We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, wonderful and gracious hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penny Airey- No.38 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #252 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, wonderful and gracious hosts”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

This B & B is a wonderful base in new Town for exploring Edinburgh. We arrived in the morning from an overnight flight. Our room was not quite ready, but we were warmly welcomed by Penny who offered to keep our luggage and suggested that we take the short walk to St. Andrew's Square and the fourth floor restaurant at Harvey Nichols. We enjoyed a beautiful view of the city and had a light breakfast.
We (my father, adult son and my husband and myself) stayed in a lovely and comfortable "family room" which had a double bed, two single beds, a couch, TV, reading material and tea tray. We had a private bathroom with our room.

A wonderful full Scottish breakfast was served each morning - porridge or a selection of fresh fruit, bacon, sausage,mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, potato croquettes, free range eggs and French press coffee. The dining table was set with lovely china and silver. We were well nourished for a day of walking the beautiful city of Edinburgh. We walked to Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Old Town, New Town - a fantastic location.

Our hosts, Penny and her husband were very welcoming and gracious. They have a small library of beautiful books on Scotland and Edinburgh. The morning we left we had the map open and they had so many great suggestions for the rest of our trip exploring the Highlands, the whiskey trail, the Isle of Sky and the Pitlockery area.

Staying at Penny Airey B & B was the perfect base for exploring Edinburgh and seeing the famous Tatoo and their travel tips gave us a great launch for the next week of touring the fabulous Scottish scenery by rental car.

Do not be put off by the fact that you go down a few stairs to enter the New Town location. Once inside it is lovely B & B with outstanding hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
China
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

About a 10 minute walk from the central bus and train station lies a delightful hidden away B & B. Penny will make you feel at home during your stay and will help you with any needs that you might have. We found our room to be reasonably priced and the location excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinachats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I cannot believe no.38 isn't rated higher on Tripadvisor. I took a chance because I liked the two reviews that were posted. I'm so glad I did! It's a hidden gem.

The day my husband and I arrived in Edinburgh was cold, rainy and windy. Thank goodness for Penny's no. 38 bed and breakfast. Penny warmly welcomed us into the cozy residence, which made us feel like we were at home. The large "family" room we stayed in had a nice sitting area, and was very quiet even though we faced the street. Staying there is like staying in a friend's house because it is full of personality. The location is a mere 10 minute walk north of Waverly station, in a quiet neighborhood.

If you are looking for a family-run, comfortable, friendly place this is it! Penny the proprietor, is a wonderful hostess.

A highlight for us (Americans) was meeting fellow guests -- from Australia, England and Scotland -- at the breakfast table. Everyone was so nice and we loved chatting with them over porridge or a full Scottish breakfast, and even sampling some of Penny's homemade marmalade.

  • Liked — location, comfortable, friendly hostess, warm
  • Disliked — no common area except for the breakfast table
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Melemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2008

This review is late because I have just recently become aware of Trip Advisor - yes it's true!! Husband, self and two teenage daughters found Penny's lovely home 10 years ago purely by chance and we all agreed (almost impossible with teenagers) that she was a most gracious hostess who went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Daughter (all grown up now) and her partner stayed in November 2007 and said nothing had changed. Husband and I stayed in February of this year and found that to be true. A warm welcome, comfortable and immaculate accommodation, a short walk from Princes Street and Penny herself is just as we remembered her - a truly gracious hostess.

  • Liked — Immaculate, breakfast, location, hostess.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reereeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Our three day stay at Penny Airey was a delightful experience. Penny's bed and breakfast is in a well decorated historic home.
Penny is extremely gracious. She provided us with large delicious breakfasts that nourished us for most of the day. She is extremely gracious. Her home is truly deserving of its 4 star rating.

Other guests were amazed that we found Penny Airey on our first try. She has many regulars who come to work in Edinburgh on a weekly basis as well as people visiting their children at the University.

Her address on Dublin Street in New Town is very close to Waverly Station and tour busses as well as the tourist information center. We caught an afternoon bus and got a 24 hour pass around Edinburgh. This allowed us to see and stop at every sight we wanted to see for one small fee. We were within easy walking distance to everything.

My first impression of Penny's bed and breakfast was surprise that there was no sign indicating its purpose. Then I thought "Oh no, its in a basement." When we entered we were astonished at all the day light in all the rooms. Because Edinburgh is built on hills we looked out onto plants, flowers, trees and lots of sunlight from our second story window. The house is two stories above ground in back. It is also very quiet.

[--]

Take a moment to visit her web page at Visit Scotland.com

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank devie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Inchgrove House
Inchgrove House
#137 of 392 in Edinburgh
86 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#43 of 392 in Edinburgh
184 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 392 in Edinburgh
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#80 of 392 in Edinburgh
264 reviews
Broughton & Calton
28 York Place Hotel
28 York Place Hotel
#65 of 392 in Edinburgh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Airey- No.38 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Airey- No.38 Bed & Breakfast

Property: Penny Airey- No.38 Bed & Breakfast
Address: 38 Dublin Street, Edinburgh EH3 6NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Penny Airey- No.38 Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing