We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lantern Guest House
Ranked #134 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a great place to stay for our weekend in Edinburgh, near to the centre, but far enough away from the noise.
We booked a weekend stay here, I emailed to give a rough time of arrival, because we were going to be getting there in the evening we were given a key code to get into the building. We had a lovely basement room. With everything we needed for a short stay. Very clean and tidy.
I did quite like the fact that it didn't have a reception area. We would stay here again. It was very private and secluded. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vezzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
81
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Lantern House for just a couple of days for the Edinburgh Festival and were very happy with everything. The location is just right, accessible to everything but in a quiet street, the room was clean, comfortable and spacious, and the facilities were good in every way

I've been going to Edinburgh for the Festival most years since 1983 and have had some mixed experiences, some excellent, some ok, never anything really bad, but Lantern House is definitely a 'find' and I hope to be able to stay there many times again.

Just one small point; on arriving back at the house at about 0030 one night the door had been double locked from the inside and so the keypad entry system did not work. Although this was quickly rectified by the owner (I think!) it could have been a problem for anyone arriving later. As it was likely another guest had double locked the door, perhaps a sign on the door asking guests to not do this would be a good idea?

But all in all a very pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location
Nice quarter around there with nice pubs and restaurants, still just a short stroll into the old or new town. Good concept providing rooms for a good price without additional breakfast service.
PARKING: Parked our car on the street, with quite some pounds you're getting over the day, and not more expensive than driving the car to a garage.

Rooms
Quite small and dark room and bathroom, but a typical size for city hotels, so that's fine - especially as you usually don't spend much time in there. Had calm nights there.

Hosts
Very friendly and helpful, just changed a light bulb when we arrived.

Room Tip: PARKING: Parked our car on the street, with quite some pounds you're getting over the day, and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moguntia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The first thing to point out is that this is NOT a b&b, ie you only get an ensuite room with tea/coffee making facilities, so you need to have breakfast in one of the nearby cafes. Having said that, it is very central, clean, quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable (I have back problems so I appreciate a good mattress). Great value for money! I've already recommended it to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria27m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My review for May 2013 was deleted by trip advisor for quality guidline reasons, I have updated it to reflect their rules and resubmitted.

I visited Edinburgh for a show and booked into the Lantern House. On arrival the outside of the building looks OK, nothing too special but its fine. Entering the building reminded me of an old lifeless house, white walls, no pictures and no character.

I was a little confused as we had to let ourselves in to the building and to our own room but had no idea which room was ours, at which point a man (I presume this is the owner) made an appearance. The small talk was incredibly awkward and made my partner and I very apprehensive. Also, after asking him what room was ours he awkwardly pointed and said "I think this is yours"... Eh. Ok... awkward.

After our awkward small talk we closed the door to our room, we both had the feeling of being listened to - Why? Well, the walls are VERY thin (or at least thats how it felt) and every single step we took made all of the floor boards in our room creak & moan like mad. The room its self, is VERY dated! It looks nothing like any of the pictures on the website which show a rather small but modern appearance. The walls at one point were white! Also the bed we had had very disturbing brown marks all the way around the bottom as well as a tartan cover on the head board - which looked as though it was stapled on.

There was also the normal generic hotel booklet which we read through, just to find on most pages old info scored out with pen and new info written. Some times the "new info" was scored numerous times and corrected with different ink every time... Or maybe a retro rainbow pen was used?

The cherry on top, the last page. It had a picture of a couple. It was a picture of the previous owners but next to it there was more writing from Richard, I can only guess our awkward small talk greeter, stating he was now the owner. That along with everything else unsettled us so much that I instantly went online to book the last room at a nearby chain hotel. I thought it was a little ironic that I was booking a new hotel using his wifi, but he had the last laugh... The wifi bill hadn't be paid or was just broken.

In total we paid £49 for the room, so it cost us £2.45 per minute we stayed.

Room Tip: Book the travel lodge, its a couple of £ more expensive but better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathanpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Lantern Guest House, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have recently bought Lantern Guest House and are committed to providing good quality service and facilities at a reasonable price. We have updated and enhanced the information that is sent out in advance to our guests including arrangements for a personal welcome on arrival. We have undertaken some intensive cleaning of the rooms and en suites and have bought new mattresses, linen, furniture and pictures as required. We have had a new boiler fitted and new high speed wifi installed. We have updated the lanternguesthouse.com website with some new photos. We look forward to welcoming and serving you went you visit our wonderfully cultural city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am sharing this review on behalf of my parents who stayed at Lantern House this week. They needed a place to stay in Edinburgh at short notice and we found this excellent value guest house 10 minutes' walk from Waverley Station, round the corner from the Playhouse theatre. Despite its central location, the rooms were very quiet and comfortable. They really enjoyed the "key code" system that allowed them come and go freely. We also met the owner, who, in my Mum's words "couldn't have been more helpful!". Well worth a look - particularly if you are looking for unobstrusive comfort, value and most of all: a really good location in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CailinDeasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive, yet clean and comfortable place to stay while visiting Edinburgh, look no further than Lantern House. My boyfriend and I are mature students, and were searching for an affordable place to stay in the city centre, but did not want to stay in a hostel. We stumbled across Lantern House on Tripadvisor, and in spite of the mediocre reviews, we selected it because of its low price point, and proximity to Edinburgh Waverley train station, and the various tourist attractions on the Royal Mile. We were pleased to find that everything we wanted to see was within easy walking distance, with the station only a 10 minute walk, and the Royal Mile only a little further away.
From the outside, the Lantern House is an elegant Georgian townhouse, with plenty of charm and character. The inside is much more austere and stripped down, but we found it to be very clean. Most visitors probably never see the hotel proprietors owing to the fact that there is no reception area, and you let yourself into the building via a security code. However, we did run into the manager one morning, and he was very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely come back for our next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#77 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,168 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 149 in Edinburgh
805 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#157 of 392 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Lyncliff Hotel
#205 of 392 in Edinburgh
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Guest House

Property: Lantern Guest House
Address: Lantern House | 3 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lantern Guest House is set up as 3 mini apartments, combining historic Georgian tradition with modern features such as pin code entry and high speed wifi.Very close to the city centre hub around the Playhouse, Omni Centre and Tram terminus, also close to Waverley Rail Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lantern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Hotel Edinburgh
Lantern Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing