We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drumorne Guest House
Ranked #191 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have stayed 4nights in the hotel and can not find anything to complain about. The owner was really friendly and easygoing. Krystyna - the waitress / maid / receptionist - was also doing terrific job, always had a nice word for us.
The hotel is not in the centre, that is rue, but easily accessable by bus and absolutely worth the money! There is also an amazing park just 10 minutes away where you can climb up to Arthurs' seat, to get an amazing view, even till the sea.
I would recommend for people who wants to get comfort for low price!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinity19812016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at Drumorne for 4 days, and found it a basic but comfortable base from which to explore Edinburgh. The B&B is 1 minute from a bus stop that takes you into the centre of town, which is about 10 minutes away. There are some small stores within about 5 minutes walk. Our room was large, with 3 beds (1 double and 2 singles), a bathroom and small entrance way. The layout was very basic. They could have done with a shelf in the bathroom, a desk in the bedroom and more powerpoints. Also there is no phone that guests can easily use, which is a problem if you don't have roaming capabilities. They do provide free wireless in all rooms however, which is a bonus, but there is no printer available. The breakfast was only continental style, but the coffee is good and the lass who is there in the mornings is very friendly and great to chat to.
Overall a basic but comfortable place to stay, with free wireless as a bonus, convenient to a bus-stop and a pretty good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed here for a month, and I have to say it is a great place to stay. Very warm and friendly, while also giving you your own space. Abi is a great host and is a very genuine and sincere person and is a great source of local information. The rates are very reasonable and a bargain. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The host, Abby, and his assistant, Charlene, were very pleasant and accomodating. the room was small but very comfortable as was the bed. The breakfast was delicious. they went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable.

The guest house is about a 25 minute walk from downtown Edinburgh, a very pleasant walk I might add and the host made sure I knew of all the bus routes available along with walking directions.

I had forgotten a pair of glasses when i left the guest house and the staff were very helpful and accommodating in returning them to me. Thanks again Abby and Charlene

If i stay in Edinburgh again this would be my first choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwntwnrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I stayed there with my mates when we visited Edinburgh for Hogmanay. The owners were fantastic! Really helpful and friendly! The room prices were unbeatable and the hotel was situated in a location very close to city centre. I would definitely recommend it. Even though it may have not the luxury of a five-stars hotel the warm and friendly atmosphere that lingers around makes you feel like home. Real value for money! It made our trip even more pleasant!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky_mac_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The owner of this bed and breakfast is very helpful, and gives you a warm welcome.
The rooms are small, but clean. It is basic , but comfortable.
You do need to get a bus into the city, but the bus stop is just outside. The area is not noisy and we had a peaceful nights sleep, after hectic days at the fringe festival. We stayed here for four days, and we would stay here again.
If you do stay here and want a good place to eat, there is a fantastic chinse takeaway nearby. Its a takeaway with a few tables and chairs in. So the prices are cheap.
To find it go to the Jock's lodge, the pub, face the road and look left and you will see it down the road to the left, on the right hand side.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompey1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I don't usually leave reviews after a holiday but i have decided to leave one for the Drumorne B&B because my husband and I had a lovely time there. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. Nothing luxurios but we had all we needed in the room and the private bathroom. We slept very well, the area is quiet but very safe. It's about 15 mins walk from the city centre and 2 mins away from the biggest park in the city, we loved walking through the park into the city.
A big thank you goes to Abi, the owner, he was very friendly and welcomed us very well. It's very good value for money and i do recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#106 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumorne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumorne Guest House

Address: 82 Willowbrae Road, Edinburgh EH8 7HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $64 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Drumorne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumorne Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing