We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!!!!!!!”
Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #2 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wow!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2008

14 Hart Stret was amazing. We felt at home right away. The room was luxurious, the breakfast outstanding, and the location ideal for seeing Edinburgh. The owners were the perfect host and hostess and we will stay with them again if or path takes us to back to Edinburgh.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drgrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
556
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked two nights for our stay in Edinburgh.I found 14 Hart Street to be an excellent choice. We walked from the Train station, and were met by Betty the housekeeper, and were instantly made welcome. Our room was spacious, and looked out over the garden. The ensuite was small, but very clean. the added touches of the Wine, Whiskey and Shortbread were a nice touch. Betty's breakfasts, gave us a great start to the day. My Husband and I have been away for 7 weeks travelling, and 14 Hart Street, would be one of the highlights of our trip. The bed was one of the most comfortable ones we encountered, giving us a good nights sleep, allowing us to put in a full day sightseeing.
We met our Hosts, James and Angela on the first night. They were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

16/10/08
From Yolanda & John Chung
The place is within 5 minutes walk to the Old Town where the Edinburgh Castle & other heritage buildings lie & it is so near to the Railway Station and Bus Station too.
It is a cosy place & we're warmly received.
House keeping is clean & efficient, & the breakfast is great, thanks to Betty the House Keeper.
And Angela & James, they're such great hosts. We love the art collections(sketches) on the wall.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hook64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecce
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this B&b for three night. Our room was very large, the old style furnishing give the ambient a warm atmosphere. The housekeepers, Angela and James are very kind, they were always ready to help us: to find a restaurant ecc. The breakfast was reallly good and rich (fruits eggs ecc.) In our rooms there was also a bottle of whiskey. Hart street is also near the centre of edimburgh in a quiet location.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank puggi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I found this B and B through tripadvisor and I would like to add my review to all those other 5 star ones!
Perfect location - a few minutes walk from Waverley Station but in a quiet side street with very little passing traffic or any sort of noise. Our room was at the front but very quiet.
Lovely room, spotless, good sized bathroom. Lots of little extras - generous supplies of shortbread, fresh milk (much appreciated), mineral water, wine (red and white) and whisky!
Breakfast was delicious - with the owners asking us what time suited us, all adding to the relaxed atmosphere. Sunday papers spread out for us to enjoy over bacon, egg, mushrooms and tomatoes.
The owners have got this 'just right' - with the feeling that they are there if you need them, but at the same time completely respecting your privacy. Plus we felt the rates were very reasonable and certainly not the 'silly prices' that some other places seemed to be asking. We would love to return.

  • Liked — Couldn't narrow it to one thing
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

I would recommend this beautiful B & B to anyone looking for accommodation in Edinburgh.
We arrived after travelling for 36 hours and were so tired we could hardly speak.
James and Angela gave us a warm welcome and helped us to our room which had a kettle and tea making equipment plus wine, whisky, water and shortbreads.
These we very welcome for a before bedtime and an early morning cuppa.
We stayed in the bedroom with the small bathroom but great garden view.
The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and I would like to have taken it home with me.
James cooked up breakfast each of the four mornings we stayed and it was delicious.
Just remember to take your own shampoo and conditioner because we did not and washing your hair with soap is not the best.

  • Liked — Top quality everything
  • Disliked — No shampoo and conditioner
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in this lovely house mid-September and had a really great stay. It transformed my view of what a b&b is! The house itself is beautiful, very elegant and cosy, and our bedroom downstairs was very comfortable. The only negative thing you could say about it was that the bathroom was small, but the shower was very good with great water pressure and unlimited hot water. The tray of tea, coffee, wine, whiskey and shortbread biscuits in the room every evening was a lovely touch. James and Angela are fantastic hosts, very welcoming, and with lots of knowledge on how to make the most of the city. Breakfast was also great - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, and of course a Scottish fry. The walk in to town to Waverley Bridge, takes 5 to 10 minutes and around the corner from the B&B you'll find lots of good restaurants and pubs. I'd recommend this b&b to anyone and I wouldn't hesitate to rebook if I return to Edinburgh.

  • Liked — Elegant, comfortable bedroom; the breakfast
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeirdreQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing