We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, convenience, good value and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lantern Guest House
Ranked #152 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfort, convenience, good value and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am sharing this review on behalf of my parents who stayed at Lantern House this week. They needed a place to stay in Edinburgh at short notice and we found this excellent value guest house 10 minutes' walk from Waverley Station, round the corner from the Playhouse theatre. Despite its central location, the rooms were very quiet and comfortable. They really enjoyed the "key code" system that allowed them come and go freely. We also met the owner, who, in my Mum's words "couldn't have been more helpful!". Well worth a look - particularly if you are looking for unobstrusive comfort, value and most of all: a really good location in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CailinDeasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
78
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive, yet clean and comfortable place to stay while visiting Edinburgh, look no further than Lantern House. My boyfriend and I are mature students, and were searching for an affordable place to stay in the city centre, but did not want to stay in a hostel. We stumbled across Lantern House on Tripadvisor, and in spite of the mediocre reviews, we selected it because of its low price point, and proximity to Edinburgh Waverley train station, and the various tourist attractions on the Royal Mile. We were pleased to find that everything we wanted to see was within easy walking distance, with the station only a 10 minute walk, and the Royal Mile only a little further away.
From the outside, the Lantern House is an elegant Georgian townhouse, with plenty of charm and character. The inside is much more austere and stripped down, but we found it to be very clean. Most visitors probably never see the hotel proprietors owing to the fact that there is no reception area, and you let yourself into the building via a security code. However, we did run into the manager one morning, and he was very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely come back for our next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We couldn't get out quick enough. The welcome was awkward and when we got into our room it was nothing like the pictures online. The room was still dirty with the bed sheets having marks on them and the bathroom not cleaned to the best of its ability. No sooner did we check in were we looking for another room and luckily we got the last room somewhere else close by. The information booklet about the Guest House was not up-to-date with old information scribbled out with the new information written in pen (very unprofessional) e.g previous owners no longer there with new owner haven taken over as at 16/04/13 and the picture of the previous owners were still there. The location is great for this Guest House but that is all it seems to have going for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarisB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a lovely little place this is! The location, price and room were lovely and we were very happy to stay there for 3 nights last week. Wish I could give a five but the welcome was underwhelming to say the least (we didnt even get a hello from the girl who opened the door) but this wouldnt stop us from going back! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank m811hew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Situated in a quiet street, yards from 2 major bus routes in Edinburgh and close to bars and restaurants.

We had one of the basement rooms, it was quite small but adequate for our needs and was clean, warm and comfortably furnished with extra bedding available if we needed it.
The only down side for me was that the wifi was not available late at night or early in the morning I think it must shut off when the owners close their computer down and I would have liked to have had it available in the morning certainly for checking things like opening times/prices attractions, bus routes.

If ever we get to visit Edinburgh again though I would consider this hotel before all others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaSmarties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights, and it was a really great, family owned hotel. For people who travel on a budget, this affordable hotel is well worth the prize. Located nearby the Omni Center, it's situated only 5 minutes from Edinburghs city center. Many nice restaurants nearby also. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNordbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days at the end of November/beginning of December. The price was UNBEATABLE (£203 total for 2 people staying 5 nights) for only a 10 minute walk from Princes Street. We stayed in the smaller Lower Back Ground room, which was quiet, cosy and warm. The window peeks out onto a small stone courtyard. Not luxury, but perfectly good. The bathroom was clean and the nicely-sized shower was hot with decent pressure. The negatives about this room are that you can't connect to the free Wifi (ever) and that the mattress is dreadfully uncomfortable; you can feel every spring. We solved the issue with the mattress by asking a member of staff for an additional thick duvet, which we put under the fitted sheet. After this the bed was comfortable enough.

Staff were friendly, responded to emails quickly, picked up the phone, and were accommodating about letting us leave our luggage there during our last day. They didn't clean our room or change any of the linens, but this was fine with us - better for the environment! Access was through a pin-pad system, which we really loved.

Just to note - we mistakenly thought that breakfast was included. (It's not.) Also, there was no fridge in the room for us to keep any cold food.

We would definitely stay there again, but probably in a different room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aphidxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Lyncliff Hotel
#192 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#145 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#372 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#151 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#161 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Guest House

Property: Lantern Guest House
Address: Lantern House | 3 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lantern Guest House is set up as 3 mini apartments, combining historic Georgian tradition with modern features such as pin code entry and high speed wifi.Very close to the city centre hub around the Playhouse, Omni Centre and Tram terminus, also close to Waverley Rail Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lantern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Hotel Edinburgh
Lantern Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing