We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2011 Stay”
Review of Albyn Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albyn Townhouse
Ranked #11 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived mid-July 2011, and David and Lydia had just delivered a baby boy! There was a lovely young lady filling their shoes, and she was more than helpful in getting us to the top floor - which had to have been the best room in the house, what a view! Gave us all kinds of information about the city, gave a map and was more than helpful and charming. We were able to take a nice 20-30 min stroll through "The Meadows" to the best parts of the city.

Breakfast was divine! Scottish breakfast and vanilla pancakes couldn't be beat. We traveled Scotland for three weeks, and this was likely the best Scottish breakfast I had the whole trip. The place is in a quiet neighborhood, at the end of a quiet road. Beautifully decorated and very comfortable. My mother-in-law had sent a card for our anniversary to Albyn, and this prompted our hosts to leave a bottle of bubbly with a congratulatory note in our room! What a lovely surprise. On the way we left, David was there to see us off and give us driving directions, let us keep our gear in his office while we ran some errands, and generally chat as if we were old friends...it was hard to leave.

I think of Edinburgh often, it is my favorite city in the universe. I was sad that there were no rooms available for our return in August 2011, and if we can ever afford to get back we will make sure we have room here first!

Room Tip: If you don't mind hiking the stairs, ask for the top room overlooking the city! Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskanjlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 521 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Lydia and David are amazing hosts. They made our honeymoon so special. We were welcomed with open arms and excitement, Lydia gave us so much advise on where to go for attractions, how to get to the city center the best restaurants and where to go for certain shops. The room was so amazing and fabulous and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were yummy and had so much variety to them you could have something different everyday. Albyn is perfectly located within 20 minute walk to the city center and you have some lovely little shops and restaurants within walking distance of the guesthouse. Lydia and David also offer useful services such as booking taxis and helping to provide ironing services. I highly recommend using Albyn for your trip its such a special place and I agree with Lydia when she gave us the magic key that opens all the doors, there is a little bit of magic throughout the Albyn.

Room Tip: If you have a car prebook a parking space with them as the traffic wardens are good and their are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

There was a warm welcome waiting for us. Our room was lovely, clean, large and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay comfortable.
Great breakfasts, secure parking which we booked when we booked our room.
Quiet area, close to a good bus route to the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very nice B&B situated near the center of Edinburgh (20-30min walk or several busses available). Outstanding breakfast, lots of dishes to choose. Very quiet.

Only negative this was the soft mattress a a small bathroom.

Can be recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor are likel more quiet during breakfast hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eitsch723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hosts were very welcoming and gave us lots of tips in terms of places to visit and eat. Our room, although a little on the small side, was very clean and comfortable (especially the bed; one of the most comfortable I have slept in). It was also extremely well located - we were able to park our car in the secure car park and walk to the centre of Edinburgh within 15 minutes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digitaljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a wonderful place. So comfortable and relaxing just outside the city center of Edinburgh. Room was large and comfortable. If you like to walk it is a nice walk to the city centre. We were here for two nights and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Would recommend to anyone staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbrooksjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here for our 2 nights in Edinburgh. We arrived later than expected but had a warm welcome anyway. Our room was so beautiful. Modern but still with heritage details like the incredibly ornate ceiling and cornicing. We didn't have a view of the city but who cares when you can easily walk TO the city! We had nice weather so we didn't need to use transport at all. We walked easily into the old town, Calton hill, Arthur's seat etc. Loved Edinburgh and the accommodation! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahH255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#7 of 393 in Edinburgh
850 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
773 reviews
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albyn Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albyn Townhouse

Address: 16 Hartington Gardens | off viewforth, Edinburgh EH10 4LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $86 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albyn Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian townhouse 20 min walk to Old Town & all attractions. All en-suite quiet rooms, freeview TVs, Wifi, Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award winning breakfasts also for veggies and vegans, lots of homemade goodies! Private parking £5.00 Per night. On parle Francais! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albyn Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albyn Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh
Albyn Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing