plenty large enough and had a comfy queen size bed with fridge and tea and coffee facilities. Free wifi is available in the room, you just need to sign up. The pool was nice and warm and the steam room was surprisingly big and plenty steamy !
One last thing, save yourself some more money by eating breakfast in the Tesco which is a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Room 455 is quiet, as I would imagine are all the rooms on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Novotel Edinburgh Park. Your review is very informative which I hope helps our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant hotel, only 8 mins and 1 train stop from the city, staff very warm and friendly, breakfast was amazing, especially the haggis!! Only negative comment would be that dinner in the evening was very slow, our 8pm reservation was delayed with our main course being served at 10pm!! When it did arrive it was good!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannicakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We are so glad you enjoyed our breakfast especially the Haggis but we do apologise for the slow service in the Restaurant and I will pass on your comments to the relevant Manager for their immediate attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boldon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

On first appearances this quite new hotel looks very nice. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming.

The rooms were fine, but the decor in the bathrooms was a little poor. Tiles were broken, towel rail was wobbly, shower door leaked.

Also, we were a little disappointed with the changing facilities for the pool. We were hoping to take our 5 month old son swimming, but there were no baby changing facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review about Novotel Edinburgh Park. We do actually have 2 baby changing facilities in the hotel. One is allocated in the Accessible toilet/changing room in our leisure facilities and the other in the Reception area's Accessible toilet. Both have baby changing tables and nappy bins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,558 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,193 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing