We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely unacceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #82 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Completely unacceptable”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is unequipped to deal with the unexpectedly high temperatures in Scotland recently. The room cooling system is set at a minimum of 19' but is unable to achieve anywhere near this, so rooms are sitting in the mid to high 20's making a good night's sleep impossible.

Because of its proximity to the main Edinburgh - Glasgow train line, opening your window is not a viable solution.

There are a limited number of fans available and no additional effort to make your stay even remotely bearable, say by providing water jugs in the room. The staff are equipped only with a few stock lines to attempt to palm you off e.g. "the cooling system is very slow" "some people actually prefer the room warmer."

I question whether this hotel should even be allowed to open during these conditions, it would not in my opinion be tolerated in the workplace. We left an hour earlier than planned for the airport to try and get some rest before our flight. No one in the group had slept and all of us were left severely dehydrated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comment about your recent stay here at Novotel Edinburgh Park. We are investigating reason why our Air Cooling system has failed in the room you stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    923
    295
    92
    56
See reviews for
647
680
93
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with friends to attend a wedding. The bedrooms were very well appointed with very comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom. However one of the rooms we were allocated - 145 - was extremely hot and stuffy. The window appeared to be stuck. We asked reception to have the window opened only to be told that it didn't open. We were offered a fan which did not have any effect. We were unable to sleep due to the extreme heat. The other room - 146 was fine as the window opened.

We had not booked breakfast but decided to have it as there was nowhere nearby to eat breakfast, Two of our party did not want the full breakfast but there were no prices on the menu and it appeared that the full breakfast was the only option. However a member of staff advised that they could have toast and scrambled eggs only and the price would be adjusted. The full breakfast was very disappointing. It was £14.95 well overcharged and the toast and scrambled eggs were £9.00 - outrageous!

Disappointing stay - would think twice about staying in a Novotel in the future which is a pity as it could have been so much better but for the feeling of being overcharged and the poor sleep quality.

Room Tip: avoid room 145
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are glad you found your room comfortable albeit on the warm side but the weather has been very warm of late but we will get the window looked at incase of a fault. Our 'all you can eat breakfast' does come as a package at £13.95 and if booked in advance with the bedroom the cost is reduced. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

So hotel location and cleanliness were v.good and convenient for us as we took the train to Edinburgh city centre.

However, we had three rooms booked for the weekend (one of which at a significantly higher rate of £160/night), Novotel do late check-outs on Sundays for free (as per their websites), so I asked when I checked in on Friday whether we could have late checkouts for two of the three rooms, the receptionist said she could guarantee one and would confirm the second one on Saturday/Sunday morning. When I asked about this on Sunday morning the receptionist (another one) said that they wouldn't do the other room and that If i really wanted to get it I could pay £10/hour!!!!

I called the manager and complained about this and about the fact that the air conditioning system wasn’t working the nights before and how the room service never replenished the mini bar after the first night, and with all that he just spent time explaining to me why they he couldn't give me a late checkout on my second room!!! I wasn't happy at all, and to be honest if he was a good manager he wouldn't have hesitated a second before offering me what I asked for.

What annoyed me the most, that their excuse was that the hotel was busy, yet I could get what wanted if I only paid for it!!! even though their website says they offer late checkouts on Sundays for free for families!!!....

Anyways, even though I mentioned calmly to the manager that I won't be staying in Accor hotels anymore because of his decision, he didn’t seem to care, he in fact wanted to find out which receptionist checked me in instead (I think to warn him not to offer anything to guests or something), it is absolutely bazaar.

For information, as soon as I got back, I cancelled a 3 night hotel stay with an Accor hotel in Windsor London (Windsor Castle Hotel) and will certainly avoid this chain in the future (just simply because of this guy, what a poor management).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ar200482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay. As the hotel was very busy this is the reason that late checkouts are chargable. These are within the booking terms and conditions of 'Family rooms' ie rooms with children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel surprised me: it was cheap yet pleasant and modern. Food was also very good except availability at breakfast was below average as too many people turned up at once. Overall this hotel was good with reasonable transport links to most places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charisma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend.....great friendly staff, nice rooms , really good bathroom, hi-tech shower is the best I have tried in any Hotel .
Food very good, breakfast was always very nice , good selection too, my 9 year daughter enjoyed the swimming pool, and was glad to try the Krispy Kream Doughtnut Shop across the road :)
Very handy Railway Station a short walk from the Hotel, into Edinburgh in the blink of an eye ;)
The Television does not have full Freeview or Freesat [yet] as Wee Jenny Penny found out while channel hopping....
I would be very happy to stay again, and my daughter wants to come back too !!!!!
Well Done :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthebuses1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We do hope you will return and of course bring your daughter back to visit us again very soon. Thank you from Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nothing much to say here, the hotel provided a bed and breakfast with no issues. However, the hotel was exceptionally warm with no way to make it any cooler. Both colleagues said they had the same experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kwatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Novotel Edinburgh Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing