We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albyn Townhouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Ivy(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
501
53
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
53
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bquiet cul de saccompoteincluding vegetarianhomemade jamscity centreminute walkprivate car parkquiet neighborhoodguest housetop floorbreakfast was deliciousfull scottishroom was beautifully decoratedlovely hostsbus routesa great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 566 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Only spent one night at the Albyn and what lovely accommodation. Agree with other reviews - clean, comfy beds and tastefully decorated. The area is easy to get to and buses to Edinburgh at top of the road (or a brisk 20 min walk). Especially enjoyed the quietness of the area and had one of the best nights sleep away from home ever. Had the veggie breakfast with the tasty "haggis". Will certainly recommend and return. Jacqueline & Neil, Hamilton

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil19582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We received a warm welcome from Lydie, who showed us to a lovely, spacious and well appointed en-suite bedroom. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was excellent and we had a different delicious breakfast every day for three days. (Looking forward to trying some of the other choices next time!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Albyn Townhouse is an excellent place to stay in Edinburgh. Lydie and David were great hosts, the rooms are spacious and extremely well appointed. Bathroom was excellent and the beds were very snuggly. And breakfast!! Well, that was something else. Fantastic is all I can say. Another great feature is the secure car park at the end of the street. As a party of four we had a large car to accommodate and in the narrow streets it was a relief to have that taken care of. All in all, an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great place to to call home for the duration of your stay. All the other reviews say it all already about the facilities, cleanliness, food and friendly welcome. Added bonus is the free on site car parking (worth a fortune in Edinburgh) It is about a 20 min walk to The Royal Mile across The Meadows or 2 min walk to the bus stop with frequent services to town. I know where we will be staying again on our next visit to Edinburgh

Room Tip: There are 2 ground floor rooms available
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Albyn Townhouse, as a group of 4 in mid September 2013. The experience is one we will always remember. Our hosts, Lydie and David were very welcoming and helpful. The en suite bedrooms were very spacious, well decorated and spotlessly clean. The excellent bathrooms and showers were also very welcome after sqeezing into some tiny spaces at other locations in UK. We had an exceptional breakfast with lots of choice served by friendly staff. A very central location for those who want to explore Edinburgh. A great experience at a very reasonable cost. Thank you Lydie and David. We will be back.

Ron, Bryan, Sandy and Margy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews