We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing Cold Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandilands Guest House
Ranked #148 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this guest house at the end of November beginning of December 2012. We booked the twin room which was on the ground floor. We had not had a very good journey as half an hour out of Kings Cross someone jumped in front of the train. We should have arrived in Edinburgh at 2:15 but arrived at 6:15. It was pouring down with rain and we waited nearly 3/4 of an hour for a cab. I had made 2 phone calls to the guest house regarding the delay and our progress, nobody bothered to answer the phone. When we eventually arrived, we had to call out a number of times and keep ringing the bell. We could see Maureen sitting there with her cup of tea but she ignored us. John eventually appeared and started moaning about his wife wanting to go out and I pointed out that I had phoned twice and nobody answered the phone. Actually, we were quite worried and not sure anyone would be there to check us in.
The room was quite nice but freezing cold and the bathroom was really poky but was a lot warmer. One of the lamps didn't work so I went out to see if I could get a lightbulb, I was ignored. After much moving of lamps and exchanging of light bulbs we discovered that the socket didn't work! I found another one behind my bed that did work and we used that. They weren't very good at replenishing the tea and coffee either. The biscuits you had no hope of being replaced.
The room was freezing cold at all times, so much so that when we were there we sat in bed with jumpers and scarfs on. The breakfast was ok but not a lot of it.
On the Monday when we were due to leave John asked us if we had been warm enough and I told him the room was freezing and that the radiator didn't appear to be working properly. He went away and came back with what looked like a football rattle and was waving that around. He maintained that this told him the temperature of the room. He did this a couple of times and told us that the temperature had gone down. I think it was 17 degrees C in the room. I don't think it was helped by secondary glazing.
It had been snowing as well but they didn't grit the steps or the driveway which was on a slope.
I would not receommend this place, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 30 Dec to 1 Jan 13. We are really glad we found this wee gem. We are just back from a lovely stay there. On arrival we were given a warm welcome by owner John who was v nice. He offered info on local area and transport etc. We stayed in room 4 which is a nice light room and we were glad to find our room and rest house v clean. Traditional decor with a comfy cosy feel - like stayin at ur Aunt & Uncles! John made an effort with all the guests, taking time to chat to them at breakfast, showing an interest in where they were from, what they'd like to do during visit. He even wore his kilt etc on Hogmanay which im sure was for the benefit of the American and Brazillian guests, and prob added to their experience of visiting Scotland at New Year. The guest house is in a good spot too. Around £8 for a private taxi into city centre, decent public transport, and practically a straight road to town if u like a bit of a walk. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return.
By Mr & Mrs Norman, Glasgow.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carriexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The wife and i stayed for 3 nights at the end of August to take in the tattoo and the festival. The Sandilands was a perfect place to stay. We were given a warm welcome on arrival. Given an information pack telling us about transport and attractions which was very handy. Our room (No.1) was a good sized room. It had a compact but very good en-suite. The double bed was fine. It had all we needed. Breakfast was plentyful. A good choice of starters and a tastey full english done to your requirements. We also had two after 1 am returns but this was no problem. Plus due to Sandilands being in a nice area we were able to walk back in the early hours feeling perfectly safe. There were still buses at this time but we enjoyed the walks. We had no problems during our stay and would certainly sta there again. Thanks John and Maureen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickmannock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A fine stay at Sandilands where the hosts were friendly & jovial with plenty of advice on the area if required.
Rooms were clean & tidy and ample choice at breakfast. Although slightly out of centre it was right on the main bus route into town with pick up stop right outside.

All in all a good stay and I will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is our second stay at Sandilands and we were delighted that the high standards experienced on our first trip were maintained on our second. John and Maureen give a warm and friendly welcome to their home. The rooms are clean and comfortable and are decorated beautifully. There is plenty of choice for breakfast all of which is delicious. The location couldn't be more perfect being close to the centre of Edinburgh. Thank you for being so helpful to us during our stay and for treating my Mum like the Queen. It made her and our holiday extra special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in July. Overall 4 star review.

Good points: Nearby walking distance to town centre, clean room, hot breakfast, Mrs Sandilands very informative about bus routes and local attractiuons, very helpful. Useful leaflets in reception area.

Not so good areas: Prior to arriving phoned to check what time we could ' check in' from. Mr Sandilands informed us that we had to give a precise time of arrival as he wouldn't wait in all day for us, we explained that we were travelling at least 5 hours and couldnt predict the traffic,however he still wanted us to predict the time. We did however arrive bang on time!
When we arrived at 2pm as requested, however found no one at reception, rang bell and buzzer without any joy, wondered around the reception, in the end having to ring the b and b from inside the b and b to get key and info (however there was road works outside that did down out the buzzer system)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A very enjoyable stay-we had the family room for 3 nights and found the accommodation very comfortable and John and Maureen great hosts.On arrival we had a warm welcome and John was very helpful in advising us on bus routes and other tips.

Sandilands is conveniently located within 15 minute walk of Edinburgh centre and Murrayfield Stadium. Bus routes to most other places are very close.

A good breakfast was provided and tea/coffee facilities topped up daily.There was a small fridge in our room that we found useful.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Village Hotel Edinburgh
#66 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,500 reviews
Blinkbonny House
#67 of 393 in Edinburgh
124 reviews
Acer Lodge Guest House
#69 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
714 reviews
Classic Guest House
#58 of 393 in Edinburgh
277 reviews
Sonas Guest House
#23 of 393 in Edinburgh
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandilands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandilands Guest House

Address: 25 Queensferry Road | Ravelston, Edinburgh EH4 3HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandilands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John and Maureen Sandilands extend a warm welcome to you at Sandilands House, a distinctive and charming bungalow of great character built in 1930 to high specifications. Enjoy our excellent and recognised Scottish friendly B and B service in our quality, traditional and comfortable Guest House. Our central location with free off street car parking is an ideal base for our visitors to explore the city attractions effortlessly. We are just one mile from the city West End, on a direct excellent bus service or 15 mins walk to City Centre. Also close by are Royal Botanical Gardens, Murrayfield Rugby Stadium, Art galleries etc. Edinburgh Airport is just a 20 minute tram or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Sandilands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandilands Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing