We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigelachie Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigelachie Hotel
Ranked #308 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at Craiglachie whilst visiting a local company at the end of June. Room 2a was fine & the breakfast was excellent (especially the fruit salad). All in all, good value especially for such a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berniespratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, Brazil
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I and my daughter stayed at the Craigelachie for two nights in June/2012 without previous reservation (there was a mix up at the internet service I used) and were accomodated in two rooms, 1 and 4. My room (1) was not big, but very comfortable, clean and quiet. My daughter's was small, but adequate. Bathrooms were clean and well provided with toiletries. A tea/coffee tray with all sorts of teas and coffee, sugar, sweetener and even Scotish shortbread was available. Breakfast was very good and well served on the first day. On the second, a Sunday, we would have to leave too early for breakfast, but the owner made coffee, tea and toast to us, so that we wouldn't leave on an empty stomach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor (20 and something steps). The ones on the second are quite a task...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great location if you don't have a car and are dependent upon Airlink and city buses. We arrived at 11 AM and just hoped to drop off our bags, but our room was ready and waiting for us - a great surprise after a long journey. Bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. Portions at breakfast were huge, and the quality was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I arrived back into the city of Ediburgh for one night before an early morning flight. I found this charming B&B right off the main Airlink bus route. My cozy room overlooked the quiet, cherry blosom street. The innkeeper was kind enough to leave me a breakfast waiting at 5am, even though I had no appitite that early. He was very kind and helpful for finding dinner nearby (fish and chips with brown sauce) and was very pleasant to chat with. I certainly would go back!

Room Tip: I would ask for a street view room. It had plenty of light and the street is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We were there during the football international was going on. Very charming BB with nice friendly staff. Rooms are tight but adequate, especially grateful that they had a room to accommodate a family of 4 with teenagers. Breakfast was simply wonderful, and they had great selection of starters including a big plate full of variety of fresh fruits. Only complain we had during the stay was that there was no hot water available. Occasionally we were able to take luke warm water shower, but there are times the water was too cold that we had to skip shower altogether. They also run out of shampoo/soap so we had to buy it. If there was hot water available, then rating would jump up to 5 instead of 3.

Room Tip: Bring your shampoo just in case. If you are not good at taking stairs too much, then ask for lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schatz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Arrived to a gracious welcome and was surprised at the quality of the hotel. Has large spacious rooms with all amenity's expected (even a nice cuppa). Great selection at breakfast with a friendly smiling host. Would defiantly visit again, time and time again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

A great place to stay. Very quiet, large and clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. and don't forget the kindenss of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enzo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Murrayfield
The Beverley
The Beverley
#66 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Hotel
#116 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
The Edinburgh Lodge
#110 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Murrayfield
Twin Lions Hotel
Twin Lions Hotel
#152 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigelachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigelachie Hotel

Property: Craigelachie Hotel
Address: 21 Murrayfield Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 6AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Craigelachie Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing