We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

We saw the previous reviews and decided to book a B & B instead of looking for a hotel. It made for a great stay.
The location is good and the personal touches were a pleasant change from corporate hotels, Our room was not huge but the bed was large and very comfortable. Likewise the en-suite, although small it provided a well fitted shower room with plenty of hot water, good lighting and mirror.The hospitality tray was extremely generous and very welcome. Breakfast was a real treat. The place is full of antiques and the decor is warm and inviting.
Angela & James (& Betty) made us feel very welcome and it was a real bonus to leave our bags here on the morning of our arrival so we could explore. HMY Britannia was interesting but would have been a nightmare with a big holdall.
There are plenty of restaurants in easy reach of Hart Street and they cover every taste. We ate in a nearby Polish restaurant (Pani Solinska) one night and a Scottish one (Magnum Bar) the next. Both within a very short walk of 14 Hart Street and both good.

  • Liked — Personal touches
  • Disliked — Small wash basin
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazda5Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    36
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
94
550
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

Location was excellent. Within easy walking distance of the Royal Mile and most of the tourist attractions. The room was nice, but the bathroom was very small. The door almost hit the sink and we almost hit the sink with our knees when we went to sit on the toilet (we are not tall or big people!). The shower was powerful but very small. The floor in the bedroom was wood with spaces between the boards which collected dirt. The "warm up kit" with wine, whisky and cookies was a nice touch though. The bed was soft, which is ok for some people. Breakfast was good, but there were no options with portion size or selection of food. All in all it was a nice place, but for the price it did not meet our expectations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sparky_buckwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

14 Hart Stret was amazing. We felt at home right away. The room was luxurious, the breakfast outstanding, and the location ideal for seeing Edinburgh. The owners were the perfect host and hostess and we will stay with them again if or path takes us to back to Edinburgh.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drgrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked two nights for our stay in Edinburgh.I found 14 Hart Street to be an excellent choice. We walked from the Train station, and were met by Betty the housekeeper, and were instantly made welcome. Our room was spacious, and looked out over the garden. The ensuite was small, but very clean. the added touches of the Wine, Whiskey and Shortbread were a nice touch. Betty's breakfasts, gave us a great start to the day. My Husband and I have been away for 7 weeks travelling, and 14 Hart Street, would be one of the highlights of our trip. The bed was one of the most comfortable ones we encountered, giving us a good nights sleep, allowing us to put in a full day sightseeing.
We met our Hosts, James and Angela on the first night. They were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

16/10/08
From Yolanda & John Chung
The place is within 5 minutes walk to the Old Town where the Edinburgh Castle & other heritage buildings lie & it is so near to the Railway Station and Bus Station too.
It is a cosy place & we're warmly received.
House keeping is clean & efficient, & the breakfast is great, thanks to Betty the House Keeper.
And Angela & James, they're such great hosts. We love the art collections(sketches) on the wall.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hook64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecce
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this B&b for three night. Our room was very large, the old style furnishing give the ambient a warm atmosphere. The housekeepers, Angela and James are very kind, they were always ready to help us: to find a restaurant ecc. The breakfast was reallly good and rich (fruits eggs ecc.) In our rooms there was also a bottle of whiskey. Hart street is also near the centre of edimburgh in a quiet location.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank puggi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

I found this B and B through tripadvisor and I would like to add my review to all those other 5 star ones!
Perfect location - a few minutes walk from Waverley Station but in a quiet side street with very little passing traffic or any sort of noise. Our room was at the front but very quiet.
Lovely room, spotless, good sized bathroom. Lots of little extras - generous supplies of shortbread, fresh milk (much appreciated), mineral water, wine (red and white) and whisky!
Breakfast was delicious - with the owners asking us what time suited us, all adding to the relaxed atmosphere. Sunday papers spread out for us to enjoy over bacon, egg, mushrooms and tomatoes.
The owners have got this 'just right' - with the feeling that they are there if you need them, but at the same time completely respecting your privacy. Plus we felt the rates were very reasonable and certainly not the 'silly prices' that some other places seemed to be asking. We would love to return.

  • Liked — Couldn't narrow it to one thing
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
23 Mayfield
#2 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing