We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Godd value basic gay mens accomodation in good location.”
Review of Alva House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alva House
Ranked #280 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Only has 5 rooms and the description on the web site is accurate. I had booked the smallest (and cheapest) one and it was larger than I expected. Most rooms have shared bathroom and toilet but this is no problem as they are near to the rooms, The place is clean and martin provides a good continental breakfast which you can have anytime up to noon. Free cooffe tea and buscuts always available in the kitchen/breakfast room. Good gay pub (regent) nearby and within walking distance to city centre. if yu dont feel like walking plenty of buses available. if using bus buy a day pass for £3.50 it gets you nearly everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmbobSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend, and what a find!

Emailed the owner Martin and reserved the room, all he required was an approx arrival time - in the event we were about an hour earlier than anticipated, but not a problem....we were offered coffee whilst the room was prepared, which had a beautiful polished floor, lovely firm mattress on the bed, and a kitchen directly opposite where you can make tea/coffee etc whenever you want.

Room was spotless, well maintained, and my only quibble would be that the room wasn't en-suite......that said, the bathroom was the next door along!

Martin was a great host, friendly and knowledgeable about Edinburgh, and for anyone, I couldn't recommend this place highly enough....we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room One has a private bathroom....not en-suite, but literally the next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmoak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had an extended stay at the Alva House during May 2012 for about 3 weeks; give or take a day or two. The owner, Martin, was gracious and accommodating. He took the time to explain the area, pointing out places where I could save money, and even allowed me to do a few loads of laundry. Some of the other reviews are a bit unfair.

The Alva House is not a luxury hotel but it is clean, convenient and adequate. The design is simple but modern bed and breakfast.

To be honest, it can be a little noisy but Edinburgh is a bustling city. If you want peace and quiet go to the Scottish countryside. You'll get plenty of it there!

It is a 10-15 minute walk to Holyrood Palace, Arthur's Seat, Calton Hill, Scottish Parlement and the Royal Mile. There's also several neighborhood bars where there's inexpensive bar food.

In regards to the unfriendly service, I can only tell you that if you want overly friendly service then maybe you should stay at the Ritz. In my experience, British people tend to be a little more constrained and are not overly friendly; Scots maybe being the exception. You must earn their trust. Get over it.

When I'm visiting Edinburgh in the future the Alva House will receive my patronage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomKYHWU-EBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Great guest house been here a few times would definitely recommend this Martin the owner Is very nice and friendly great gay men only guest house fresh and clean good to come and go as you wish very quiet and in a great area would deffenitly go back to stay hear great value for money and a great warm welcome

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayum29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night while passing through Edinburgh.

I really appreciated the personal service of the owner by email and even staying up late to check me in given my late flight into Edinburgh.

Rooms are simple. I had a single room with a shared bathroom. Never had a problem using the bathroom and it was very clean.

Breakfast was fine, simple, nothing special. The owner wanted to chat while I ate, pleasant.

Walls are thin so you can hear neighbors well.

Overall, fine experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Although the "superior" room and its private bathroom had obviously been recently refurbished, inexplicalby they didn't think of putting a connecting door in; not only that, the room door has a closing mechanism, which means it is forced shut with a bang while the bathroom door handle came off - the photos on the website of the room and the bathroom are all older.

The house is ON London Road (the entrance is from Alva Place) with cheap double glazing and poor sound insulation. On top of that the room door has a 2 inch gap at the bottom so that sound from the staircase and the kitchen travels in (and for the same reason not recommended for a romantic weekend!).

Water pressure in the bathroom was pathetic and the "continental" breakfast basic.

The owner was outwardly friendly but actually quite brusk: He explained the gay scene in his usual spiel on arrival whether we wanted to hear it or not (we had been to Edinburgh lots of times and were not there for the saunas), and gave me a "shut up" look when I said that I knew from previous visits.

It's about 20 min fast walk from Edinburgh Waverley, so not really close enough to the centre to go and drop off the shopping before going for a mean (one hour round trip) etc.

Overall, I'd not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IC225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It's not a hard 10 minutes walk into the city centre, and the place is clean and tidy. Breakfast spread was decent, a bit disappointed that the bathroom for the Superior Room is not ensuite. there is a small kitchen where you can prepare meals or make an extensive breakfast if you want to. There's also free wifi!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_L56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,033 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva House

Address: 45 Alva Place, Edinburgh EH7 5AX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $62 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Alva House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing