We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, convenient and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Overseas League
Ranked #26 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and great value”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The ROSL is located just off St. James' Street and close to Green Park station. Despite the very central location, it's very quiet and such a convenient place to stay.

Rooms have recently been renovated and are all comfortable and well appionted. The old "Buttery" has also been renovated and has a varied and good menu.

Staff are all very friendly and welcoming. All in all, a really convenient place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    126
    52
    25
    6
See reviews for
39
154
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lothian
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband & I returned to Royal Overseas for our 1st anniversary. Again we could not fault it. The service is still excellent. The staff are always helpful and the breakfast is superb. We can't wait to come back. :-)

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a castle view room. The view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We got a last minute room deal to stay there last night. It was a lovely relaxing hotel, very friendly staff and everything we needed. Great location for everything we wanted, and were able to leave our bags there before and after checkin and check out till we left Edinburgh this afternoon. Breakfast was excellent, nothing we can fault! Would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiarose27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have just returned from a conference held annually at the Royal OverSeas League in Edinburgh. I stayed in one of the ROSL's comfortable suites with a spectacular view of the castle. The managers Daniel and Colin were efficient, kind and welcoming. They and all the staff took great care of all our delegates over the course of two days. The food is very good and our gala dinner on Saturday evening was fabulous.
Excellent service, good value for money and a brilliant location. Until next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDBundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I decided to treat myself and go to Edinbourgh for a few days and found this hotel right in front of the castle . Everything was so near so handy so beautiful. The staff has been very helpful in every occasion, first rate really. I'm looking forward to going back again, hope next year if they 'll have us again. I've no words to describe the quality and variety of the breakfast soooooo Scottish
like the person in attendance who we 'like to thank again for having made us so comfortable

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had an Itison deal for two nights bed & breakfast with prosecco afternoon tea at this hotel. We have bought quite a few if these deals but this one has topped the lot. The location itself is exceptional for a start. Our room was the Castle Suite, this room has views looking over Princes street & the castle. The room even had a 42" flatscreen tv. Our afternoon tea was very nice and the Prosecco was delicious. Every breakfast item is available from bacon & eggs to cereals & fruit. Full narks to all the staff especially the lady who checked us in & of course Michael, the really helpful and friendly guy in the restaurant. Although we enjoyed our break very much I must also say that the hotel is in need of some refurbishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne311247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAISLEY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Visited the ROL on an Itison deal, which included bed, breakfast and afternoon champagne tea. The hotel is superbly located on Princes Street with fantastic views of the Castle and the Old Town. Decor is a bit tired and could do with upgrading, but the place was clean and comfortable, and the staff were extremely friendly. Afternoon tea was excellent as was breakfast (kippers and poached eggs) The only negative was that on returning around ten o'clock at night the bar was closed up due to lack of customers, which was a disappointment. Would certainly return without hesitation

Room Tip: Ask for a Castle facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMOPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Overseas League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Overseas League

Property: Royal Overseas League
Address: 100 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Overseas League 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest rooms available to members and member-referrals. Function rooms for Conferences, Weddings and Dinner or Lunch parties are available to non-members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Overseas League reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Overseas League Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing