We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy place”
Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2008

16/10/08
From Yolanda & John Chung
The place is within 5 minutes walk to the Old Town where the Edinburgh Castle & other heritage buildings lie & it is so near to the Railway Station and Bus Station too.
It is a cosy place & we're warmly received.
House keeping is clean & efficient, & the breakfast is great, thanks to Betty the House Keeper.
And Angela & James, they're such great hosts. We love the art collections(sketches) on the wall.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank hook64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 877 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this B&b for three night. Our room was very large, the old style furnishing give the ambient a warm atmosphere. The housekeepers, Angela and James are very kind, they were always ready to help us: to find a restaurant ecc. The breakfast was reallly good and rich (fruits eggs ecc.) In our rooms there was also a bottle of whiskey. Hart street is also near the centre of edimburgh in a quiet location.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank puggi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I found this B and B through tripadvisor and I would like to add my review to all those other 5 star ones!
Perfect location - a few minutes walk from Waverley Station but in a quiet side street with very little passing traffic or any sort of noise. Our room was at the front but very quiet.
Lovely room, spotless, good sized bathroom. Lots of little extras - generous supplies of shortbread, fresh milk (much appreciated), mineral water, wine (red and white) and whisky!
Breakfast was delicious - with the owners asking us what time suited us, all adding to the relaxed atmosphere. Sunday papers spread out for us to enjoy over bacon, egg, mushrooms and tomatoes.
The owners have got this 'just right' - with the feeling that they are there if you need them, but at the same time completely respecting your privacy. Plus we felt the rates were very reasonable and certainly not the 'silly prices' that some other places seemed to be asking. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

I would recommend this beautiful B & B to anyone looking for accommodation in Edinburgh.
We arrived after travelling for 36 hours and were so tired we could hardly speak.
James and Angela gave us a warm welcome and helped us to our room which had a kettle and tea making equipment plus wine, whisky, water and shortbreads.
These we very welcome for a before bedtime and an early morning cuppa.
We stayed in the bedroom with the small bathroom but great garden view.
The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and I would like to have taken it home with me.
James cooked up breakfast each of the four mornings we stayed and it was delicious.
Just remember to take your own shampoo and conditioner because we did not and washing your hair with soap is not the best.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in this lovely house mid-September and had a really great stay. It transformed my view of what a b&b is! The house itself is beautiful, very elegant and cosy, and our bedroom downstairs was very comfortable. The only negative thing you could say about it was that the bathroom was small, but the shower was very good with great water pressure and unlimited hot water. The tray of tea, coffee, wine, whiskey and shortbread biscuits in the room every evening was a lovely touch. James and Angela are fantastic hosts, very welcoming, and with lots of knowledge on how to make the most of the city. Breakfast was also great - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, and of course a Scottish fry. The walk in to town to Waverley Bridge, takes 5 to 10 minutes and around the corner from the B&B you'll find lots of good restaurants and pubs. I'd recommend this b&b to anyone and I wouldn't hesitate to rebook if I return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeirdreQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Virtually nothing to dislike about this lovely B & B in central Edinburgh. An elegant Georgian townhouse beautifully decorated and furnished with antiques. Extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and a short walk from the centre of the City and Waverley Bridge where the City tour buses depart. Angela and James were very friendly and helpful and happy to pass on tips when asked on where to visit, both in the City and beyond, but without being intrusive.

They never left their guests unattended and Betty provided well cooked and delicious breakfasts with a smile in their absence. She also kept all spick and span. The little touches of tea/coffee, fresh milk, shortbread biscuits and a choice of wine/whisky/water
in the room was really appreciated and delightfully surprising.

It was a slight shame that one of the ensuite bathrooms was so very tiny. However, it was manageable for our short stay.

If you have a car then parking could be troublesome with residential permit and meter parking only on weekdays. This was beyond the control of our hosts of course and to be expected in such a central location. The walkability factor far outweighed the annoyances at not easily finding a parking space on occasions.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at 14 Hart Street and would stay again.

Thank you Angela and James for providing such a high standard service with unfailing genuine friendliness.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelltravelledNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed at 14 hartst during 3 nights and loved this place. Our room was huge and confortable and had everything you can need. The bathroom was big also and very clean. The only bad thing is that the room was beside the stairs and under the dinning room, so it could be a bit noisy in the mornings...

The house itself is beautiful and well decorated. It is very well located, very near Princess Street and the train station. And you can find many restaurants and pubs around for dinner.

But the best thing in 14 hartst are Angela, James and Betty. They are very friendly and make you feel very confortable at their home. They are really fantastic hosts... Thank you for making us feel so confortable and welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $675 - $789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing