We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment in great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Living Room Time to relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Bedroom (with bed made up as a kingsize)
Living Room
Time to relax
Living room
Living Room
Living Room
Refreshment
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
The apartment has a funky Scottish interior style!
Kitchen
Kitchen  ... a well stocked home from home!
Kitchen
Our guests can expect a warm welcome!
Kitchen
Kitchen
Halls
Halls
Bath Room
Bath Room
Bath Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Entrance
Garden
Coffee and croissants in the south facing courtyard
Garden
Street
Welcome! ~ Ceud mìle fàilte ... 'A hundred thousand welcomes' (Scot's Gaelic)
Hall
Hall
Bedroom ... with bed made up as a kingsize
Bedroom made up as two single beds
Comfortable accommodation ... Egyptian cotton bedlinen and fluffy towels!
Spacious Living room
Fireplace
Stylish comfort ... and a wee dram to welcome our guests!
Leather sofa .... which is easily made into a double bed
Funky Scottish interior styling!
Kitchen with breakfast bar looking out onto quiet and leafy, cobbled lane
In the bathroom
Contemporary bathroom with shower over
Comfortable and relaxed atmosphere ...  in Edinburgh's historic New Town!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Marianne...
1 review
“Excellent apartment in great location”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The apartment is a real gem and lived up to the excellent reviews. It felt like staying in the home of a thoughtful generous friend rather than a holiday rental.
Information and sugestions from Stuart helped to make our trip to Edinburgh stress free and very enjoyable. A slightly more supportive mattress for a good nights sleep and it would have been perfect!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you so much for leaving a review. We love that you thought it was like staying with a friend rather than a holiday rental. We pride ourselves on ensuring that our guests are able to relax as soon as they arrive and we are happy to help with any questions you have regarding your stay in Edinburgh. Thank you for recommending us to others, we would be really happy to welcome you again in future! S&W x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect 2nd Stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot add what has been said before. We have stayed in this fantastic apartment before and cannot praise how much we really enjoy our stay here. It is still the same spotless cozy apartment and that is what we like after coming home each day sightseeing. We love: the bed - don't want to get out of it; the bathroom especially the powerful shower; the kitchen for making our little drinkies and the living room seating - we now have our own special comfy chairs to sit in - bliss. Other half likes the nip of whisky that is left. We didn't manage to enjoy the treats left this time but no doubt we will when we come back next time. Although we didn't have a heatwave this time we were fortunate to have a few dry and warm days. Please book this apartment - it will not disappoint.

Thanks Wendy and Stuart - see you next time.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you so much for leaving a review of your second stay with us ... we are delighted you found everything perfect once again. And we love the fact you have made 28a your special 'home from home.' It's lovely to think of you both enjoying fixing drinks and relaxing in your comfy chairs! It was also very nice to meet you briefly on this visit. You know we are here for you when you want to return to Edinburgh .... and please don't forget to bring the heatwave! S&W x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
878annah
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous flat”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in Stuart and Wendy's lovely flat for 4 nights. As soon as we walked in, we knew we had made a great choice. It's beautifully decorated in a way that combines the best of traditional and modern, comfortable, light and spacious. Stuart and Wendy have made it feel like a home from home. We particularly appreciated the extra touches, like the quality of the bedding, towels and soaps and the welcoming bottle of prosecco next to a glass dome filled with Tunnocks wafers and teacakes! It felt like a privilege to be staying there. They were also really helpful and kind, and answered any questions very promptly. The kitchen is well equipped, with a breakfast bar big enough for two to sit alongside each other. If there were 4 of you, it would be difficult to eat together, as there's no table.
Cumberland St is quiet and about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre. It could be a problem if you have difficulty walking uphill, but fine for most and it's a nice route. There's a really nice pub called the Cumberland Bar just on the corner, and several good restaurants a few minutes walk away.
I will definitely recommend Stuart and Wendy's flat to my friends and would be delighted to go back there next time I stay in Edinburgh.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review! Our aim is always to ensure our guests feel at home as soon as they arrive, and we think that the key to that is quality, comfort …. and a little bit of spoiling! We have taken account of your comments regarding a table and now have a fold down table and seating for 4 stored in the apartment in case guests like to sit at a table! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we would love to welcome you again! S&W x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrictlyG...
1 review
“Beautiful apartment in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location to explore Edinburgh, 15 min walk up the hill to the city center or down the hill to the Botanic Gardens. Royal Yacht Britannia a short cab ride away, all of which are excellent days out. Beautiful apartment to come home to, spotlessly clean, homely and comfy. Local shops on your doorstep for provisions, also bars and cafes nearby. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you so much for leaving feedback. We are delighted you had a great stay and also enjoyed the location … we believe the apartment offers the best of everything Edinburgh can offer - peacefully set within the UNESCO world heritage site but within walking distance of the busy city centre, and fashionable Stockbridge. We hope you will come back and stay with us again! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from a very enjoyable first visit to Edinburgh. Stuart & Wendys apartment is exactly as described. Very clean,spacious,comfy bed,fluffy towels,great location, quiet-exactly what we wanted for a great break. Would recommend Royal Edinburgh Ticket to visit all the attractions. Would love to stay in this apartment on a return visit to Edinburgh.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. We are very happy you enjoyed Edinburgh and left such lovely comments about the apartment! We pride ourselves on our high standards and our reward is knowing you have had a great time. We would be delighted if you chose to stay with us again! W&S x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny L
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Edinburgh ”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Hi stuart and Wendy , We have literally just arrived home after 5days stay at your apartment, We both loved the homely feel of your apartment. Also thanks for the sweets , and the bubbly . The apartment was neat and tidy and decorated to a high standard . The are itself was easy to access all that edinburgh has to offer, We have very much fallen in love with the place and we will definitely be back , for another stay soon , Also we may end up moving here to edinburgh as we loved the city so much and the locals at the Cumberland bar were very warmly welcoming and a great place to relax with a few pints .
Kindest regards and thanks again
Mr and Mrs Little

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you for leaving this wonderful review! We also love the Cumberland Bar - they do a great Sunday lunch ... and some delicious real ales! Although situated in Edinburgh (an iconic and beautiful city) our little area of the New Town has a friendly and village-like feel to it, especially if you explore surrounding Stockbridge, or a walk to nearby Botanic Gardens and Water of Leith. We hope you return, and you know where we are if you need to book again! Thanks again, S&W x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K
1 review
“fabulous apartment.”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

15 min walk to main shopping areas, a bit further to Royal Mile. Apartment is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and modern, everything you need is there, with some little extras, very much appreciated. Decoration is tasteful and well done.Can't praise it enough. Bus stop, Tesco, bars and restaurants are 2 min away, can't go wrong. Good position.Highly recommended, from three friends who are extremely picky. Will definitely return.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
We are really pleased you enjoyed staying at 28A Cumberland St. We've worked hard to make it a place our guests will love staying in so much that they'll come back to stay again! Our aim is to provide practical accommodation with a touch of luxury, whilst situated close to many of Edinburgh's attractions. Thanks very much indeed for your feedback - we hope to welcome you again in future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing