We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a memorable place to stay”
Review of Albyn Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albyn Townhouse
Ranked #11 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely a memorable place to stay”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

A beautifully decorated guest house approx 20 mins from Princess street.Very welcoming,fantastic staff,fantastic food,extremely comfortable and well equipped bedrooms with all the tea you could wish to drink!!Altogether a superb guest house in an ideal location.Only draw back could be the parking as it only has 4 spaces.Weekends no problem as on street parking is free but weekdays its permit only.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB10768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    50
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
66
325
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Once again we relied on Trip Advisor to find a great guesthouse for our short break in Edinburgh. Being regular visitors, we wanted to try a smaller guest house (rather than hotel), located close to the city centre.

We weren't disappointed by Albyn Townhouse, which is located just off Bruntsfield, in a beautiful part of Ediburgh. T is 15mins walk to Princess Street, with lovely small shops, boutiques and coffee shops just a stones throw from the guest house (inc a fantastic chocolate shop, at the top of the road - wonderful coffees, teas....and of course chocolates!).

With period features, beautiful decor and fantastic hosts, we were delighted at he warm welcome offered by the guest house. Lydie is a fun and vibrant character, who manages to offer a warm welcome to all of her guests, whilst juggling a family too....how does she manage it?!

Our room was beautifully decorated with a modern twist on traditional, including rich fabrics and high quality furnishings. The breakfast room looked like the classic french style cafe/restaurant with tasteful, classic decor and wonderful art work on the walls. A very relaxed but comfortable atmosphere, to match the remainder of the house.

Everything was catered for and Lydie offered every help in accomodating my 'smuggled' birthday cake and champagne, for my partner's birthday. She could not have been more obliging (and great fun too!).

We've already booked ourselves in for New Year and 'the kids' look forward to their return to Albyn Town House. We couldn't recommend it more....

Enjoy!

PS The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic and Lydie is a wonderful cook - you must try the Chives pancakes!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelleing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We chose the Albyn Townhouse after trawling through loads of possibilities - and we were so glad we did. Booking was easy through email, and everything we asked was answered.
It was easy to find, in a lovely quiet location and it was great to be able a reserve a parking space in the private car park. Lydie and David were friendly and welcoming, and the service from the other staff was great too.
The walk into town was reasonable, about 15-20 mins, but the bus service is excellent, with a stop just near the end of the road, so the attractions are easy to get to. Lydie gave us a map and bus advice anyway which was really helpful. There are also good shops and restaurants nearby.
The room was spacious, attractive and comfortable, and although the bathroom was a little on the small side it was immaculate and the shower was big, with plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of vegetarian options as well as the more traditional, and we liked that we didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn for it - it was a holiday after all!
We also had lots of tea and coffee in our room, unlike some places we have stayed where it is rationed! There was even a basket to help yourself to more if you needed it.
All in all, we loved our stay as we felt like they enjoyed having us there, and are already planning to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magenta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

The Albyn Townhouse was our first B&B in the UK and we were not disappointed. The host was very helpful with info with regard to where we should go and how to get there and being within walking distance to town is great. The walk home uphill was a bit of a struggle, but the buses go past every few minutes which makes it easy. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast lovely. Not on a main road so very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This was my second year at the Edinburgh festival - it is always a problem trying to find decent accomodationt hat doesn't cost the earth during the festival, but the Albyn Townhouse fit the bill perfectly. I am not a big fan of B&B's - I prefer the facilities of larger hotels, but having been shown the website for this B&B by my travelling companion, I readily agreed. The elegant townhouse lies just 5 minutes from the castle by bus, and its at the end of a cul-de-sac, with parking available.

The bedrooms have been stylishly decorated, with all conveniences (flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities - not that we had time to use them as we were at festival events). Comfortable beds, nice (though small bathroom). When we arrived back late in the evening we found our room looking lovely, with plush towels on the beds, pillow chocolates and stylish shower gel/shampoo - a nice touch for a B&B. Great firm pillows too!

The bright and airy breakfast room has everything you might desire - juice, cereal, jams, fromage frais, fruit - breakfast is made to order. Omlettes, full Scottish, pancakes, fried or scrambled eggs.

All this for a very fair price too! I have a feeling we will be staying at this B&B next August! I highly recommend it if you are visiting Edinburgh and are looking for style and good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We spent there 2 days (3-4 August 2010). The owners were very nice and available, the breakfast wonderful and the room delicious. Thank you a lot.
Elena from Italy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ablabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

A bit out of the centre but still walkable, near the lovely park-like setting of The Meadows, this is a 10 room (or so) B&B at the end of a cul de sac. It is interesting to read the reviews of this place, because they often focus on the hostess more than on the B&B itself. We found her extremely likeable and charming, but if you prefer the reserved distance sometimes associated with the British, you should look somewhere else. She did not waste any of our time with obsessive chit chat, but was very friendly and helpful. She also hires charming help and the breakfasts were very good. For us the only down side was taking the only available room, the smallest one, a bit crammed for a couple over the course of several days. Late starting breakfasts on the weekend (8:45) might be an issue for some people. But Edinburgh is such a wonderful city, who wants to spend all their time in a bedroom anyway. Free wireless worked most of the time, but not always.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstronomerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
821 reviews
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
704 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albyn Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albyn Townhouse

Property: Albyn Townhouse
Address: 16 Hartington Gardens | off viewforth, Edinburgh EH10 4LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albyn Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian townhouse 20 min walk to Old Town & all attractions. All en-suite quiet rooms, freeview TVs, Wifi, Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award winning breakfasts also for veggies and vegans, lots of homemade goodies! Private parking £5.00 Per night. On parle Francais! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albyn Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albyn Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh
Albyn Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing