We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Aaron Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aaron Lodge
Ranked #28 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I went to Edinburgh with my Indonesian wife, and my friend booked us into this accommodation. 2 days before New years eve, this place cost us 80 pounds per room. It's the best value I think I've ever paid for any accommodation. A family run lodge, with the personal touch. The owner, Ted, is such a friendly and welcoming person. He likes to make you feel comfortable and is informative, as well as being a bit of a joker, bringing smiles to your face. The rooms are perfect, spacious, clean, new, and have all the best of equipment. A big screen wall mounted TV, with all the top satellite channels, goes nicely with the large and very comfortable bed. The room temperature was great, very warm and welcoming. The beautifully tiled bathroom, with superb modern lighting, is very spacious with a very powerful, temperature controlled water flow power shower. The type of shower you just don't want to leave!!! The building itself has been refurbished to a very high standard, with the biggest conservatory that I have ever seen, where the meals are served. The breakfast (which is included in the cost) is brilliant. A full Scottish breakfast, cooked perfectly with the best quality food available (none of these cheap sausages or bacon) is available, along with cereal, fresh juice selection, fruit, and yogurt among other options on offer. For me, it was the Scottish breakfast, and one of the best one's I have tried, like ever!! You must try it. Daily newspapers are available also. A small bar is also there if you like a refreshment. The decor is very modern and clean. A friendly, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere rounds it all off. Outside the lodge is a bus stop, which takes only about ten minutes to get to the main areas of the city, at a nominal cost. My friend summed up this accommodation perfectly when he said, "I like to 'moan' (complain) if things are not good, but the only complaint that I have, is that I cannot complain about anything!!!" You will not be disappointed. In fact, Edinburgh needs more of these types of accommodation. Actually, reading this review, it may look as if I have been paid to write it, or a family member. However, I'm simply one very happy customer, and you will be too. 10/10. Nae problem!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Quiet, very comfortable, warm, quiet, and have all mod cons. Your bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin020470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    88
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
147
333
64
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Ted's guest house while my boyfriend was admitted to the hospital down the road, I needed somewhere to get some sleep and relax. Ted has been very warm and caring, while the rooms are a very high standard, comfortable and spotless at a very reasonable rate. Very impressed would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktx85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at Aaron Lodge whilst visiting Edinburgh for the Christmas Market and shopping experience, which was excellent. Our room was very modern, fully equipped and with an excellent walk in shower. The breakfast was first class and got us off to a great start. The bus stop to Edinburgh City Centre is right outside the Lodge and buses run every 10 minutes so need to use the car.Unfortunately the restaurant was closed during our stay as the chef was ill, but our hosts Ted and Dot more than made up for this with their excellent hospitality.We will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 209967Anton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I spent two nights at Aaron Lodge while visiting someone in the Royal Infirmary. The accommodation was very comfortable and excellent value for money. The food was very good too. It is only a few minutes walk from the hospital and on a main bus route to the city centre so couldn't have been more convenient. But it was the welcome from Ted and Dot that was most impressive. They could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at Aaron lodge tuesday 20 November for 3 nights excellent hotel lovely food and rooms.A nicer couple in ted and dot you could not wish to meet.lovely pint of best bitter.the buffet breakfast was lovey and the evening meal excellent we will be back in the near future thanks very much for a great stay.steve and Gaynor.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place to stay made very welcome by owners Ted & Dot after i spent the day in Royal Infirmary,Plus staff very friendly nothing too much trouble,will def be back soon.Its only 5mins from edinburgh royal infirmary.then had a quiet drink in the bar with ted, just what doctor ordered!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

After staying in a not so desirable hotel not far from Aaron Lodge,I was recommended Aaron Lodge and when I first spoke to Ted on the phone i knew i was on to a winner,you couldn't wish to speak to a nicer man.I was previewed the rooms which were immaculate,everything you need for your stay,I was then offered a beer and a chat,and thought to myself how lovely it is, to meet somebody who cares about his work.The next day I was greeted by Ted's lovely wife Dot who's very pleasant,the breakfasts were delicious a full buffet,fruit,cereal,fresh coffee.....perfect!...the evening meals were gorgeous plenty of choice,great food and service,you couldn't fault anything. In total i spent around five weeks there and i couldn't of wished for anywhere better to stay.Thankyou Ted and Dot x Gary

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#37 of 393 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#21 of 393 in Edinburgh
351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 393 in Edinburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
811 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 393 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#20 of 393 in Edinburgh
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge

Property: Aaron Lodge
Address: 128 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 10 en-suite rooms including 1 single room, 3 double rooms and 6 rooms with kig size beds. All rooms are modern and include colour LCD TV (Freeview, Sky & BT Sport), telephone, safe and power shower. Residents bar, free car parking, disabled facilities and free Wi-Fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aaron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Edinburgh
Aaron Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing