We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stevenson House
Ranked #80 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The decor was a little creepy (animal hides hanging over the banister railing)and made us feel uncomfortable. We stayed in a room with two single beds that had really creepy decorations hanging over them(bone and bead decorations and scary masks). The light would also flicker randomly.

Although the location was fantastic and the proprietors were friendly and helpful we do not recommend this b&b for anyone who is afraid of the dark.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmoothSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevensonHouse, Owner at The Stevenson House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Canadian visitors,

We are very sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable stay due to your dislike of our decor. If you had told us we could have easily switched you to the first floor master bedroom which has no African decorations in it. You will be glad to know that the light system was seen to and the intermittent fault was fixed.
We would love to welcome you back and give you the experience that so many of our other visitors have.
The bedroom you occupied has now also got its own en-suite facilities which everybody loves.

Best wishes, Felicitas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had an excellent stay in The Stevenson House. Apart from the perfect location, it is wonderful to stay at a place with such a wonderful past.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelverhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Was exciting to stay in the home of R.L.Stevenson. Friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsarwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

It was a last minute booking and we weren't sure what to expect. What we found was an incredible house in a great, central location and a vivacious welcoming hostess to open the door to us. Felicitas showed us our four poster room full of character and with great views. The house is grand and impressive, and yet it doesn't have the feel of a museum but rather a wonderful lived-in family home. This was confirmed in the morning as we shared the breakfast table with their charming budding inventor son and exuberant twins (it's worth pointing out that we weren't bothered by noise at all during our stay). The food was excellent, we were really impressed with the variety on offer, especially delicious home made jams, bread and muesli. Felicitas and John are wonderful hosts: they are both very interesting, hospitable and helpful. If you want a unique, warm Edinburgh experience, and not the sterility and anonymity of a hotel, then this one is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gocinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

If you like Edinburgh, the New Town and happy people around you, this is the room for you to book. The house is beautiful and situated in the very elegant Heriot Row, a prime location in the best part of the New Town.

What makes this house so special is to share it with the Macfie family. Chatting with Felicitas and John is always stimulating. Meeting their bright children at breakfast or during the day is always nice and full of fun. Nights are very quiet, I never heard any noise. Breakfast is excellent and healthy.

For solo travellers or mates I recommend the twin room which offers a beautiful look across the Forth to Fife. Couples might prefer the room with a four poster bed and historic bathroom.

I have stayed here twice in two years and I will return. You will not find a flatscreen TV in your room. It would be a waste of time in beautiful Edinburgh. But maybe you will find a little chrystal mug of whisky in your room as a Scottish refreshment. And a pot of tea in the afternoon is always at hand together with someone to have a chat with. A wonderful place for a holiday or business trip to remember.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

This B&B was just what I had hoped for, it was central, very clean and we felt so incredibly lucky to have found it. We are literary minded and love history and so it was wonderful to find this historic gem. We did not need any transport as Edinburgh is so accessible to pedestrians from Heriot Row. I don't understand how anybody could fault this home, this is exactly what we had searched for. John explained the intricacies of the Scottish legal system to us, Felicitas had lots of cultural tips for us and fed us royally. I returned home firmly hoping that next year I will also convert the fruits of our garden to delicious jams. When I asked her for her marmelade recipe she not only gave it to me but a jar of it as well, that's what I call Scottish hospitality !! And by the way, my husband and I are completely enamoured with the extremely well mannered and gorgeous children !

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrauvomSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

i have stayed in a lot of B&Bs, but this one was gorgeous! I was warmly welcomed by the owners themselves, and immediatly fell in love with the charme of this historic house. Perfect location, room and beds were great, breakfast was lovely, especially the homemade jams. Thank you for everything - will definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,155 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
459 reviews
New Town
Inchgrove House
Inchgrove House
#123 of 393 in Edinburgh
90 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#49 of 393 in Edinburgh
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson House

Address: 17 Heriot Row | New Town, Edinburgh EH3 6HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very central family home which welcomes you at all times of the year.Experience Edinburgh like a local,walk to the sights and let us help you make the most of your visit.Especially suited for family vacations as we have active children ourselves.French,German & Afrikaans, Literature and History spoken.An atmospheric,multicultural experience in the childhood home of R L Stevenson awaits you ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stevenson House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing