We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the heart of edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Overseas League
Ranked #44 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a lovely curious hotel....almost like a strange time warp. Location location location....who needs that nasty old horseless carriage when you are within 5 min walk of waverley train station...and if you bother to research your intended accwomodation they advertise clearly that car parking is unavailable and unwarranted...the staff were perfecly polite and the food wonderful. The building has a faded quaint glory, though undergoing extensive renovation, regardless our room was very clean and cosy, the
scaffolding was really not a concern. My confession being the time of year
and renovation work was most likely what put this glorious gem of a hotel within our budget for a 2 night stay in the city utilising a groupon offer. We
will definately go back, hopefully for a longer period of time. Credit where credit is due...rosl is an oasis of good manners and quality in a sea of mediocre hotels,depending on glitzy foyers and robotic bored staff . Well done...i am tempted to declare "tally ho chaps, make mine a g and t "




:D

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craigandpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 347 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

In the middle of Prince's Street so great for shopping, sightseeing, etc. Airport bus stop about 50 metres from the door. Unfortunately they have taken away the one which was almost opposite the hotel for the return trip and it now involves a walk to outside Waverley station, about 6-700 metres. IF they ever finish the trams hopefully there will be convenient stops near the hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable but a bit old fashioned. Renovations going on to the outside of the building so the normally great view of the Castle was partially obscured by the scaffolding. I understand that the antique lift is to be replaced by a new one soon which will be great as it is a little difficult to hold door open, push grill back and load suitcase into it. Scottish breakfast is superb with juices, grapefruit, etc on buffet and freshly cooked hot food served along with toast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scs8918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked two nights at this hotel with our Groupon Voucher and were not disappointed. It is ideally situated overlooking Edinburgh Castle for the beautiful views and Princess Street for shopping. When we arrived the receptionist quickly dealt with our booking and we were in room 7 which was at the back of the hotel but not a problem as we were only there for a short time. We could have upgraded for extra but as we intended to go exploring it was not important to us to have the Castle View. First impression was a old fashioned hotel and the lift with the idea of opening the door and pulling back the metal sliding door took us back to old times however when we arrived in our room we were pleasantly surprised as it was very spacious with all mod cons. Tea making facilities, biscuits and bottled water (all included in the price) the bathroom was lovely too and shower gel, shampoo, moisturiser and hand wash all there. The nicest surpise was to come later. The feather topped mattress on the bed was so comfortable and we just melted into the relaxing sleep we have not experienced in some hotels. Our deal was bed and breakfast in the restaurant which overlooks the Castle (not affected by the scaffolding) and what a view! awesome! We also had a few beers in the bar and although the evening meal in the restaurant was quite pricey, they served reasonably priced food in the bar. We thorough enjoyed our few days and if I go back though I would definately pay the extra for the view alone.

Room Tip: If you want the castle view please ensure that you get the right room number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romacaldwell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cracking location for shopping, buses stop directly outside and plenty of quaint and smart restaurants, cafe bars in adjacent streets [ i.e. George St, Frederick St, Queen St] Extremely comfy beds, enhanced by soft downy toppers. We heard little noise from traffic below [ were on the 4th floor] apart from the odd siren and buses revving up at 6am. No heating working in room 12 and after 3 requests we were supplied with a small convector heater which did the job. Wholesome large Scottish breakfasts saw us through for most of the day and it was a pleasure to sit looking out of the vast plate glass window across to Edinburgh castle each morning! Wow!!
Friendly and very helpful staff made this small hotel the ideal location for a short break.
Currently builders and workmen abound inside/outside during the daytime. I would suggest be very careful what you're wearing [ or not as the case may be ] when opening the window blinds in the morning, due to workmen pottering on the scaffolding at the front! AAArgh!

Room Tip: Fab views at the front particularly 4th and 5th floors, currently views of the castle are visualised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Over-Seas League on February 17th and18th February 2013 for the first time, using a Groupon voucher. We were having a short city break, without a car, and choose the ROSL because of its prime city centre location. We booked our room well in advance and were able to reserve a front facing room [number 2 ] from which we were rewarded with an iconic view of the floodlit castle and illuminated city scape of the buildings on the Royal Mile. The view was somewhat obstructed by scaffolding for essential maintenance but we had been advised of this at the time of booking. The hotel [ although in reality this is a members club] is rather dated but set against this our room was large, comfortable and the cooked breakfast in the restaurant was truly excellent. All this with the Princes Street location and view [from the front rooms and restaurant] will help make your city stay memorable.

Room Tip: Book early to reserve a front facing room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is in a very good central location and would be suitable for anyone travelling by bus or train. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite and had spectacular view over Princes street gardens to the Castle. Food in restaurant was excellent quality. Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. We got the nights stay and meals as a gift from family and I think it may have been through a 'special deals package which would make the meals and accommodation good value for money.

Room Tip: The 'suites' appear to be to the front of the hotel overlooking the castle. Princes Street c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Located right opposite the castle on Princes Street, the hotel is a little dated inside and certainly appeals more to an older clientel, but apart from that the hotel is excellent. The room and restaurant both had views of the castle, and the room was clean and modern and light with a large bathroom. My only issue with the room was that it had no fridge and the bathroom had no bath, even though there was room for both. The staff were very friendly and courteous, and the food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious. Would definitely recommend this hotel to any potential visitors to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
934 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,133 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Overseas League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Overseas League

Address: 100 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 3AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $88 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Overseas League 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest rooms available to members and member-referrals. Function rooms for Conferences, Weddings and Dinner or Lunch parties are available to non-members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Overseas League reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Overseas League Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing