We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit to Aaron Lodge & many more to come”
Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #39 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is the second time we have been to Aaron Lodge and we can not speak highly enough of the place. Its a real treat!!

The warm welcome you get the moment you arrive (regardless of the time of day or in my case night) is always nice to recieve. Dot and Ted welcome you with open arms and always have the time to talk to you, find out your plans for the stay and always offer great advise on where to go and what to do.

Weve stayed in 2 different rooms now and both have been perfect, large in size, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, massive 6ft wide bed, flat screen TV, free Wifi, beautiful bathrooms.

Aaron Lodge is not far from city centre but id highly recommend catching the bus as on both visits we have been lumbered with the huge parking costs in the city - approx £24 for the day. The next time we come we will definatly catch the bus in and out and make the most of some lunch time wine.

Breakfast is a buffet. Very nice. Hot and cold food. Service is lovely.

I honestly can not find a fault with this place. I'm normally a nightmare to please when travelling about as nothing ever compares to home comforts but Aaron Lodge ticks all my boxes. I really cant wait to go again in the summer!

Yet again thank you very much Ted and Dot!

See you both soon

Claire, Will & Grace xx

Room Tip: Stayed in 6 & 7 - both lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 820 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have just back from my trip to Edinburgh and I am still completely amazed by this lodge owners' hospitality. The amenities are really good for this type of accommodation. The buffet breakfast was always tasty. Everything is clean and well-tailored for both solo travelers and families.

Room Tip: At the time I booked my room I was unsure if the location is OK as on the map is looked quite far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxanaErm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home from a 3 night stay at Aaron Lodge. We were greeted upon our arrival by a very friendly Ted (the owner) who showed us around, told us everything we needed to know and led us to our room. The room was spacious, well decorated and VERY clean. The bed was (for want of a better word) HUGE! Following advice from Ted we caught the bus into the city. As he had told us, they passed the lodge around every 10 minutes (indeed we never waited longer than that for a return bus either!). Breakfast was a buffet-style and had a good selection of cold as well as hot food and service of tea/coffee and toast was speedy. We had a lovely relaxing stay - there is an atmosphere of 'nothing is too much trouble' - Dot and Ted are clearly very proud of their Lodge (and rightly so).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonMooreLeyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 while husband in hospital everything was perfect room food Great hosts Very good value for money dinner was delicious Would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Edinburgh

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I arrived at Aaron Lodge on a snowy evening. I had chosen this hotel due to location. The owner greeted me and showed me straight to my room. I had booked a single and was given a very large double. The bed was at least kingsize if not superking. Clean and tidy. I didn't eat there in the evening as it was a Monday and the restaurant is closed on a Monday. Breakfast in the morning was very nice. The owners have obviously got a good system going!
The crowning glory to my stay here was the helpfulness of the owners. The night I arrived, I asked how long it would take to walk to the hospital as my business was near there. As I settled my bill, the owner insisted on driving me to my destination.
Should my business take me to this area of Edinburgh again, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJW_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Aaron lodge. Could not fault it. Great hosts, made you feel very welcome. Stayed at the the restaurant for dinner which was delicious! Very good value for money. Don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Spink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well booked a one night stay for Myself and partner on the 16th of march and couldn't ask for a better service dot and terry were very welcoming very clean comfy beds superb food hot and cooked to perfection will definitely go again and would recommend to anyone who is planning a trip to Edinburgh bus stop right out side buses every ten minutes to town what more could you ask for thanks

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subsea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Garfield Guest House
#34 of 394 in Edinburgh
356 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 394 in Edinburgh
763 reviews
Dene Guest House
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sonas Guest House
#32 of 394 in Edinburgh
245 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#42 of 394 in Edinburgh
202 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $85 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing