We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceeded expectations!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dene Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dene Guest House
Ranked #20 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exceeded expectations!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed for the night at the Dene on March 2nd. It was just for one night, but I have to admit our stay was so lovely, I wish we stayed for more days! As soon as we arrived, the owner Hamish greeted us and showed us to our room, which was cozy and homy, beautifully decorated, and with an amanzigly comfortable bed! We slept like babies that night. Next morning we went downstairs for a great breakfast, before going for a walk on our last day. The service provided was excellent, Hamish gave us advice on places we could visit during our short stay, and was extremely kind to us. That, and the fact that Edinburgh is such a beautiful city, are the reasons why we really want to go back someday, and I really hope we do! If you´re looking for a place to stay were you can feel like home.... No doubt about it, The Dene is the place you´re looking for!

Room Tip: Always make sure to have a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie_Moz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    93
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
112
77
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Even before I arrived, the service provided was memorable. The owner Hamish called me about 5pm to ask when I was planning to arrive, and to explain arrangements if I wanted to book in late. These were very flexible and helpful.

As the guest house was quiet, I was upgraded at no charge from single to twin, a lovely room with a spectacular print on the wall over the fireplace. The conversion to guest house is elegantly and simply done. My room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, and just down the hall from the shower/toilet. They too were nicely done, and the shower was excellent.

The generous breakfast room/lounge on the ground floor has comfy sofas, free wifi, and lots of guides etc.Breakfast was fine, and the service very friendly and personal.

The central location is great but not too busy (bus stops 2 minutes away link across the city, loads of good restaurants etc in Stockbridge 5 minutes walk away, also you can walk the local river bank - very peaceful - a couple of minutes from the door)

And all this for less than the price of a faceless budget chain hotel!

I grew up a mile from here, and staying at the Dene really was like coming home - well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The guest house was really a highlight of our entire trip to Scotland. So comfortable - the rooms were great and there was a spacious common room for relaxing after a long day in the city. The owners were warm and welcoming, with lots of tips for the exploring the city. Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AimeeRawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Dene's Guest House. Nice staff, rooms clean and good breakfast! Good if you are staying by yourself or partner or family.

I would recommend to anyone that wants to stay in Edinburgh for a couple of nights, not very far from the city center, around 25min walk.
Direct buses to the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Great guest house in beautiful Edinburgh.
I walked from Waverley station.
To find a caring team. Lot's of homely touches. Great area. Key to let yourself in.
Just a low gradient, scenic 10 minute stroll to Stockbridge. Also a bonus.

Hadn't booked with Trip Advisor. But very happy.

First time in Scotland and this guest house made a real impression.

Disappointed the Gustav Klimt in my room was clearly not original.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in mid October and chose this property for it's convenience to the city and our son who lives in Edinburgh. We had an attic en-suite room which was warm, adequately equiped and comfortable.
The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rates were reasonable for the city.
I would recommend this for convenient access to the city and day bus passes allow easy travel around the attractions of Edinburgh which is a splendid place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I needed to find a place to stay in Edinburgh and everywhere seemed expensive for one night and I came upon this place. The rates were good but having no idea about location etc a bit of a gamble. But it paid off. It is so central and literally off a main road so great for buses and coming back late if walking. It takes about 10 mins to walk to the centre and along the way it has lots of antique shops and locally lovely looking cafes. The rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. Plus you have a basin in your room. I could not ask for anything more. The breakfast is nice. The people who ran it were lovely and helpful. I would suggest this to anyone who wants a simple, straightforward place to stay when visiting Scotland. I was there solo and my trip was for a wedding but would come again and stay with friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#7 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Guest House

Property: Dene Guest House
Address: 7 Eyre Place | Off Dundas Street, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming 3 star guest house is situated in the New Town area of Edinburgh's city centre. With a fairly priced combination of en-suite and standard rooms, The Dene offers flexible bed and breakfast accommodation to suit most requirements and budgets. Enjoy a relaxed, informal atmosphere and a hearty breakfast within a 15 minute walk of Princes Street. Freebies include wi-fi, luggage & cycle storage, and weekend parking. A superb combination of value and location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Dene Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing