We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Overseas League
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Rabble Rooms(Edinburgh)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Pool
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      Reviews (352)
      Filter reviews
      352 results
      Traveler rating
      117
      138
      59
      27
      11
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      117
      138
      59
      27
      11
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsprinces streetedinburgh castleopposite the castlecastle viewbreakfast roombit datedkippersbottled watercentral locationbreakfast was excellentnoisy at nightfresh fruitamazing locationsingle roomstayed here for one nightwould highly recommend this hotelthird floor
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      239 - 244 of 352 reviews
      Reviewed April 25, 2013

      We stayed at the ROSL in December,2012 when Edinburgh was in the grip of (being from the South coast) arctic conditions. We were supplied with a convector heater as the radiators were not working which made the air very dry but was warm enough. The breakfast was ok, though not as good as last time I stayed and if you like kippers be be aware that they will not be fillited. Having said all this the place has a charm like no other, it is old and quirky and the view, when the scaffolding is down is really superb. Work seems to be in progress and I am sure due to the hotels wonderful location and staff that anyone staying here will enjoy the expecience.

      Room Tip: Pay the extra for a front facing room. You will look directly at the castle and over Princes Street gardens..
      • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Ang54
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 3, 2013

      Loved my overnight stay in this Hotel. The staff were lovely and very helpfull, breakfast excellent and the room was good with a view overlooking the Castle. If you are looking for a city centre location then this Hotel is a great choice, we really couldn't fault it.

      • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank katrina c
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed March 31, 2013

      Just returned from a one night stay today using an itison voucher. Excellent value for money located right in middle princes street. We had a front facing room view of castle but as previous reviews stated was obscured by scaffolding which is meant to be finished by June.We were given a set three course menu which was included in the deal but although all food was lovely presented was not really to our choice, you could pay extra to have steaks. Starters were very limited and mostly fish, ie cullin skink soup raw tuna and sweetbreads on crispy cakes kinda things def not my taste. Main meal again was salmon, beetroot risotto, and guinnea fowl, puddings were fine and again lovely presented. I just felt the menu had nothing of a plainer fare on it but it may suit other people and as stated couldn't fault if it was things I had liked and there didn't seem to be any other choices.Breakfast was excellent fruit juices tea coffee toast and lots of different choices cooked to order The staff from waiters right to reception and night porter were all lovely and friendly..I note other reviews stated no bath, but we had a bath with an over bath shower and lovely toppers on bed for comfort although the bed was two pushed together which I found a bit strange but you didn;t notice that too much
      We took the car with us and parked at network rail carpark behind waverly station where it is £4 for 24 hours overnight when booked online. From there it was a ten minute walk to hotel We would def stay here again and highly recommend but would only go bed and breakfast next time and miss out the dinner.

      Room Tip: once scaffolding is down front rooms have lovely view of castle.
      • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank letitia114
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed March 26, 2013

      What a lovely curious hotel....almost like a strange time warp. Location location location....who needs that nasty old horseless carriage when you are within 5 min walk of waverley train station...and if you bother to research your intended accwomodation they advertise clearly that car parking is unavailable and unwarranted...the staff were perfecly polite and the food wonderful. The building has a faded quaint glory, though undergoing extensive renovation, regardless our room was very clean and cosy, the
      scaffolding was really not a concern. My confession being the time of year
      and renovation work was most likely what put this glorious gem of a hotel within our budget for a 2 night stay in the city utilising a groupon offer. We
      will definately go back, hopefully for a longer period of time. Credit where credit is due...rosl is an oasis of good manners and quality in a sea of mediocre hotels,depending on glitzy foyers and robotic bored staff . Well done...i am tempted to declare "tally ho chaps, make mine a g and t "




      :D

      • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      4  Thank craigandpatricia
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed March 21, 2013

      In the middle of Prince's Street so great for shopping, sightseeing, etc. Airport bus stop about 50 metres from the door. Unfortunately they have taken away the one which was almost opposite the hotel for the return trip and it now involves a walk to outside Waverley station, about 6-700 metres. IF they ever finish the trams hopefully there will be convenient stops near the hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable but a bit old fashioned. Renovations going on to the outside of the building so the normally great view of the Castle was partially obscured by the scaffolding. I understand that the antique lift is to be replaced by a new one soon which will be great as it is a little difficult to hold door open, push grill back and load suitcase into it. Scottish breakfast is superb with juices, grapefruit, etc on buffet and freshly cooked hot food served along with toast.

      • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank scs8918
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews