We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Edinburgh
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good wholesome food.”

Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound 1 & 2)
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 10/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #4 of 3,025 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Makars is an Edinburgh institution, a rare true independent operator that promotes local artisan producers and ethical behaviour. Makar’s food has been described as “an Edinburgh gem”, “a local culinary hero” and “simply the best in Edinburgh”. Makars receives rave reviews and many of our guests come back time and time again. We have two neighbouring buildings on the Mound, our original Makars Gourmet Mash restaurant bar for lively fun sit down lunches & dinners. Makars is a spectacle not to be missed when visiting Edinburgh. Famous around the world & a wee popular place with both visitors and locals alike. Eating at the award winning Makars should be enjoyed at a relaxed pace. We aim to make it the highlight of your day after all! Sometimes though, you just don't have that time to spare... BUT what to do??? I hear you sigh!!! Makars Mound 2 next door offers the same great food that you can either take out, eat in or even get delivered by our friends at Deliveroo.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and myself live in Fife and decided to head to Edinburgh to meet our daughter and we had decided to eat at this establishment a few days previously.
Seated with no problems and were promptly served by Micheal who turned to be a very efficient young man, decided on the wild boar sausages with the black pudding mash, both of which were absolutely delicious.
Reasonably priced super tasty food in the middle of pretentious Edinburgh, what’s not to like.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Johnsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Public Relations Manager at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound 1 & 2), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your kind words Johnston. I'm glad you had a good time with us and enjoyed the food and service.
Kind regards,
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 111 of 3,963 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited with friends from California and although it sounds expensive at £15 for sausage and mash it was delicious.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LancashireDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Public Relations Manager at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound 1 & 2), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed the food.
Kind regards,
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Happened to stumble upon this place on tripadvisor, the menu looked AMAZING. Right up my partners street and exactly what I fancied whilst visiting my home city. Such a great wee place with great decor and amazing service. As my partner is English, he had never tried haggis before (I know, so strange!) Makars offer a great wee starter of haggis, neeps and tatties- perfect for a beginner. My partner LOVED it and demanded we incorporate this into our weekly dinners. Thankyou for such a delightful evening Makars, and for serving exceptional grub!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 270jennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Public Relations Manager at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound 1 & 2), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Another haggis convert ! It's great to hear you and your partner had such a good experience with us. Thank you for leaving a review.
Kind regards,
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

if you love Mash this is for you, the place, food and staff are great, 3 of us visited Edinburgh for he weekend, we happened upon Makars, we will definitely return and recommend.
I had the horseradish mash with lamb shank, which just fell off the bone and melted in the mouth, the mash was just the right amount of horseradish. My friends had the Gammon, which also melted in the mouth, and the sausages, which were just as you would want a sausage, firm, meaty and tasty.
All in all and excellent meal.
David the waiter was brilliant too

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Expedition280696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Public Relations Manager at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound 1 & 2), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review. It's a pleasure to read you had a good time with us, enjoyed the food and the service.
Kind regards,
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed the mix and match menu at the restaurant! The onion gravy was delicious! Service was great.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank lollypsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macha_MGMB, Public Relations Manager at Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound 1 & 2), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, that’s fantastic to read.
Kind regards,
Macha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound 1 & 2) also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Makars Gourmet Mash Bar (Mound 1 & 2)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing