We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilmore City Centre Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gilmore City Centre Guest House
Ranked #412 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The only positive thing I can say was that the bed was comfortable, but the pillows were not of good quality. There were extension cables running round both sides of the room, one to serve the TV (this one ran round the wash hand basin, death trap or what.) the other for the kettle. There were never enough sachets of sugar, or tea bags. In the chest of draws there were coat hangers, I couldn't find the wardrobe to hang them in so my clothes stayed in the draws. It wasn't clean. I certainly won't be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    13
    21
    47
See reviews for
16
31
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

made you feel at home for breakfast, had to put the kettle on yourself! opened the loaf of nearly stale bread to go into the useless toaster, the crossiants were so chewy i struggled for even the first bite before i threw it in the bin, the lid was broken on the cereal container so when it came off in my hand and i dropped some on the floor, the woman working in her office next to the "dinning area" gave my a dust pan and brush to clean it up, the room was about 4mX3m in one corner was a hand basin and in the other was the toilet and shower, the tv on the wall stopped the wardrobe from opening, there are lots of B&Bs on the road so pick another one, cant work out why so many had vacancies and this one was full, there was a french family having breakfast the same time as us, i hate to think what thought of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This B and B is in a convenient position and the beds were clean and fresh. However, the rest of the accommodation we found to be dirty( especially behind the beds) and the standard of the en suite was appalling with the shower head falling off from the wall.
We won't be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofors, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Arrived at 7 pm. People with a busy schedule will not see a single staff during their visit. Good place to sleep but nothing else. Had to pay the room over the phone with the credit card supplied when booking the room. Left to early for breakfast in the morning so can't say anything about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I arrived within the stipulated times for booking in, but got no answer after pressing the doorbell. We tried again - still no response. We knocked on the door - still no response. This went on for a couple of minutes, so we tried phoning the number quoted on the note on the inside door glass, but it just went to the "leave a message" service. We were of course stood in the porch all this time carrying bags and clothes.

We then called the number on the booking confirmation e-mail only to be told they couldn't help and that they'd told the lady who was registered with them several times previously, that the number should be changed.

We then knocked on the door a little louder and after some time - wondering what we should do next after standing around outside the property for about 8 minutes - an Asian gentlemen opened the door.

I advised the gentlemen of all our previous attempts to make contact, within their stipulated times and was told he'd been in the back hanging out some washing. From his tone, it appeared that he felt we were being unreasonable in not expecting him to answer the door earlier. There was never any prospect of an apology for keeping his new guests waiting.

We were then told we needed to pay in advance for the accommodation to ensure we didn't leave without paying at about 3 a.m. the following morning. I suggested to my wife that she check out the room to ensure we felt comfortable about paying in advance. While she was checking the room, I advised him of the difficulties we'd had as outlined above and that his imputation that we might leave early without paying a sad reflection of the calibre of what must have been his usual clientele. I also advised that we'd never been asked to pay in advance at any other B&B we'd stayed at and was told this was standard practice in the area. He then told me he didn't "like my attitude" and indicated his reluctance to allow us to stay. At this point my wife returned and after having advised her of our clearly being unwelcome, we felt we should leave. My wife told me later she was distinctly unimpressed with the standard of the accommodation.

The story does however have a happy ending, we walked across the road and booked in at the Averon Guest House and paid the Scottish owner the following morning when we left, after a very enjoyable full English breakfast in a perfectly satisfactory ensuite bedroom - less than the price offered by the Gilmore who only offered a continental breakfast at a surcharge of £4.50 per person.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noscreenname13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived within the hours that an onsite attendant was meant to be present to find a note on the door asking us to phone a mobile number. The man told us the code to enter the building, but that we had no booking and that they were fully booked.
To cut a long story short, the attendants were never where they said they would be. The room was dirty, the bathroom tiny and filthy, there was no hot water in the shower - and no one to ask to fix it. There were no spare supplies for tea and coffee, or even sufficient toilet paper for the duration of our stay.
Will never have stayed if it wasn't Edinburgh festival and pre-payment taken from my credit card.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We as a group needed a B&B in Edinburgh so we just randomly picked one. When we arrived the room was dark, the man had trouble opening our door (sticky I imagine) and when we walked in ...eugh!!! Yuk! The room smelled awful, like a mix between something dead and spicy out of date onions. We looked at it and each other, but the real shock came when we sat down - the beds were soaking! The guy said to me "well, they are just out of the washer". I said "Surely you don't put wet sheets and covers on a bed". Suffice to say I told him I felt he was running a scam as I am convinced this 'guest house' is a front for something else. I said to the guy that I had a feeling he knew people wouldn't stay once they had seen the rooms and he pretty much just laughed in my face. I looked in the shower and it looked like rubbed faeces across the outer bottom of it. Now this is something I can't say for sure as I didn't touch it but that is what it looked like to me.

We had a disabled person with us and suffice to say, because there was a golfing thing on all the B&Bs were booked up so we were effectively homeless thanks to this horrible place. (We did eventually get somewhere last minute on both nights but the cost was crazy but the places were lovely and the owners lovely).

I shall never ever forget this in my entire life. In all my travels I have never experienced this. To top it off the guy called me a racist!! Considering I love ethnic minorities and am always standing up for them (in my job and in life) I found this a real disgrace.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samanthalovesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Star Villa
#137 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Castle Park Guest House
#345 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adam Drysdale House
#187 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Cruachan Guest House
#306 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
West End
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore City Centre Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore City Centre Guest House

Property: Gilmore City Centre Guest House
Address: 51 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #412 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilmore City Centre Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gilmore City Centre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore City Centre Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing