We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drumorne Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$328
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$187
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$146
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
12
28
9
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
28
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stopholyrood parksingle roomprivate bathroomb bnice breakfaststayed herewould stay here againfree wifibedsbuses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 57 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Great hospitality, clean (small) rooms, great value for the money.
Nothing fancy, but the hospitality and friendliness of the staff was just amazing.
Rooms are clean and decorated with love.
Great location,- 15-20 minutes to walk to City center (Royal Mile).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0_w0rries_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The room was very very small,without a wardrobe, tirty and without natural light. The bathroom was more or less 1 m2 without a window, cut out in the bedroom already small. You can't reach the main attractions by walk you have to use the public transport. Bus spends al least 10 minutes to reach the city centre.


Antonella and her mother from Italy

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albaluminosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Location: very good, not far away from the city centre. The bus (44) frequency is 10 minutes. Even if you like to walk, through the Holyrood park to the city centre it will take around 20 minutes. The local place is enough secured.
Guest house and rooms: it is a lively house with a breakfast room on the ground-flour. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
For your breakfast you will have a good choice.
I would underline the kindness of the stuff!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights during our travels, booked the "family room en suite" on the Drumorne's website, the double room was not available. Ended up paying 50 pound sterling per night which was the cheapest I could find en suite not too far outside of downtown Edinburgh. There is only one flight of stairs (not too narrow) to most of the rooms. Our en suite bathroom was very narrow with a low ceiling, only room for one person at a time with a folding door (like a closet) instead of a normal door. The shower stall was teribbly narow and maybe 6.5 feet tall? It was ok for my husband and I since we're not that tall, something to be aware of if you are tall or on the heavy side. I don't know what the rest of the bathrooms are for size.
Our room overlooked the street, there wasn't a lot of traffice at night so the noise was forgettable. Internet is only provided on a computer in the breakfast room, which worked nicely to look up locations or quickly check emails. Breakfast made our stay very enjoyable. Every morning we opted for the cooked scottish breakfast of bacon, sausage, egg, tomato, and baked beans and there was also cheese, yogurt, toast and cerials offered with tea, coffee, and juice.
It did get a bit chilly at night, the heater in the room didn't work that well, something to consider if it does get colder out. My husband ended up killing 4 spiders in the room when we were there, I hate spiders they freak me out.
There is a bus stop right outside, a 10-15 minute ride gets you into town quickly. Street parking was easy to find most days and the neighborhood felt really safe at night.
Overall it was decent for the price, if you are on a budget and need a place to stay for cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Melly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2008. Had a room with 2 single beds and en-suite on the ground floor. Room was comfortable and clean. TV in room also as well as kettle and mugs for tea/coffee making. Breakfast was OK (apart from the sausages). Very good location for the city centre (about a 3 min bus ride - bus stops just outside and down the road - day pass costs about £2) and very reasonaly priced B&B. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Izzybtizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews