We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great”

Heart of Scotland Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.76*
and up
Rosslyn Chapel and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #5 of 197 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Small groups of 16 in the Wee Red Bus. Our guided tours have been specially designed to give you maximum variety by including famous sights as well as hidden gems that many tourists never see. We look forward to welcoming you onto our famous Wee Red Buses to experience and enjoy the essential Scotland together.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although we enjoyed Rosslyn Chapel & Hadrian's Wall our guide wasn't very good. He did not give us very much information along the way and he didn't even play any music during the long silences. It would be a much more enjoyable experience if he could point out features along the way and talk about the chapel a little. Some traditional Scottish music would have been a nice touch. When we were about to leave @ 4:30 pm, after he had left his bus lights on while we were there, the bus wouldn't start. A number of people suggested that he ask someone to give us a boost for the battery but he insisted that it wasn't the battery that was dead. He finally looked for cables and lo and behold the company hadn't provided any for the bus! We waited 1.5 hrs. for the insurance company to come and gave the battery a boost. We were finally on our way @ 6:10pm

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrys209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nckr, Manager at Heart of Scotland Tours, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for your review and our apologies for the delay experienced.

On the rare occasions we have to manage mechanical problems on tour we do so as quickly as possible - we're acutely aware of the hassle involved for all parties concerned. This battery failure was not caused by leaving lights on (all other electrics were working as normal and lights would not drain a fully charged battery so quickly). This was confirmed by roadside assistance who, when telephoned, advised us to wait until their representative had inspected the battery and not to attempt a boost ourselves. Accordingly, that's what we did.

In the end the battery was boosted for the return journey, as you correctly state in your review. The vehicle was taken to a Mercedes main dealer that evening and the battery was in fact replaced as it was faulty. The vehicle was back in service the next morning.

Although I appreciate this short delay was inconvenient I hope we dealt with the problem as quickly and efficiently as could be expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,558
    204
    36
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked with Heart of Scotland and a few other companies in advance. While each company provided a good tour, Heart of Scotland was an amazing experience. I highly recommend the wee red bus as a way to see the country. They have a great selection of tours that suit history buffs, nature lovers and general interest tourists. The smaller bus has a more personal touch. James was an awesome guide. If you are going to take one tour when in Scotland, book with Heart of Scotland.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liv48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

After me pleading with my brother for a day, he finally agreed that if we were going to be in Scotland we needed to see the Scottish Highlands. We chose the Loch Ness and Scottish Highlands day tour due to limited time. This trip was a fantastic time! We started off with foggy, somewhat miserable weather which meant that as far as sightseeing went we were out of luck.
"You should be looking at a mountain range right now... "

However, to compensate our tour guide (Matt) kept us plenty entertained with stories from just about every topic you can imagine.
"I'm not racist; I just don't like the English"

I genuinely learned quite a bit (e.g: Scotland prints their own money... who knew?). Later in the day and once in the Highlands, the sun came out and it turned into a fantastic day! I wanted to take a million pictures, but honestly they just can't do the views justice. We did the boat tour on Loch Ness which was extremely calm (I was ready for winds and vomiting), although we did not spot the monster. Because of the not so great sight seeing at the start of our trip Matt compensated with a few extra stops at the end of our journey.

All in all, well worth the money and time. Spectacular views, good company, and an outstanding tour guide. We will be recommending to anyone headed that way!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cayce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederkassel, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highland Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went on your Tour 1 into the Highlands and really had a great time. The trip on the small bus was very comfortable and our tour guide Matt was the BEST. We herewith upgrade him from 'One of the three best' to the best in the world :) !! He was very informative and entertaining and we learned more about Scotland, its history, people and landscape than from any book, we've read before! The small international group was very nice and we had a lot of fun together. We also appreciate the fact, that Matt avoided the overcrowded places and brought us to some very calm and beautiful ones. We really enjoyed the day and will definetly book another trip with Heart of Scotland Tours as soon as we are in Scotland again! Thank you very much for this great experience! Greetings from the two German teachers, who weren't always in time! <3

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitara, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loch Ness & Hadrian's Wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

On the day we arrived in Edinburgh after a direct series of flights from NZ we booked 2 trips with The Little Red Bus (Heart of Scotland Tours). Thought that might have been a bit silly and we should have waited until we got back from the first tour before booking the second tour but we need not have worried.
On the first trip to Loch Ness Colin was excellent with his story telling and I started to understand a tiny bit of Scottish history (a bit longer then NZ's history). I have strange visions of Rob Roy and his red hair and long arms that could tie up his shoe-laces without bending over??? He did not manage to get Nessy to appear for us though. Great scenery.
Just a note, this trip is not one for children to be taken on - it is a lot of time sitting in a bus.
The second trip to Hadrian's Wall and Rosslyn Chapel was also excellent, again great scenery (quite different to the Highlands). This time James managed to impart a huge number of stories about this area of the country. His general knowledge was "just fab" to quote one of his sayings. Managed to get a fab cup of coffee at Rosslyn Chapel too which was a bonus.
Would recommend this company to anyone.
Dawn from New Zealand

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart of Scotland Tours also viewed

 

Been to Heart of Scotland Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing