We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Anywhere”
Review of Violet Bank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Violet Bank House
Ranked #164 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Convenient location and excellent accommodation. The welcome is warm and personal. We enjoyed our Gourmet breakfasts, where all the guests are introduced. Reta is an unrivalled source of information on all subjects - tours (which she can book),the city, restaurants, etc.
We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OrpingtonAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Violet Bank House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

This is the thrid year running that we have stayed with Reta and John at Violet Bank House and to us staying makes our trips to Edingburgh so very much more special. The rooms are airey, bed very comfortable and the breakfast superb We have no hesitation in recommending a stay with Reta and John

Chrissie & Tony Wright
Peel
Isle of Man

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Stayed two nights at Violet Bank, gorgeous house, parked right at the door, always a bonus!

The room was lovely, huge bed! We were in the only room without an en suite, however the bathroom exlusively for our use was right next door, it was very spacious with toiletries provided.

Breakfast was fantastic, with lots of choices

The owners, Rita and John are very friendly and made you feel very relaxed and welcomed.

We would definitely stay at Violet Bank again and can very much recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

Genuine Scotish hospitality you will find at Violet Bank House.
Reta and John lead with loving care this tastfully furnished B&B
home with all facilities necessary - spotlessly clean and even heated in a cold July.
You feel, both enjoy meeting people and their warm personality and the cozy house makes you feel at home immediately.
Detailed travel information, restaurant reservations etc they are able to give you in such a competent way, that many concierges of 5 star hotels could learn from them.
Adjacent to their lovely garden a river walk invites you for a morning stroll before R&J will spoil you with an outstanding breakfast variety. Our favourite: Freshly stewed pears with honey, cinnamon + lemon, and an excellent Scotish breakfast. Even a special request will be fulfilled the next day.
We can only agree to the deserved award of being the friendliest landlords. We found it the best B&B place in 40 years travelling. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WalterLimburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Violet Bank House was fantastic, Great rooms, Fantastic food and very helpful and accommodating hosts. Would highly recommend staying here for either short breaks or longer stays.
We stayed here for our honeymoon and it helped make the whole experience very special, and a very memorable time.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HappyHoneymooner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Great hotel if you want to stay in Scotland. Only a second away from a bus stop which takes you directly into Edinburugh for a £1!! Lovely house, very clean and homely. The thing that makes it the most are the owners. They are fantastic in every way, they help you get your bearings if you dont know much about the area, give you maps and show you where to eat etc. They treat you like royalty and nothing is to much trouble for them. We had a great stay in this house, and strongly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank P4ucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

There are apparently hundrets of B&Bs available in and around Edinburgh, so finding a good quality B&B with reasonably high standards was not an easy task. We took guidance from the Scottish Tourist Board rating and award, and ended up with Violet Bank House, which scored 5 stars (the highest possible).

Service was excellent, breakfast was among the best we ever had on the island. Very nice house, and despite the season (cold winter times) our room was fully heated when we arrived. Reta and John, who manage the B&B, are both very helpful and very friendly.

We took our car to Edinburgh City (and received a GBP30 parking ticket ...) and can therefore only recommend to leave the car at the B&B (parking slot available) and take the bus into the city. Bus stop is close by.

No doubt we would return to the Violet Bank House when going to Edinburgh.

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank schmuelos29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
250 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
2.1 mi away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
3.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
1.1 mi away
Just B
Just B
#126 of 393 in Edinburgh
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Bank House

Address: 167 Lanark Road West, Edinburgh EH14 5NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $61 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With five stars "It's the difference which makes the difference." Beds you won't want to leave, powerful showers, fluffy robes and towels. Breakfast on smoked haddock topped with tomato and melting cheddar, hot pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Our garden overlooks the Water of Leith, Pentland hills farmland and woodlands. Free Parking, Wi-Fi, DVD, TV and radio. 10 minutes to the airport. Heriot-Watt University - one mile. Finalists in "Friendliest Landlady "award - 2007-8. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Violet Bank House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing