We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Court Apartments - Harris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - Harris
Ranked #67 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you are visiting Edinburgh this is a great place to stay. The apartments are very comfortable, with all you need to be comfortable, and the location is superb. You are only 5 minutes walk from the Edinburgh Castle, and 5' more for shopping.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uruguayos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
26
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the F C Harris appartments for a week during the Edinburgh Fringe. Check in and parking is just 80m up Grove St and we left our car for the duration in a secure parking area at £8 per day, good value for parking during the festival. Check in was efficient even on a busy Saturday. We rented a 1 bed appartment, small bedroom, small kitchen/living room and super bathroom. Flat was modern, well decorated, clean and reasonably well equipped, although for example storage space for cases is negligible, as are wall hooks for coats - or any thing else! Flat usually had a basic daily service. Position is ok for walking to Edinburghs attractions and Fringe venues - 15 mins Princess St, 25 mins High St strolling. Good local shops including Sainsburys local. Recommended and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yamdrachir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellyw1450
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My partner and I were looking for a few nights away not too far from home. We arrived on the Friday, checked in, parked our car and had a short walk to the apartment. To be honest on first impressions I was quite disappointed as the flat was really small. It was more or less well equipped but we were only giving one hand towel and one bath towel. These apartments are meant to be 4 star so i would imagine they would get it right with towels etc. We did phone reception where my partner was told to meet someone downstair and they would show him where to get them, their was a trolley on the upper floor where you could help yourself. The lounge has the smallest 2 seater couch ever and the dining area was a bistro style table with 2 seats, not quite what i was expecting going on the pics offered on the website. Also no toiletries in bathroom just hand wash in the kitchen. I cant really complain as it was clean, fairly comfortable but i think there is better places to stay. Parking is charged at £8 per day which i think is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyw1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

These serviced apartments let you book by the night like a hotel. Ours was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable with TV in each room; the apartment format was also very flexible for catering. It was located near Haymarket station and an easy walk from the city centre. Overall good value and we'd stay again on a future visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aileen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I had decided to go away for a short break just before Christmas, so the conditions were pretty Arctic, that said, the Harris apartment was still only a short bus journey to get to from the main train station, and I doubt a taxi would of cost much, in fact once we got our luggage out the way we would walk into town to save our pennies for some scotch and haggis! Upon arrival we went to the reception to be checked in and were greeted by friendly staff, who then indicated the apartment was available for an early check in, this was only a couple of hours before but especially welcomed coming in from the heavy snow! The apartment was well equipped, and cleaned daily which I hadn't at all expected in a apartment so that was really going the extra mile in my opinion. This brings me nicely to my review score, I gave this apartment a 5 star review, but this is based on it being a 4 star establishment, which means it exceeded my expectations and not that you should expect a 5 star apartment for such an affordable price or that a bagpiper will be playing you a song on your arrival, what it is though, is - clean, decent, modern and ticks all the boxes in price, location, and service. You cant always check in early, so don't expect it, we're all human, and don't take a 9 hour coach journey from London at 11pm at night and expect to be checked in at 8am the next day like some poor fellow did in a earlier review. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

2nd stay at Harris - standard of accomodation is great, you will find most things needed for a short stay, easy to walk to Royal Mile and other attractions. If you're taking your car; parking is very secure but not located at Harris however its only a few minutes walk away. I've also stayed at the EQ2 apartments and they are great too. Highly recommended and in my opinion much better than a hotel especially if travelling with the family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The ground floor 2 bed flat we were allocated over looked one of the main roads into/ out of Edinburgh.
We visted on a very warm weekend, there was no air con or fans. The flat was either swelteringly hot or, if you opened the windows, very very noisy with the windows open - from both the road and groups of people arriving back at the flats from 1.00 - 4.30 am and loud music.
We had wanted a double and twin when we arrived but the beds were made up into two doubles, Reception was very friendly & helpful and changed the beds without any problems. The bedrooms were small but flat was clean and fairly well equipped.
We've stayed in better, larger & quieter flats closer to the centre of the town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FushiaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Morrison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - Harris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - Harris

Property: Fountain Court Apartments - Harris
Address: 41-43 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - Harris 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - Harris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments - Harris Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing