We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #69 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have visited the Novotel chain before. Pretty generic however, extremely good value. I found it quite easy to find. Check in was fast and efficient. Room was lovely! One of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in!!! Nice bath/ shower. Excellent choice at breakfast, cooked English breakfast, plenty of veggie options, cereals, toast, jams, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee etc. it's a buffet style so can help yourself to as much or as little as you like. We ordered room service one evening, which was reasonably priced. Arrived promptly and was all home made fresh and hot! Delicious! Portions were massive too! We used the swimming pool and steam room. Nice to relax. Towels are supplied and require a pound to use a locker, which is returned. Can get the lift straight back upto room aswel. The first noght we got a taxi into the centre costing £15. The cab driver was lovely and very helpful ad it was our first visit to scotland. He recommended we went to george street as it is more exclusive, we went for a lovely tapas meal at cafe andaluce which was excellent! Then onto le mode at shanghai for champagne cocktails! Was a lovely romantic evening. When in Edinburgh we got the train from Edinburgh park which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Took about 10mins on the train and it takes you central, we hopped onto a tour bus for £12 each however we could get on/off As many times as we liked. Visited the scotch tower, castle, childhood museum, obscure illusions place (can't remember what it's called exactly but it's right by the castle) Edinburgh has soooo much to do! Needs several days to visit properly. I would recommend this hotel as it is just on the outskirts of the city centre, but the price reflects this.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni_denham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNovotelEP, Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive reveiw of the hotel, and your trip to Edinburgh.. Glad you enjoyed it, look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,885 - 1,891 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

Lovely warm pool with towels provided. Gym looked good but didn't go in. Great breakfast. Good rate for family room booked and paid for in advance. No hassle to go out to this hotel from centre of Edinburgh on the train, and more for your money when you get there than staying in town as long as you are not looking for character.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 590helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Leicester, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed February 23, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Not really sure if I ought to be sharing this find! Easy to get to, free parking, great winter or weekend rates, easy 10 minute train journey to Edinburgh (we paid £2.90 off peak return), lovely leisure facilities, immaculate, helpful staff....you just can't go wrong. Will be going back again soon...don't book my space!

(Didn't eat in the hotel, so unable to comment on food.)

Room Tip: Near a railway line and station, but must be well sound-insulated as we never heard any trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday-Mum-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here one night before catching plane to Paris. chose it due to proximity of airport.
GPS couldnt find the street number but found the street but no hotel-after driving around we finally asked another hotel for directions-Very difficult and had to negoiate freeway(could see hotel but missed exit and had to drive 8 km before next exit come back and do a u turn) eventually found it after about 1 hour-I am surprised they have any customers its so hard to find.
Staff at reception were aware of situation and verty apologetic and helpfull.
hotel itself is a boring newish "off the shelf" type of place but fine for a night to get organised for next leg of our trip-No distractions-in a big commercial park.

Room Tip: You are opposite freeway so at back could be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnShepparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

When travelling on business I usually stay at the better places in town. As my business was in a business park rather than the centre of Edinburgh I was forced to trade down to a Novotel and was glad I did. The rooms and amenities are a solid 4* standard but the staff and service are excellent. And all for fiftty something pounds a night. I can recommend this hotel, but be warned there's nothing in the immediate area so if you like to walk out of your hotel to a restaurant or bar think again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,783 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,642 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#111 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $89 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing