We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandilands Guest House
Ranked #173 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Had a lovely 2 day stay at Sandilands.
Very clean and tidy and breakfast was so good. The host cooked me an early breakfast on sunday esp, so that i could do my charity work early.
I find with these hosts they are as helpful and welcoming as you are to them !!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    24
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
52
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2011

lovely room with very comfortable four poster bed, nice breakfasts and friendly staff who go above and beyond to help. Nice walk into the city through Dean Village. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelProu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We are a couple from Spain and we stayed for 2 days ay this marvelous house and I would recommend it to everyone!!
First of all, when we arrived, the Sandilands gave us the kindest welcome ever! they are helpful, friendly and you feel like you were at home.
The rooms are very clean, confortable and the breakfast was excellent!!!
Of course this B&B is perfect if you want to visit Edinburgh and its only 15 min to the city centre!
If we come back any time again we will be staying at The Sandilands again. We would like to give thanks to John & Maureen for being so special during our stay.
Maria & Pedro xxx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 899MARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were guests at Sandilands Guest House with our little daughter and we were welcomed very warmly and friendly. The room was excellent and very clean. We felt very comfortable. At breakfast you can choose full scottish breakfast, but there is also toast with cheese, honey and jam and also cereals, fruits and yogurt. Very good and rich breakfast. A bus stop is right outside the door and it only takes about 10 minutes to get into he Princess Street. We will come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen13_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is the 6th time i have stayed at this great b and b.It is very clean and good value for money.Easy to get to the city center ( 10 min by bus). The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is also of a very high standard.
I have found the owners very friendly and always helpful.
I will be going back again in Dec and would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: 4 poster bed room upstairs.. Great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Great location - 15 minute to the centre of town. Very clean, good bed, nicely decorated, excellent breakfast and very accommodating hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashgrove01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston,sc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My sister and I took our much-anticipated trip to Scotland. She did the planning and happened upon The Sandilands Guesthouse on visitscotland.com. We had a marvelous visit. John and Maureen were welcoming without being intrusive. Our room was quiet, clean, and pretty. Breakfast was delicious. A full Scottish breakfast is offered as well as many kinds of granola and fruit, all served in a lovely front room. John was a fount of information, helping us with bus routes and sight-seeing tips. The guesthouse is across the street from a major bus stop and is only 15 minutes from Waverly Station. I recommend The Sandilands Guesthouse without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stetsonalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Blinkbonny House
Blinkbonny House
#80 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bield B&B
Bield B&B
#58 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martin's Guest House
Martin's Guest House
#97 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abbotsford Guest House
Abbotsford Guest House
#95 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#41 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandilands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandilands Guest House

Property: Sandilands Guest House
Address: 25 Queensferry Road | Ravelston, Edinburgh EH4 3HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandilands Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John and Maureen Sandilands extend a warm welcome to you at Sandilands House, a distinctive and charming bungalow of great character built in 1930 to high specifications. Enjoy our excellent and recognised Scottish friendly B and B service in our quality, traditional and comfortable Guest House. Our central location with free off street car parking is an ideal base for our visitors to explore the city attractions effortlessly. We are just one mile from the city West End, on a direct excellent bus service or 15 mins walk to City Centre. Also close by are Royal Botanical Gardens, Murrayfield Rugby Stadium, Art galleries etc. Edinburgh Airport is just a 20 minute tram or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandilands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandilands Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing