We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay - lovely clean place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gladstone House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gladstone House
Ranked #90 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great stay - lovely clean place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at gladstone house while at a conference in Edinburgh. My room was really nicely decorated and very clean. The owners of the place were very charming, warm and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious! Minor issue was that the room was cold during the day because its on a timer. So the one day when i stayed in the room during the day it was pretty cold but warms up once the heating comes on.
I would definitely recommend the place, but you may need to ask for the heating to be put on if you plan to stay in the room during the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berivan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Guesthouse and got a chance to see some of our beautiful city between conference events. You certainly got into Scottish culture with your enthusiasm for Ceilidhs. Hopefully your ankle is all better by now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
60
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a very pleasant 3-days stay at this loveley guesthouse. Our room was a very comfortable and beautiful room with garden view. Everything was perfectly cleaned. The owners are so friendly and helped us with any query. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast with a great offer of different breakfast menus. The town center is just 1,6 km away and can easily be reached by bus or by walking through a beautiful park. The owners provided us different routing instructions how to reach the city center. So we surely say that we can recommend this guesthouse to everyone and will stay there again when we will be in Edinburgh the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whatsaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words here and in our visitors book. We try to make sure that our guest get the very most out of their visit to our city and it is so pleasing to know when we have achieved this. Luckily the weather allowed you to make the most of our varied and we hope interesting walks to the Castle, Royal Palace etc. We are glad you enjoyed them. We hope you tour of the Highlands went well and we certainly look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Positives:
Nice furnishing/clean
Reasonable location

Negatives:

We felt that this place was generally unaccommodating, uncomfortable in terms of hosting skills and poor value for money. It felt like we were children at school and we were behaving badly and therefore being punished. We felt that the hosts had an attitude where they felt that their place was better than any other place and therefore they could dictate all rules and regulations without any flexibility or thought for their guests - their way or the highway. In fact we were paying quite a large amount of money for a "no-frills B&B"

I DID telephone to ensure that the hosts were fully aware of our late arrival with an estimated time. Host was fine with this on the phone. However upon arrival host seemed annoyed. I also had to pay the additional charge of late arrival DESPITE prior notification.

The following day my partner was surprised when the host notified her that she CANNOT be in the room between the hours of 11am and 1pm! When she explained that she was unaware of this, the host asked her whether she had read the note on the back of the door - as if she hadn't done her homework! As a result of this, she felt very unwelcome and uncomfortable in the room. For £100 per night we did not anticipate to feel this way.

The room was very cold. But by this stage we felt too uncomfortable to ask whether we can have the heating increased.

Breakfast was average. Times were limited between 8 and 9 (weekdays), (9.30 weekends). I asked for replacement of meat for an omelette but I was denied this but we were given an extra egg instead!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for the positives and the high score for cleanliness.

We are sad to read of your disappointment with your stay with us. When you booked with us, the agency site you used did state arrival times and that we reserve the right to charge for late arrivals. This was further made clear when we sent you our own booking confirmation. You did advise us the day before your arrival, that you would be arriving late. As a result we made a reduced charge despite the fact that you arrived after midnight, five and a half hours after our latest arrival time and over an hour after the time you arranged. We are sorry if your welcome was rather subdued and rushed but it was in the small hours of the morning and we did not want to disturb our other guests.

Where guests wish us to clean their rooms and refresh the complimentary drinks tray and toiletries we ask them to vacate their room between 11am and 1pm so that we can do this. When we spoke to your partner we did not even suggest that she leave the room, rather we confirmed that she was welcome to remain and we would leave cleaning of room to the following day. She seemed quite happy with this as she said that she did not actually expect us to clean the room at all.

We are sorry that you did not let us know that you had difficulties in regulating the central heating radiators in the room. If you had only said something at the time we could have investigated and done our best to find a solution.

We are surprised that you were disappointed with your breakfasts. When guests ask us to produce a meatless traditional breakfast, we generally suggest adding an extra egg. You seemed to be both happy with this suggestion at the time. We have 6 main items on the menu of which 3 are suitable for non-meat eaters (including an omelette) as well as a wide selection of fresh fruit salad, compote, dried fruit, cereals and juices. We are therefore at a loss as to why you feel you were not able to have an omelette especially as you had one for breakfast on the second day your stay.

We genuinely thought that you were enjoying yourselves during your stay. If you had only voiced your concerns at the time, we could have done something to put you at your ease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was watching a TV program that was set in Edinburgh and wanted to see if the B&B that I stayed at in 1996 was still there. Yes, it is and now has a website that brought back lovely memories. My friend and I found Gladstone House through the "I" station at Edinburgh rail station and were so lucky! Convenient located on a bus line that took us to central Edinburgh, this was one of the loveliest B&B's I've ever stayed in. Beautiful decor, wonderful atmosphere, very reasonable price and great food made me remember my experience there with pleasure. Any friends that have contemplated going to Edinburgh, I have recommended Gladstone House. It is one of only a few places that I've been in many trips to Europe that I found so charming that I always recommend it. Thanks again for a lovely stay 16 years ago... I had to put in one of the dates of travel, but the trip took place in July 1996. I'm not sure if this review will stay up, but I do hope the owners see it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaB394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
It is good to hear that your visit to our website brought back fond memories. You will have noticed a lot of changes since your last visit. We have made many improvements since you were here and the biggest achievement would be the award of another star by Visit Scotland (our Scottish tourist board) making us now a four star guesthouse. We would love for you to come back some time to see how it all looks now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at Gladstone House in November and have been meaning to write this review for a while. We stayed here on a two night break. We arrived early but we asked if we could leave the car and go for a walk until the check-in time, we did this and never used the car again until we left. Our room was at the back and very quiet which suited us. It was very clean and well equiped. Breakfasts were very good and hosts were really friendly and only too pleased to give any advice needed. In fact we enjoyed our chats. If you are thinking of going to Edinburgh, then give this place a go, it really is worth it. Tom and Hamish are excellent hosts and would like to thank them for a wonderful stay and wish them all the best.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your revue. We really do enjoy it when guests want to chat over breakfast. And you are right about not needing to use a car in Edinburgh. We often suggest to guests from abroad who are touring Scotland not to hire a car while with us, but instead to wait until they start their tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyleforD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderful accommodation in a good location for walking or getting the bus into the city Tom and Hamish were so helpful in telling us about what to do in the city. Breakfast set us up for the day and there were plenty of places to eat in the evening just a short walk away .Well recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and found our location to be a big bonus. We are fortunate to have such a variety of restaurants and pubs close by and interesting walks to many of Edinburgh’s attractions. We were only too happy to help you plan what you wanted to see and do. Thank so much for your enthusiastic recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Gladstone House in Edinburgh was a gift. A lovely turn of the century house with a large, light room. We arrived quite late and were able to walk to pubs close by for dinner.

The owners are meticulous in their care of the B&B, and breakfast was a delight. The Inn was located ~25-30 walking distance to central Edinburgh. A great choice for us.

Room Tip: We had a room right on Dalkeith Road, and we didn't hear the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for our guest house. We really like the title you chose. As you would probably have noticed, we really like our food. So, to us, a good breakfast is just as important as a clean, cosy room and comfy bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#75 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#54 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#26 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Property: Gladstone House
Address: 90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gladstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Gladstone House we offer our guests elegant four star bed and breakfast accommodation less than a mile from Edinburgh City Centre and within easy walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s historic and cultural "must see" locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Gladstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing