We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a nice hotel. stay far far away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Ranked #82 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sunman, IN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not a nice hotel. stay far far away”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

after reading others reviews and staying at other Novotel properties I was very surprised at this hotel. The hotel it self looks very nice and tidy, however the staff have a all around "Who the @#^#$ are you?" attitude. a simple request for wash cloths and they gave me a look as if I was the dumbest person on earth and why would I ask for such a thing... it makes you wonder what kind of training these CSR's have had. 2nd issue is the TV.. it WILL NOT stay on a channel for more than 5 mintutes before reverting back to the hotel menu options, that is if it stays turned on at all... My recommendation is to stay as far away from this Novotel as humanly possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neospektra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    934
    303
    96
    56
See reviews for
655
694
94
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights when I had business meetings in Edinburgh park, so the hotel was very conveniently located. Room was clean, tidy and Internet was available (but not free). Breakfast included the usual, however with not many guests, it looked like the hot food had been there for hours, and wasn't at all appetising. Reception arranged a 'breakfast bag' as I was leaving before the restaurant opened on the second day.

Room service was quick.

The pool and the steam room were great, and I had them both to myself.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allatseaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this relatively new Novotel.
It's very formulaic, like all the other newer Novotels, but does exactly what it says on the tin!

Service at reception, in the bar and breakfast is very prompt and courteous. With regards to location, it's in a very good spot for accessibility to the motorway network, and parking is free and safe. At the moment it's a good alterntative to staying in the city centre, especially due the disruption caused by the Edinburgh tram construction debacle. It's only three minutes walk to Edinburgh Park railway station and a return into Edinburgh is only about £3.00 and takes about 10 mins. Trains run every 15-20 minutes or so.

I never eat at Novotels for dinner, because I find them a bit of a sterile experience, but the breakfast buffet is probably one of the best in it's class - good variety and well prepared.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Hotel is just out of the city centre. Hotel is opposite Edinburgh Park train station , So only 2 short stops to Edinburgh Waverley, So I would always stay here instead of paying silly city centre rates.

Hotel has a Swimming Pool on the Ground Floor.

The rooms are very Spacious and are Modern.

I always chose this hotel over other hotels nearby due to better service at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatchback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Nice hotel, a bit out of the way. Will be better when transport links are complete

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Overall not a bad hotel. Check in was very easy and the receptionist was very informative. The staff were very friendly and attentive with the rooms being well equiped. There were, sadly, a few let downs.
It was in a bit of an awkward location which had very little near by but to be fair, it was next to a train line which made it easier to get to the centre of Edinburgh. We couldn't watch the television as apparently we need to part with £14.99 to use it. There were quite a few scuff marks along the walls which made the room look a little bit shoddy.
But to top everything off, we didn't have chance to stay in the room as the hotel was shut when I returned from the city centre. Apparently all the gas and water supplies were shut off so we had to be relocated to the other Novotel in the centre of Edinburgh. We were provided with a complimentary taxi which was very good of them. It's just a shame the other hotel was terrible and it would have been nice to have been compensated for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeyMike89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,514 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Park

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Park
Address: 15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 9DJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Park 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Edinburgh Park is ideally located for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel is a two-minute walk to Edinburgh Park tram and train station providing easy access to the Airport and Edinburgh city centre. The 170 rooms are spacious and have a contemporary design with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Our in-house Restaurant is the perfect spot for a bite to eat after a busy day sightseeing, serving quality food and drink in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Park Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Park
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing