We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful hosts and a very pleasant place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #144 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful hosts and a very pleasant place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at this B & B for seven nights and enjoyed every moment. The location is great for those who like to walk - we loved strolling to and from the Royal Mile through The Meadows. There is a good selection of restaurants only 5 to 10 minutes away. The B and B is located in a blissfully quiet residential area full of sandstone heritage homes. You will sleep well here!
Mike and Ann try very hard to meet your needs. We asked for more reading lights in our room and were cheerfully accommodated. Coffee and tea fixings are in the room and fresh milk is supplied. It was quite cold during our visit and we appreciated the two radiators in our room and the cozy duvet - we were almost too warm on occasion!
Breakfast is enlivened by Mike's superb marmalade and occasional piano playing. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Tantallon Place for anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muskoka_canadaSwooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here in December 2011 as part of our honeymoon travels and the place exceeded our expectations - delightful!

We were picked up and dropped off from/to the train station, received with all the warmth and friendliness one could expect, our room was clean, big and spacious with a modern bathroom. The place was clean and fresh, we had tea-making facilities in our bedroom, fresh milk and shortbread biscuits, travel guides; hot water for shower, heating etc. Breakfast was truly amazing: full scottish breakfast, tea, fresh fruit, fresh milk and cereal, homemade jam.. I can't even remember it all! And on top of that, somebody played live piano for us from the adjacent room - what a perfect start to our honeymoon! Lovely couple, lovely hosts, lovely place - we will definitely stay here again! Thanks Ann and Mike!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmac-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosterzele
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spend 3 weeks in Scotland and rent a room in 11 B & B. But no doubt : this was the best of all.
I stayed with me partner 2 nights in a hugh, very clean bedroom in june 2011.
Already before arriving, Mike mailed me the way to follow to the B&B.
Tantallon is very well situated, only 20 minutes walk trough the park to the Royal Mile and other points of intrest.
The welcoming is superb. Mike and Anne prepared amazing Scottish breakfasts with fresh fruit. The dressing of the dishes is wonderfull.
Mike and Ann have for every question an answer, for every problem a solution; these excellent hosts are very very helpfull.
Tantallon has a private car park ,extreme usefull in the center of town.
OUTSTANDING B&B and hosts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idesbald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

When I first called to book our room I knew I would enjoy my stay as Mike was so lovely on the phone. From that good start our experience didn't falter. We were up for a wedding at the zoo so were bound to have fun, but Ann and Mike's hospitality really made it a special trip, from the extensive variety of breads and gorgeous homemade products at breakfast to the sheer warmth of their hospitality. A lovely, warm and happy house and one I hope to visit again. Just sorry it took me so long to get round to writing this!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at Tantallon Place in Edinburgh for 5 nights in September and could not have been more satisfied. Mike and Ann, our hosts, made us feel at home in their charming B & B located 10 to 15 minutes walk from the Royal Mile. The breakfasts offered great variety and Mike took great pride in his morning fruit presentation. Mind you, the fruit was just the beginning to a full Scottish breakfast. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Searching the internet for a good B & B at a reasonable price takes time and it is not often that the choice one makes surpasses expectations. I would venture to say that 99% of those staying with Mike and Ann at Tantallon Place will say that they have made an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I hate writing a rave review ecause it means we will never be able to get back there, so it was rubbish. I hate having a superb, well appointed room, attentive hosts who cannot do enough for you but still give you your space, delicious comprehensive breakfasts that make you skip lunch and excellent access to the city and all the sights. The property is immaculately clean and we were serenaded at breakfast from the 'piano lounge'. Personally, it was a wonderful introduction to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The front double room is large and bright, with a massive bed and floor to ceiling wondows. Didnt se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adsnape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Any time we are in Edinburgh, this is our first choice of where to stay. Mike and Ann are such welcoming hosts--enthusiastic and warm. We love the double room overlooking the garden but they also have a bigger room at the front which might suit you better if you're planning a stay of more than one or two days. They have thought of everything for an enjoyable stay and their breakfasts are delicious. Better than any hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Summer Hostels - Meadowcourt
#125 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Bruntsfield
Gillis Centre
Gillis Centre
#71 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Guest House
#49 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Argyle Backpackers
#41 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 17 Tantallon Place, Edinburgh EH9 1NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Tantallon Place Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tantallon Place Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing