We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, roomy, helpful staff, tasty breakfast!”
Review of Dene Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dene Guest House
Ranked #22 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Great location, roomy, helpful staff, tasty breakfast!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We were a student couple staying for our two year relationship anniversary in November 2011. £32 per person per night was brilliant value for a spacious room with digital TV, en suite, hot drink facilities, a very hearty breakfast and cool decorations - especially in the breakfast room. The lady in charge (I think her name was Mariam but I forget :P) was super friendly and gave us lots of tips about cafes, scenic walks and restaurants to visit. It's right near the Botanical Gardens and only a 5-10 minute walk from the main restaurants and shopping streets in the New Town. It was all perfect and if we return to Edinburgh we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The ground floor room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom_Jn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    99
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
51
116
83
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alhambra, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My family of five (three teenage boys) stayed at the Dene Guest House for four nights in August during the wildly crowded but entertaining Fringe Festival. Our room, on the third and top floor of the guest house had a queen bed, two twins and a twin roll-away and there was still plenty of room to move around! There is no elevator so the climb up to the floor was a bit tiring. The room overlooked the backyards of the other town homes, but we found watching drying laundry and neighborhood cats relaxing. The room had comfortable beds, flat screen TV, coffee table with instant coffee, tea, packages of cookies, and electric tea kettle. The small in-room bathroom had great hot water pressure. The breakfast room, which was filled with beautiful natural light, had about 6 dining tables, a small sitting area, and free wi-fi. As soon as you sat at a table, Trini and her staff of friendly servers would bring a basket of toast and offer coffee, tea or hot cocoa. You could choose from a menu of simple but delicious hot breakfasts from oatmeal to eggs, sausages, and hash browns. A self-service buffet had dry cereals, fruit, yogurt, soft cheese, orange juice and milk. The guest house was a 15 minute uphill walk to Edinburgh Castle but there was easy access to taxis or buses. The neighborhood had many restaurants, art galleries, and antique shops. On our last day in Edinburgh, Trini held our luggage downstairs after check-out to give us a few last hours of sightseeing before we caught our afternoon train leaving Edinburgh, a new favorite city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhatem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This new town-located guest house is a no-frills basic guest house. But the excellent service and numerous accommodating staff make up for the spartan rooms. It's an excellent location for walking (3/4-mile) to the major sights of old-town Edinburgh and (1/4-mile) to the botanical gardens—which are a fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrushka-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

A warm, cosy place in an excellent location in New Town with a a ton of great little restaurants and shops right there. Breakfasts were generous, and the breakfast room is beautiful. A couple of words of warning, especially for those with kids: street-facing rooms are noisy at night if the window is open, and you will have to choose between quiet and fresh air. I suspect garden view rooms are much better. Also, the rooms appear to vary in style and esthetic appeal: one of our rooms was very nice and inviting, the other felt kind of like a large closet with a window. The charge is per person, not per room (at least we paid more for the less interesting room). Having said that, we enjoyed staying at Dene House and are especially grateful for the wonderful hospitality we received, which cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: Make sure to check with someone at the time of booking to make sure you get a room that is right for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CafeCamelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The guest house is wonderfully run by Trini, who is an example of hospitality, good sense of humour and professionalism. She manages a team that ensures one's stay runs smoothly from beginning to end.
The guest house is in a very quiet are yet super close to the city centre and bus routes. There are several restaurants, take aways, convenient stores nearby so everything is conveniently located and close by for the traveller.

The guest house is in great condition, the rooms and toilets are super clean and nicely decorated.

the manager (Trini) is also very helpful giving you information about the city, where to go, what to do etc. and this helps a lot, specially when you dont know the city at all!

Loved it! Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southerner2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

After a week of traveling throughout the UK and staying in University Dorm Rooms, I was thrilled to walk in and see the Dene Guest House. It had a very friendly feeling and it was clean, cozy and warm. Our room (#5 - double bed) was small, but sufficent and decorated pleasantly. The bed was comfortable and clean, There was a small rack for hanging clothes (which had a full lenght mirror on it - which was nice) and we had a beautiful view of the back of the guest house, which had lovely green grassy areas, lovely little purple flowers and a nice view of the local architecture. It was also nice and quiet at night, which was a god send! We had a heater in the room which worked quite well, a kettle with coffee and tea packets (although we prefered to get ours from the kitchen), a small sink and a flat screen TV with cable . The rooms on our floor shared 1 bathroom, which had a shower, sink and toilet (no tub), but I used the bathroom upstairs once or twice and I noticed that it had a bathtub in it. There is a common "living room" area with a couch, tv, guitar and plenty of magazines to read, which had lots of helpful information about local events and things to do. The Living Room also subbed as a dining room and it is where breakfast was served each morning. The breakfast was more than sufficient, with cereals, yougurts, cheeses, tea, coffee, juice, water, milk, fresh fruit and more. Guests also have the option to order from the "hot" menu, which featured classic breakfast dishes like scrambled eggs with hashbrowns or Sausage/bacon. Or my favorite, the "cookie", which featured beans, bacon or sausage, hashbrowns andeggs (any style)! The owners/caretakers were very friendly and helpful - always with a smile.

Our friends stayed in room #7 (twin room) which was located on the street side of the guest house. They mentioned that it took a minute to get used to the traffic noise from the street out in front, but that it wasn't bad at all and did not keep them up. Their room was decorated with a large Gustave Klimt print and featured all the same accomodations that we had in our room.

We were all VERY HAPPY with our rooms and the service. We loved Dene Guest House and I would definitely recommend this to anybody who is looking for a place to stay in Edinburgh. It was easy to walk (or cab) to all the landmarks, restaurants, monuments and attractions throughout the city. It is also just a few yards from a friendly bar, a chippie and several antique shops (we love to look in antique shops!). It was basicaly a wonderful place in a perfect location with friendly staff and good food!

The only downside is that there are only 2 parking spaces and both were used during our stay. Street parking was pay parking, which began to get expensive and a hassle to keep your eye on the clock all the time. The folks at the guest house directed us to a nearby street with free parking, but it was a bit of a nuissance to have to walk so far to the car (not that it was really all *that* far - but we were on vacation and being a bit lazy, i suppose).

Otherwise this was a dream place!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the back side of the guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanieFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was my second time staying at Dene Guest House. I will be back for a third. I had a shared bathroom which I was kind of unsure about but both bathrooms were very nice and always clean. My room was very nice and had plenty of space. Breakfast was very good with a lot of options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glitrberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#16 of 392 in Edinburgh
695 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
168 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Guest House

Property: Dene Guest House
Address: 7 Eyre Place | Off Dundas Street, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming 3 star guest house is situated in the New Town area of Edinburgh's city centre. With a fairly priced combination of en-suite and standard rooms, The Dene offers flexible bed and breakfast accommodation to suit most requirements and budgets. Enjoy a relaxed, informal atmosphere and a hearty breakfast within a 15 minute walk of Princes Street. Freebies include wi-fi, luggage storage. A superb combination of value and location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Dene Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing