We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would avoid.”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #351 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would avoid.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed for a night in adelphi hotel. Upon arrival there was no one on desk just bell to call someone . Waited for 10 min to pay fee and finally get the keys.
Room was average facing street. Wich was noisy. Of course strange smell and dust was another not soo embracing moment. Toilet was a mess and shower room with missing parts of wood in a wall. Squeaky floor and dust on a carpet. Before we left we went downstairs to check out and maintenance man ask us just leave the keys. No one to ask how everything was no one to say good bye to. Really happy that I stayed one night because I wouldn't stay there anymore. Never going back again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    22
    17
    40
See reviews for
14
39
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed on 20 of may over night and night was nightmare.
There whole hotel stinks of food plus smell of new white wash(don't mind),A not normal receptionist always in his room with the worst customers services quality.
The room smell of previous stayer (I have got good sense of smell :-)... ) it looks like duvet not been changed anyway smell of someone with with fats in his/her body stayed there, on my saying he had to chnage the duvet.
Toilet Ok But one toilet the whole hotel.
Booking.com don't show rating star signs by which I I got conceived and couldn't read reviews.

Would never go there.

Thanks

Jay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahanzeb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked the Adelphi for the Edinburgh Marathon Festival as everywhere else was full unless you were prepared to pay a fortune, and even then we paid £140 for a double room which in my opinion was worth about £30. It's not a very pleasant hotel - it smells a bit damp, mixed with the smell of paint, though where the fresh paint was, I've no idea. There's a skip full of rubbish in the front garden and my heart sank just on seeing the outside. Carpets are worn, wallpaper peeling, bathrooms (shared with 2 other rooms) filthy. I didn't feel safe - the hotel is noisy and the locks on the door flimsy and as a disabled guest, being up 2 floors wasn't good (though in fairness we booked the last room available out of desperation, they couldn't have offered me another room). In the event of a fire, I'd be in real trouble. I'll be glad to leave in the morning, and we're not staying for breakfast. Avoid this hotel wherever possible, it's just not good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

booked to stay here a couple of nights but after arriving realised it was a disgusting place and turned around and left. no refund even though they have very falsely advertised and no help from booking.com who falsely advertised for them, so will not be returning or using booking.com again and advise anyone reading this to do the same!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by an unhelpful Receptionist who blatantly ignored us and continued her mobile phone conversation. Eventually she got round to serving us only to tell us they had no record of our booking. Several telephone calls later she eventually sorted us out a room which she said was double and had en suite facilities. Lies, lies, lies. We complained and we're told that none of their rooms had en suite. Well why advertise en suite if you don't have it? The receptionist then offered us an en suite room at their sister hotel. We accepted. The room we eventually got was in a cellar with poor lighting. The en suite had no hot water and no plug on the wash hand basin. We put it down to experience and treated it purely as a place to get out heads down at the end of the night. Personally i'd have rather slept in a cardboard box on the street. On arrival back home we submitted a complaint through laterooms.com who we booked through and the hotel responded by saying the member of staff no longer worked there. No refund offered and no apology. It baffles me how these people are allowed to run a hotel. Shockingly bad

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

OK, the bed was clean and comfortable enough, and the (not powerful) shower was hot enough, but our room (two singles and a double bed) was horrid. The kettle and hair dryer worked, but the shutter-style window made us wonder if we could escape through it in case of a fire. Not that we'd want to try, as we'd have to jump into the abyss of what is some major sewer(?) work going on in front of and behind the building (there's a skip just outside the front entrance, full of rubbish). The professional photos on the hotel's site are quite misleading; this place is charmless. Black mold behind the bathroom sink, stained, horrid wallpaper. Worse than Faulty Towers. Read Sally Anne Y's "Don't stay here" review; she's spot on.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aberdeensooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The price you see, pay and result is not what you would expect. We were charged £150 for a horrible room. Shower was dribbling. Carpet looks nasty. Curtains urinated on. Resulted us not staying there at all. We checked in and come back and checked out. We were promised by a Lady called Prette that we would be refunding and having called today, the hotel is now saying that it was not there fault that we decided not to stay. I dont think they would pay £150 to stay in room number 8 themselves. Absolutely disgusting! Totally agree with Sally Anne.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan Xuan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cambridge House
#338 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Pillars House
#87 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
St Bernards House
St Bernards House
#341 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mackenzie Guest House
#127 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#153 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Leith House
#326 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 7 Links Gardens | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelphi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing