We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #119 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pleasantly surprised when we arrived to this hotel, to find a beautiful venue with a pub and very decent food. Then got to our room and was over the moon. It was fantastic!

We were in the King room, which for £125 a night on New Years eve was incredible. The beds were insanely comfortable. My only criticism is we couldn't get out of bed!! Will definitely be staying here in future when we come to Edinburgh.

Even though its a little bit away from the centre (ie not walking distance) There is a bus stop right outside which comes every couple of minutes and taxis were only £7 from Princes Street!

Oh and the complimentary breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymoussssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
48
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Usk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here at the end of sep 2012 not expecting very much. We found the room to be clean which was a surprise as these places - very busy that is - frequenntly feel "worn". The staff were all very friendly and helpful despite us having to change arrangements three times. The bar was open late but we heard no noise at all and the biggest surprise was breakfast. It is a very long time since we had a cooked breakfast as we usualy go for the scrambled/poached eggs on toast but tried the Scotish breakfast. It was excellent - no grease and all very good quality ingredients, instead of a pile of stuff to make it look impressive we had a good helping of bacon, sausage, blackpudding with beans and an egg cooked how you want. I'd definately go there again. My only crit is that the charging light in the emergency lighting unit was too bright but there's always going to be something.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefiremon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. We had room 2 which is at the front and is MASSIVE! It had huge tv, DVD player, dvd's, large bathroom and DAB radio! Only downside to the room was the shower was a bit old and not too powerful and the shower cubicle could do with a bleach.

The staff were attentive, chatty, polite and nothing was too much trouble.

The menu is great value for money and food was excellent.

This place is only a ten minute bus ride from the centre of Edinburgh.

Overall, this place is great and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire-connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Although only having six rooms this is a star place, rooms clean spacious, quiet, plenty of extras, serviced each day.Staff very helpful and pleasant, bar and Resturant good ambiance and food extra special. Breakfast, with Haggis!, a dream.
Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms ok but 5 and 6 away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My friends and wife and I stopped at the Hampton Hotel for 1 night after finding it as a last minute deal online. We were out clubbing in Edinburgh and needed a cheap hotel room for the night. We all stopped in the family room (4 adults) which consisted of a double bed and 2 bunks. We only paid the bargain rate of £69. We thought this was rate was room only but the hotel offered us breakfast for the following morning. The room was clean and beds very comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and friendly. When I arrived at the hotel the car park was full but they went out their way to get me a parking space. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was lovely and excellent value for money and the breakfast was fantastic and just what we needed after a heavy night of partying. Will definetly use this hotel again and will be recommending it to others! Thank you Hampton Hotel!

Room Tip: Eat in the hotel restaurant. Good food and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my Nana on a trip to see the Tattoo. The hotel is located on the edge of the city. Although the fit could walk into the centre in I guess 45 mins .. if your not so good on your legs then I would suggest a taxi. The hotel staff were really nice and helpful. They were more than happy to organise a taxi for us to get to the tattoo. The twin room we stayed in was HUGE!!! Lovely decor nice and clean lots of useful things shower gel, shampoo, tea coffee, trouser press, iron and bored! The breakfast was fantastic, we had a full Scottish breakfast which was more than enough and very tasty indeed especially the haggis sausages! The beds were comfy there was a tv and a radio etc and two pillows which is always a bonus. Lovely location, lovely room but very noisy on a night time from the outside traffic. All the hotels along this road are on a main road and there is not let up on the noise of the traffic. Even with the windows shut the noise still woke me up. However, if you dont mind the sound of traffic then it wont bother you. The windows could do with double glazing to make this place a truely wonderful hotel. I would go back, but id try to get a room round the back if possible.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back of the hotel or on the side, front street is very noisy from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Moving from a camping barn, to a B&B then to a Hotel, the hotel faired less well in comparison. The family room is small. The ensuite has a shower. However the evening meal was good value and clearly a pleasant destination for a Saturday night. It is well located and there is a lovely walk into the city along the Leith, which you can break at the Modern Art Gallery (cafe there is good).

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alexis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,913 reviews
Murrayfield
Twin Lions Hotel
Twin Lions Hotel
#125 of 393 in Edinburgh
84 reviews
Blinkbonny House
#78 of 393 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Classic Guest House
#69 of 393 in Edinburgh
264 reviews
Corstorphine
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
#110 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#17 of 393 in Edinburgh
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 14 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing