We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and convenient location if you are driving up to Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights a couple of weekends ago, when we drove up to Edinburgh for the Scotland v Wales game. We chose the hotel because it has a big, free car park and is just outside the city itself, so no hassle with driving through the centre.
The location might seem a little off-putting for some, as it is on a retail park close to a Tesco, Decathlon, Mothercare, KFC and Krispy Creme donut shop (which was busy 24/7 - we have never seem anything like it!) but it is also a 2 minute walk to Edinburgh Park train station, which has trains into Waverley station (also stopping at Haymarket) every 10 minutes during the day, at a cost of next-to-nothing. The train only takes about 15 minutes too.
The first thing we noticed when we walked into reception was a distinct smell of chlorine, which we later discovered must have wafted up from the pool and gum area in the basement. Our double room was on the 4th floor, overlooking KFC and the Krispy Kreme donut drive throughs, so not the best of views but it was modern, spotlessly clean and very spacious. The bathroom too - whilst there was no bath - has a great shower and is nice and spacious.
As we got there quite late on the Thursday evening we thought we would eat at the hotel, until we had a look at the limited menu (and the prices!!). So instead, we went for a stroll round the area and found a Premier Inn with a restaurant just on the other side of the station where we ate well and had a couple of drinks for half of the price we would have paid at the Novotel.
Breakfast in this hotel is great - they have almost everything you could want and also do great porridge on request. On none of the 3 mornings we were there, when the hotel was very busy, did we have have to wait for a table or queue for long for the hot buffet.
All in all, we thought this hotel was great as it suited our needs perfectly and if we were to drive up to Edinburgh again we would happily stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your very detailed review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated by the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,570 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Booked this hotel as it was within easy reach of Napier University. Upon arrival, the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The twin room was spacious and clean. We ate in the restaurant that night, not a very good selection of meals and when ours did arrive, I have to say was not very good, pasta half cooked and the pizza was not very good, side of chips (around 8 of them) £3 so I would advise eat elsewhere or bring in your own food. The swimming pool was closed for maintenance, something that was not mentioned on the website or by reception staff upon check in, shame as we had some spare time and were looking forward to relax in the spa/pool etc
Overall, a great location for Princes Street, rail station a few minutes walk away and the journey itself not even 10 mins. There is a KFC straight over the road, not my cup of tea, and also a Krispy Kreme, so many donuts to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 161Skye65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel following your stay with us recently. I have passed your comments on the food to the F&B team, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your food quality.
We did have to close the pool for 24hours recently following an incident in the pool. We take the health and wellbeing of our guests seriously, and in particularly the quality of the pool water itself. On this occasion we had no choice but to close the facility to allow the pool water quality to stabilise. I do apologise for this inconvenience.
I do hope you will consider using Novotel Edinburgh Park in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although we had a good stay overall, we felt that any savings made in cost were lost by some of the negative points below.

Positives:

- big clean rooms with friendly staff

Negatives:

- 10 min by train to the city and a 3 minute walk from the station. When you aren't staying in the city, you have to be mindful of the last train times / frequency etc, otherwise you end up spending on cabs which is what we did. Each night, this added up quite quickly.
- breakfast wasn't included and was expensive
- wifi wasn't included either
- a lot of garbage and construction around the area, which makes it unappealing

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad that you generally found the hotel to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Edinburgh Park in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel, staff, room and location......and the value for money are second to none. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff are willing to assist and the train station is 3 minutes walk and takes 10 minutes to get into the heart of Edinburgh and at £3.00 return per person.......makes it the ideal situation for any traveller. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanDMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel following your stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the access to the city centre easy and cheap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Top hotel in Edinburgh for value and comfort. Added bond is the swimming pool

Good food but breakfast is poor as everything thing is cooked first thing and not replenished with fresh food which is a shame. I stopped ordering breakfast and just stay room only. Join their loyalty programme and get some great deals. This time I stayed on got a free £20 voucher to spend in the hotel which was a nice touch. Already booked to stay here again at the end of month. Krispy Kreme donut placed just opened opposite and there is a Tescc superstore within a three minute walk

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MikeShenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay with us recently. I have noted your comments regarding breakfast food quality. The hot food on the breakfast buffet is topped up regularly in order to keep the buffet fresh for all guests, I would like to apologise if you thought this was not the case during your stay.
I do hope you will consider using Novotel Edinburgh Park in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times:
- A couple of times overnight before early morning flights. Perfect location less than 10 minutes from the airport
- On a family trip to Edinburgh. No parking hassles as they have a large free car-park (a problem at most central Edinburgh hotels) and frequent trains into town (station is a 2 minute walk from hotel; 10 minute ride into town - just check the timetables especially on Sunday!)

It has always hit the mark with it's location and value for money.
- Modern, comfortable and clean rooms
- Onsite bar and restaurant are reasonable priced and quality
- Never used the pool but it's great to have access to this - maybe next time I'll find the time
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Nearby supermarket if you need to get anything
- Easy access from motorway

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us, your comments are much appreciated by the whole team. looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Breakfast service very poor on first day - waited 15 minutes for coffee and breakfast buffet not replenished very frequently. Much improved on the second morning. Apart from that the hotel was good and very convenient for trains into Edinburgh city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HJM-Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. I have noted your comments about the first day breakfast service and would like to apologise for the slow service, I am glad that your second morining was much improved.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,669 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $66 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing