We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Edinburgh
Post
Inbox
Search

“A beautiful Scottish supper”

Makars Gourmet Mash Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 2/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #4 of 2,839 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Makars is an Edinburgh institution, a rare true independent operator that promotes local artisan producers and ethical behaviour. Makar’s food has been described as “an Edinburgh gem”, “a local culinary hero” and “simply the best in Edinburgh”. Makars receives rave reviews and many of our guests come back time and time again. Makars is a spectacle not to be missed when visiting Edinburgh. Famous around the world & a wee popular place with both visitors and locals alike. Eating at the award winning Makars should be enjoyed at a relaxed pace. We aim to make it the highlight of your day after all!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’d not really thought about writing a review of a place before so that is reflection of quality of the evening I had!

I started with a mini haggis neeps and tatties taster with creamy mash complimented well with a mustard gravy. I’d had a few bad experiences of haggis and this really bucked the trend!

For main I went for the lamb shank with bacon and chive mash (server recommendation) which really nicely complimented the melt off the bone lamb. As a mash place I wasn’t sure what to expect but it was 100% worth the visit.

If the food isn’t enough of a reason to visit the staff who work there are even more of a reason. My server (David) made an effort to make sure I was okay, taking an interest in what I was reading and why I was in Edinburgh whilst also taking time to help others find a bar to see live music or sitting with a Mexican family to understand all the different options available.

I would recommend this to anyone visiting Edinburgh, the very quaint venue attracting a mix of clientele including families, couples, friends and I could imagine it being a very cute place for a date idea too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank BrowMba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Agency / Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words. It’s fantastic to read you had such a good time with us and enjoyed everything your ordered. Kind regards, Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 130 of 4,517 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this place! Food was incredible, especially Scotch eggs and Haggis! Great service and atmosphere. Would strongly recommend giving this a go. Thanks guys!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Milliean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Agency / Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Food, atmosphere and service; it’s great to read you liked it all. Thank you very much for your review. Kind regards, Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I been there twice since november 2019. Every time food was delicious and really generous, staff were friendly and atmosphere lovely. And prices very reasonable. Had such a nice experience here . Special thanks to our waiter David. Professional, very helpful and charming!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H88ZA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Agency / Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

How marvellous to read you enjoyed your first visit so much you decided to come back. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Kind regards, Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our trip to Makers gourmet mash bar. Everything we had was delicious, and the portions were huge! I had a scotch egg & rosti (with a side of cheesy mash of course!) Also had a gin and rhubarb soda :)
Fantastic service from Adam as well.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Jennieh_loves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Agency / Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

How wonderful to read that everything you had was delicious. Thank you very much for taking the time to share that you like our food and service. Kind regards, Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very lovely restaurant! I have been here twice and they don’t disappoint. Charming and great staff, delicious food, and interesting vegetarian options. It’s a must when visiting Edinburg!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank lovisa97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Agency / Consultant at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It's lovely to read you enjoyed the food and service. Kind regards, Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makars Gourmet Mash Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Makars Gourmet Mash Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing