We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Signal House The Signal House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Signal House
The Signal House
Location location location !
The Signal House - a welcome malt: slanj!
The Signal House - stairway to the living room
The Signal House living room
The Signal House bedroom
The Signal House bedroom
The Signal House kitchen
The Signal House shower-room
Edinburgh Castle - photograph taken from the Signal House living room
Edinburgh Castle New Year 2014 - photograph taken from the Signal House living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
claudiade...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Tucked behind the green door off Westport is the Signal House. I can't say enough good things about the home. It's steps away from the Grassmarket, just where I wanted to be, very private and secure. From the day I started asking questions Peter answered every email with all the questions I had. When I arrived at the property he was there to meet me just as promised. The condition and cleanliness couldn't have been better. I spent 15 nights at the Signal house and planning on returning next year. Please do not miss this vacation rental as you will be pleasantly surprised on what you find behind the green door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dale_rive...
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Brilliant, chic little gem in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
7
people found this review helpful

I was beyond happy when we arrived at the Signal House, where we spent three charmed and relaxed nights, and found it was even better than the photos. Cordiner's Land is a special enclave and we felt very lucky to stay in this unique complex. Huge tour buses regularly whiz past on West Port, but once you close the big green door and enter the private courtyard, complete serenity and verdant gardens await. The flat, up two short flights of exterior stairs, is newly renovated and stylishly decorated in a smart palette of gray and taupe. We adored the upstairs lounge with its amazing view of Edinburgh Castle and spent as much time there as we could. The modern kitchen had everything we needed, including a welcome washer; it is a true luxury to return home from a vacation with clean clothes. The bedroom was especially luxurious, with a heavenly large bed, and SO QUIET. The bathroom, though quite compact, was cleverly designed (better than our home) and well equipped. We even sat outside at the cafe table in the tiny garden and shared some wine and cheese amid the greenery, and a few friendly neighbors said hello. Yet the buzz of Grassmarket is just moments away, and many top highlights of Edinburgh can be accessed on foot. This was easily one of our favorite holiday rentals and highly recommended for a couple. Thanks to Peter Tucker for a very fine stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chic decor, the courtyard gardens, the view and the quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalln...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy wee get away in the centre of town”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Signal House for a week while we visited friends and reconnected with the city. The Signal House proved a fantastic retreat: clean; beautifully laid-out; and amazingly quiet considering the location is right in the centre of town. We would strongly recommend the Signal House - fantastic value and a fab place to stay. We will stay again when we're next in Edinburgh!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pegg65
Winneconne, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The Signal House has it all, great location , walking distance to many attractions in Edinburgh, excellent view, yes the Edinburgh castle is in full view from the front door. The house has a full kitchen with everything you need supplied. It also has a washer/dryer to use.
Peter was there before we arrived and had the heat turned up so we were comfortable. We Highly recommend The Signal House Rental for your stay in Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view. Kitchen and Laundry
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn A
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented, well located, cosy apartment for two”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Signal House is very well located with a wonderful view of Edinburgh Castle. Shops, bars and restaurants are plentiful just a few steps from your door but the unique positioning of the apartment ensures you are not disturbed by people coming and going late at night.
The apartment itself is beautifully presented, cosy and tranquil; we instantly felt at home as it was equipped for all our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting room with view of castle
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journey-b...
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret, cozy house in the city centre of Edinburgh”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Signal House is located in the city centre of Edinburgh, although it feels like you're in a secret, cozy and quiet environment. At first we entered a door and had to go up some stairs to the house itself. The cuteness factor was all there. The house was just like in the pictures, not big but very cozy. The bedroom, kitchen and bathroom were downstairs and the living room upstairs. The bed was heavenly. All the amenities were there.

We would recommend this house in Edinburgh, because of its central location and the comfort of this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, especially the bed, and the location.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches, location and efficiency of property.
Liked least: Our stay wasn't long enough :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing