We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic mistakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Booked 3 nights and prepared to pay a little more (£250) for use of a pool/gym and nicer surroundings. Room was fine but the pool/gym was totally closed the first night. Also was annoyed to be told about extra charges for wifi access when my booking confirmation said I had a "superior room with internet access, broadband connection" Worse was that reception did not recognise that most hotels offer free wifi now and said there was nothing they could do due to new owners.
Had one meal in the restaurant and they managed to serve a rubbery omelette and undercooked chips for £9.
I will avoid Novotel if they are all like this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thanks for your review of the hotel. The gym/pool area was closed on the night in question due to a flood in the basement. At Novotel we do not offer free WiFi at present.
Hope you will consider returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,737 - 1,743 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

My Dad and I stayed here last April 3-5 to tour Scotland. I think we had a double room or something. It's located outside the city center. The hotel is convenient since it's near the train station (some 5 minute walk), near Tesco, Poundland, etc. which were right across the train station. There was a wide variety of food to choose from for breakfast. The rooms and bathrooms were nice and huge! There was a flat LCD TV that was movable so that you can have a good view of the TV wherever you are in the room. The bed, which my Dad occupied, was big and comfortable but I chose to sleep in the sofa since it was equally comfortable. There's a safety box, minibar, iron and lots of hangers! The shower was easy to use and you can even set the temperature of the water!

The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that to get a free wifi, you have to go down the ground floor to use the big Mac computer and access the net.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had booked elsewhere for a wedding package, but were unable to add a day on to it, so stayed here for the first night and then moved to the other hotel.
We used up Vouchers from our A-Club points to pay for the stay. When I got to the Reception Desk, I found out that my wife had already decided to take advantage of an offer and upgrade to an Executive room on the 5th floor for £25 (Bigger room, free wifi - 2 machines you need a password for each m/c - and a Real Coffee machine with pods, and other items)
Could not fault service from reception.
We didn't use the swimmimng pool but it was certainly in use by guests.
It was a mistake moving to the next hotel. It would have been better staying here, for, roughly, the same price.
We had a minor problem - it was quickly resolved

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eLaReF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thanks for your kind review, hope you will be able to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Arrived slightly early here at this hotel one friday afternoon. 10 minutes train journey from Edinburgh Waverley. Easy to find from Edinburgh park station just across the road. Thevfreibliet most helpful staff. Every staff member said hello ,whether it be in the lift corridor where ever. Room was spacious clean boutique modern. Lovely leisure centre with gym pool and jacuzzi. The breakfast was hot plentiful and tasty. I stayed here for a flight from Edinburgh the next day.

Although none of the staff were English there language and manners were top class. I felt valued and welcome. I would reccomend a stay here , even for a chill out time, great views from my room of the hills and Scottish country side. Near by is telco currys pound land a mountaineering shop, and other large retail outlets. My only disappointment was no airport bus link from here, Edinburgh taxi cost 12 pounds for the very short distance to the airport.


I would stay here again out of the city but close on the train easy reach by frequent train services. Thank you Edinburgh park thank you Novotel x

Room Tip: Get a high room at the back for great views of the hills .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed for two nights while on a course nearby. Nice room with a low price. Good size with all the usual amenities. Had issues with wifi on my laptop but reception were quick to provide wired access and technical support. Shower not as clean as I would have hoped but te manager had this rectified while I was out and followed up the next morning. Service in general was excellent with polite welcoming staff who added that extra touch. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agd2992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to rectify the small issues you had. look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights with our two children. Right next to the train station which is a real bonus if you want to get in to Edinburgh. The rooms are big enough for all four of us and we slept well. The Tain passes right by the hotel but we didn't hear it. Lovely buffet breakfast and everyone was helpful and friendly. Price was great as well as we used Tesco vouchers!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighwol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thanks for your hotel review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Edinburgh Park is a barren industrial and commercial estate to the west of Edinburgh. It is very accessible by car from the bypass and by frequent trains from Waverley and Haymarket - in the distant future, the tram from the airport will stop nearby as well. If you don't mind being nowhere near the Old or New Town, the hotel is a good choice - the standard Novotel offering of spacious rooms, comfortable beds, a bath (if you can work out how the plug works) and a fitness centre. The place is clearly designed for the business traveller, and gives an air of impersonal efficiency - though the staff are very friendly and not at all impersonal. Breakfast is not good value for money - it is cheaper at the Premier Inn on the other side of the railway, but the evening meals are reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally anonymous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thanks for your hotel review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,575 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,617 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $84 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing