We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, can not recommend highly enough....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albyn Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albyn Townhouse
Ranked #10 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B, can not recommend highly enough....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Lydie and David this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in room 7 which looking out of the window to the left you could see Edinburgh Castle and views of the sea to the front. Breakfast was delicious - veggie haggis is a MUST!! The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The walk into the city centre is a good 10-15 minutes walk although it is a great walk through the meadows. We will definatley stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire7186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    49
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
315
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

The Albyn is the type of establishment that you dream of as a B&B. It is very well run, clean, with a great family running it. We stayed there for three days, staying for an extra night. Breakfast is pretty good with other options to the usual full Scottish breakfast. The location of the B&B is right next to Bruntsfield and the meadows, close to the city without being in a noisy location. If you are looking for a good family friendly place to stay in Edinburgh, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Albyn.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randombtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Me and my hubby stayed at the Albyn for 2 nights on the 1st March 2012 we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

We were made to feel so welcome and at home, Lydie and David are lovely, friendly and very helpful.

The room we stayed in was lovely everything you could need in there and so so clean not a spot of dust or dirt plus the en-suite was gleaming so we were very happy!! OMG what a comfy bed we had and of a night it was so quiet and peaceful we got a really good nights sleep.

The breakfast menu was to die for such a good choice sorry only here for 2 nights and couldn't try it all haha they were always coming in asking was everything ok and did we need more tea, toast, etc.

The Albyn is a nice walk to the City centre but if you did fancy the walk you can go to the top of the road where the B&B is and jump on a bus which takes 5 mins or jump a taxi which will cost about £7.

All in all I would recommend Albyn Townhouse to anyone and we will stay here again.

Thank You for a great stay!!

Room Tip: Just Stay Here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 20_Sun_Sea_Sand_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here in 2010 and really enjoyed our stay.We made to feel very welcome and Lydie was very helpful with what we should do whilst in Edinburgh. The room we stayed in was light, airy and immaculate.The breakfasts were delicious and they made them to our preference. Good walking distance to the City centre. We thoroughly enjoyed it here and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepperTheMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

My Partner and I stayed at the Albyn to celebrate my 70th Birthday and it will remain as one of the pleasures of our stay in Edinburgh. The Proprietors are very friendly and caring in there approach to there guests the location,rooms and breakfasts are brilliant.
A pleasant walk to the City centre but unless you are very very fit after touring such as the Castle I would suggest a Taxi back to a nice relaxing atmosphere.

Overall A Superb Stay with a Superb Family

Mick and Sue Booth West Yorkshire

Room Tip: Speak to Lydia or David by Phone easier and better than on line booking The downstairs rooms are su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Lovely people. Friendly. Clean. Great photos on the walls. Magnificent breakfast menu choice. I want to go back !

Room Tip: Book your parking space if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlogan863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Went with my Husband for a 2 day break and had a lovely time , staff all very friendly rooms basic but clean, breafast good

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albyn Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albyn Townhouse

Property: Albyn Townhouse
Address: 16 Hartington Gardens | off viewforth, Edinburgh EH10 4LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albyn Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian townhouse 20 min walk to Old Town & all attractions. All en-suite quiet rooms, freeview TVs, Wifi, Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award winning breakfasts also for veggies and vegans, lots of homemade goodies! Private parking £5.00 Per night. On parle Francais! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albyn Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albyn Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh
Albyn Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing