We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop-over”
Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #35 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed over-night at the Lodge ,Ted & Dot are great hosts , room was large and very well kept , with the rest of the accom of a high standard , a tip for anyone thinking of staying here , you have got to stay for an evening meal , the menu is of a very high quality , it would put some class hotels to shame , it is honestly that good .
Would stay here again without hesitation .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainMacFarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
There are newer reviews for Aaron Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 818 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights in October. Room was large and at the back so very quiet. Ted welcmed us, showed us the room and gave information how to get into the city and where the local shops were. Adequate breakfast. Parking on site

Room Tip: Room 3 at the back of the hotel. Very large and comfortable. Unable to get WIFI reception in the roo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to go to the theatre in the city. The hotel is on the outskirts of Edinburgh city with a bus stop right beside it. We took taxi's in and out to save any confusion of where to get on and off etc. The taxi was around £12. There is no reception as such and we were met in the car park by a pleasant lady who showed us how to use the door and where are room was etc.

The room was nice, very clean with a large tv, clothes hanging area, dressing table, tv/coffee making facilities etc. The window was open when we went in and I thought it may be an issue as the noise from the traffic (the hotel is on a busy road) may be an issue, however, as soon as the window was closed all was quiet. The bathroom had a large shower that was reasonably powerful, was clean and modern with enough towels etc.

Breakfast was a buffet with a selection of fruits, cheese etc as well as some cooked items that were good. The hotel also provide newspapers in the lobby for you to read.

Overall it was certainly worth what we paid for it and we would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank shorthaul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the third time we've been back to Aaron Lodge and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh. Ted and Dot are wonderfully welcoming and friendly people, even though they are incredibly busy, they find time for you. Accommodation is second to none and bedrooms are luxurious to say the least, in fact the accommodation is so well maintained, it still looks new. Breakfast is good and sets you up for the day after a comfortable night's sleep and fantastic, invigorating shower.

We also ate at the Conservatory Restaurant and the food is superb. We had a delicious meal and it was very good value for money.

We can highly recommend this accommodation. If you go to Edinburgh, then you should stay at Aaron Lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel for getting into the city...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentkeaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and when we arrived we were personally shown to our room and down to the restaurant. The room was extremely clean and well presented, with a beautiful en-suite shower room (with towels and complimentary toiletries)
The only negative thing I can say about my stay was the bed was far too uncomfy for my liking I found it really hard. Breakfast was wonderful.
We decided to leave the car in the private carpark and take the bus to and from the city which took us right on to Princes Street day ticket was £3.40 day ticket or £1.50 single journey, the bus stop is right outside so very handly.
Next time we visit Edinburgh we will be staying here

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haillies_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here with friends as a stopover prior to a tour of the Highlands. Owing to a mis-communication (we assume) between the tour operator and the guest house, we had to stay down the road in an overflow area. However, Ted, our host, was most helpful in driving us to and from this location as required. His friendliness and charm certainly compensated for the need to stay away from the lodge itself.

Our room was clean and comfortable, although a bit noisy from street traffic and other guests. Not luxurious by any stretch, but certainly adequate. Our dinner in the Conservatory was delicious and beautifully presented... a really cozy and comfortable little restaurant. We enjoyed it very much. The buffet breakfast was good as well.

It seemed a bit out of the way for travelers with no car, but perfectly situated for our purpose, as the tour operator picked us up directly from there at the start of the tour. My husband and I were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zazzup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home after spending 3 nights at Aaron Lodge on our first visit to Edinburgh over the period 8-11 October 2013. We found the accommodation to be first class. The evening meal we had in the restaurant was as Ted said, a 5 star meal at 3 star prices. We found Ted and Dot to be excellent hosts. We are looking forward to returning next year as like Ted and Dot we found Edinburgh to be a great place to visit. Our visit was way to short to experience all that Edinburgh has to offer. Scotland should be proud of their Capital City. We found the people of Edinburgh to be very friendly and ever so helpful. Finally I would definitely recommend Aaron Lodge as a great place to stay when visiting Edinburgh. For getting around the city, use Lothian buses they are the best way to travel around the Capital and the cheapest!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michalisAiskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#37 of 393 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#50 of 393 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#44 of 393 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
6.0 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#80 of 393 in Edinburgh
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $83 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing