We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well looked after”
Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #34 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

my brother and I stayed two nights while visiting relations in and around Edinburgh.The room was cosy and very clean the only fault being we ordered a twin room and received a double.The buffet breakfast was delicious plenty choice.Ted and Dot excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 819 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights early september, could not fault the accommodation, food or service, this is a quality run hotel and knowone would be disappointed staying here. There is a bus stop just outside , the bus service is great you never need to use your car to get into edinburgh.we will definitely recomend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recently stayed at The Aaron Lodge and found it warm, clean, and friendly. The owners Ted and Dot were very helpful and attentive. It is on the outskirts of town but the bus stop is just a few steps away so it is ultimately convenient. The dinner I had was outstanding . I have really no complaints other than one has to go downstairs to use the internet as it for some reason doesn't work in the room. I would however stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

1) good food. Note top of my list
2) clean tidy rooms and very nice decor
3) genuine people that own the hotel ,made to feel very welcome
We stayed for a few days as we were up there watching the tattoo , we will defiantly stay there again an look forward to going back soon
It's not the Hilton but a good compromise

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigstu248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed for two nights with my daughter while finding University accommodation for her. The room was clean and well furnished, just like a much more expensive hotel. The only niggles were that the wireless internet did not work reliably in our room - I had to sit outside on the landing to use it, which was not a problem on this trip but would have been on a business trip. Also we did not know when booking that the restaurant would be closed due to staff holidays in the evenings during our stay; again not a problem to us but possibly to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardB406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Upon arrival I noticed the car park is very tight and small. No signs for reception but luckily the gentleman pulling up weeds pointed me in the right direction. I was told there would be no restaurant facilities as the chef was on holiday. ( huh?) but there are takeaways close by. Breakfast is available from 7:30am. Not much good when I need to be at work by 8am. So I decided to sit in my room and watch tv, which being mounted so high required laying on the floor. Thankfully this is for one night only whilst I work at the Royal Infirmary. Costing me £90 per night I will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank viamphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I recently booked into the Aaron Logde whilst visiting Edinburgh for the festival. I am so glad that we decided to stay here rather than the impersonal bigger hotels. The rooms, which are all ensuite, were gorgeous and extremely clean. The food served in the lovely romaticly decorated conservatory was fantastic, my partner said it was one of the best steaks he'd had and the lamb melted in my mouth. To top off the stay we were made to feel so welcome, unfortunately we didnt get to meet Ted & Dot mentioned in the others reviews, but we dealt with their daughter Sharon who was extremly friendly, polite and helpful - she obviously takes after her parents when it comes to service. We were given directions into town recommendations of places to eat and drink and basically made to feel like we were staying with friends. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie_Rodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#40 of 393 in Edinburgh
356 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#53 of 393 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#39 of 393 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#186 of 393 in Edinburgh
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $85 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing